Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 5, 2012, 02:01 PM   #1
dmayoort
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
ATI Radeon HD 5770 Mac Pro 2,1 not work (FIXED)

Hi all.
I have installed this card (bought at the apple store) but it does not work.
The card is plugged but as "unknown".
My Mac is 2007, 2,1 Quad Core Intel Xeon 2x3Ghz, and running OS 10.7.5
Any idea?
Thanks in advance

Last edited by dmayoort; Oct 9, 2012 at 07:26 AM.
dmayoort is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 5, 2012, 03:15 PM   #2
bax2003
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
Did you connect PCIe power cable to 5770 ?
__________________
Mac mini i7 2.3 Quad (Late 2012), iMac 20" (Early 2008) and Power Mac G5 DP 2.0 (June 2004)
Thunderbolt Display
iPhone 5 16GB, iPad mini Retina WiFi + Cell
bax2003 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 5, 2012, 03:20 PM   #3
dmayoort
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Yes I did. And the fan works when the Mac is on
dmayoort is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 5, 2012, 03:27 PM   #4
bax2003
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
Try also PCIe slot 2, and before you try, you could dust off both of them, slot 1 and 2.
__________________
Mac mini i7 2.3 Quad (Late 2012), iMac 20" (Early 2008) and Power Mac G5 DP 2.0 (June 2004)
Thunderbolt Display
iPhone 5 16GB, iPad mini Retina WiFi + Cell
bax2003 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 5, 2012, 03:30 PM   #5
dmayoort
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
I have tryed in both slots.
Will It be possible I need to come back
to Snow Leopard?
dmayoort is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 5, 2012, 05:36 PM   #6
ashman70
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Take your MP with the video card back to the Mac store and see if they can make it work.
__________________
Iphone 5 64GB, iPad Mini 32GB wifi
Mac Pro 5,1, 24GB of RAM, GT120, GTX 670, 256GB SSD, 4x3TB HD, 3x Dell 23" LED
ashman70 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 6, 2012, 04:54 AