Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 28, 2013, 09:11 AM   #1
kitt321
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
PowerMac G5 being a trouble child. Help?

Hello! I was recently given a PowerMac G5 under the circumstances that it was broken and needed some work.

Plugging the machine in was normal, the fans span up (not turbo jet mode like they do when it's kaput) the LED turned on and it made the start-up chime. However. No video.

I did all the standard stuff, reset the PRAM, reset the PMU. change the PRAM battery. and not much changed.

The machine did once spring into life in open firmware mode oddly, and a second time it came on with the question mark folder (as the hard drive is blank). but most of the time has no life at all.

Any ideas?

Thanks

Steve.
kitt321 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 28, 2013, 09:15 AM   #2
AQUADock
macrumors 6502a
 
AQUADock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Graphics card issue maybe? Did you check it?
__________________
Mac Mini i5 - iPad 2 - GS3
AQUADock is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 28, 2013, 09:18 AM   #3
kitt321
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Yeah I was thinking that. Unfortunately I've no other way of testing it. It seems to work sometimes by the looks of things. I wonder if a graphics card can be intermittently faulty?
kitt321 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 28, 2013, 10:53 AM   #4
666sheep
macrumors 68030
 
666sheep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Poland
Which G5 it is precisely? And graphics card? Does it boot in safe mode? If graphics card starts dying, safe mode usually works.
666sheep is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 28, 2013, 11:07 AM   #5
StUPoT
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2011
I have recently repaired a powermac g5 and after lots of intermittent faults like yours I discovered it was one of the cpu's giving me the trouble. If yours it a dual processor remove the cpu's and swap and change them around and see if a certain combination or even just running 1 CPU fixes your issue. May be good to track down the apple hardware test disc on google aswell as u will need to thermally calibrate the cpu's
StUPoT is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:20 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC