Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 26, 2013, 10:43 PM   #1
Undecided
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
iPhone 2G screen top doe not respond to touch

A relative's iPhone 2G has a problem with the screen - the top part of the screen (basically, the top row of icons) does not respond to touch. There's no visible damage to the iPhone, and the screen itself works fine (in terms of displaying). I've already restored it to the factory default, and it didn't help.

Any ideas what might cause this?

Before I take it apart, is it possible that something has come loose inside to cause this? I can't imagine that there are separate ribbons for different sections of the screen, but you never know.
Undecided is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 2013, 12:22 AM   #2
Appl3FTW
macrumors 68030
 
Appl3FTW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
you have a bad digitizer... it's the layer on top of the LCD screen and yes it has a different cable than the LCD.
Appl3FTW is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 2013, 12:42 AM   #3
jav6454
macrumors G5
 
jav6454's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: 1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
Digitizer, obviously, (like the poster above said) your iPhone is out of warranty. I don't know how much Apple will charge you.
__________________
Al MacBook 2.4GHz Late '08 | 5 S⃣ | Macross Click Me
jav6454 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 2013, 01:05 AM   #4
AFDoc
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Colorado Springs USA for now
Time to upgrade.
AFDoc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 2013, 01:07 AM   #5
jav6454
macrumors G5
 
jav6454's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: 1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
Quote:
Originally Posted by AFDoc View Post
Time to upgrade.
Obviously you've never had an iPhone.
__________________
Al MacBook 2.4GHz Late '08 | 5 S⃣ | Macross Click Me
jav6454 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 2013, 01:40 AM   #6
AFDoc
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Colorado Springs USA for now
Quote:
Originally Posted by jav6454 View Post
Obviously you've never had an iPhone.

Had tons..... Of course you can change the digitizer but why would you do this on a 7 year old phone? For the money you spend on a new dig you're on your way to a "new" phone. Digitizer is what $50+? For $50 more you're picking up a 3gs, for $100 more you're getting a used 4.

Work smarter not harder.

IF you mean an OOW replacement most likely it will be $149 for an i4. I tried to replace my 3gs when I heard they would not be selling them any more and I got the i4 for $149.
AFDoc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 2013, 01:48 AM   #7
AlphaDogg
macrumors 68040
 
AlphaDogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Boulder, CO
Lol @all the misinformation in this thread. The digitizer is below the glass, and is fused to the glass and LCD. It's an expensive part for the 2g.
__________________
15" 2.66GHz C2D uMBP | 13" 2.4GHz i5 MBP 500GB | '07 MacBook
iPhone 6 64GB | iPhone 5 32GB | iPhone 8GB
אין חשיש בקולורדו
AlphaDogg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 2013, 02:00 AM   #8
jav6454
macrumors G5
 
jav6454's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: 1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
Smile

Quote:
Originally Posted by AFDoc View Post
Had tons..... Of course you can change the digitizer but why would you do this on a 7 year old phone? For the money you spend on a new dig you're on your way to a "new" phone. Digitizer is what $50+? For $50 more you're picking up a 3gs, for $100 more you're getting a used 4.

Work smarter not harder.

IF you mean an OOW replacement most likely it will be $149 for an i4. I tried to replace my 3gs when I heard they would not be selling them any more and I got the i4 for $149.
Like I said, you have never owned an iPhone. And I don't mean as a model, I mean the iPhone. (No the 3GS, not the 3G, not even the newer ones)
__________________
Al MacBook 2.4GHz Late '08 | 5 S⃣ | Macross Click Me
jav6454 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 2013, 02:04 AM   #9
AFDoc
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Colorado Springs USA for now
Quote:
Originally Posted by jav6454 View Post
Like I said, you have never owned an iPhone. And I don't mean as a model, I mean the iPhone. (No the 3GS, not the 3G, not even the newer ones)
I guess I'm confused.... an iPhone as in the original iphone.... yeah had 4 of them. If there is some other "iPhone" of which you speak please enlighten me.
AFDoc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 2013, 02:08 AM   #10
jav6454
macrumors G5
 
jav6454's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: 1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
Exactly. The original one. One must be able to appreciate that device as it was the first in its class. The one that went on to pave the way for all the devices we have today. Not to mention how advanced (in some ways) it was to its time.
__________________
Al MacBook 2.4GHz Late '08 | 5 S⃣ | Macross Click Me
jav6454 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 2013, 02:26 AM   #11
AFDoc
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Colorado Springs USA for now
Quote:
Originally Posted by jav6454 View Post
Exactly. The original one. One must be able to appreciate that device as it was the first in its class. The one that went on to pave the way for all the devices we have today. Not to mention how advanced (in some ways) it was to its time.
Yeah... I saved one for that purpose. However it's not a classic car that can still compete with today's new muscle cars. It's an obsolete piece of tech that has seen it's time. Box it, put it on a shelf and move on to another, more useful device. Just my $0.02
AFDoc is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 2013, 07:00 AM   #12
Appl3FTW
macrumors 68030
 
Appl3FTW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlphaDogg View Post
Lol @all the misinformation in this thread. The digitizer is below the glass, and is fused to the glass and LCD. It's an expensive part for the 2g.
so 2G it's all one component? if so, that's what i meant, lcd/digitizer/glass.

i know 3gs digitizer and lcd are separate
Appl3FTW is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 2013, 08:22 AM   #13
barkomatic
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Manhattan
Quote:
Originally Posted by AFDoc View Post
Yeah... I saved one for that purpose. However it's not a classic car that can still compete with today's new muscle cars. It's an obsolete piece of tech that has seen it's time. Box it, put it on a shelf and move on to another, more useful device. Just my $0.02
Have you visited eBay recently and looked for the original iPhone? A pristine example is going for $500 or more. I'd pay for an out of warranty "repair" and get that original iPhone swapped out for a refurb and either keep it or sell it.
barkomatic is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 2013, 12:35 PM   #14
Undecided
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by Appl3FTW View Post
you have a bad digitizer... it's the layer on top of the LCD screen and yes it has a different cable than the LCD.
Thanks. It's only bad in one area, but I guess the digitizer can partially fail.

Oh, and they don't want to upgrade because they only use prepaid, and on tmobile. They're hardly into tech and only have the 2g because I gave it to them. So even getting a newer used out of contract iphone probably doesn't appeal to them.
Undecided is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 2013, 08:30 PM   #15
AFDoc
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Colorado Springs USA for now
Quote:
Originally Posted by barkomatic View Post
Have you visited eBay recently and looked for the original iPhone? A pristine example is going for $500 or more. I'd pay for an out of warranty "repair" and get that original iPhone swapped out for a refurb and either keep it or sell it.
If his digi isn't working I doubt it's pristine. Plus I bet it would be hard to find an apple store that has Oi's to swap.
AFDoc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 2013, 08:44 PM   #16
Psycho Mantis
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: California
I had the same problem and Apple replaced it for me. The genius at the time told me that specific part had a separate warranty that was extended, I don't remember how long but this was a little over 2 years ago. Just bring it in and give it a try.
Psycho Mantis is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 28, 2013, 12:51 PM   #17
Undecided
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
One point of clarification: the top of the screen responds to slides, but not presses. Weird.

What I mean is that I can slide my finger across the top to flip to the second page of icons, but if I press an icon in the top row, it doesn't respond.

Isn't that weird?
Undecided is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Touch ID sometimes refuses to work/respond nitromac iPhone 40 Feb 28, 2014 06:39 PM
iPhone 5 Touch Screen Twice as Fast as Android Touch Screen MacRumors MacRumors.com News Discussion 329 Dec 16, 2013 07:54 PM
Assisstive Touch - Want to move Screen Shot button to top menu patent10021 iPhone and iPod touch Apps 0 Sep 20, 2013 04:44 AM
Touch screen taking longer to respond samanthas iPad 2 Sep 24, 2012 01:34 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:29 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC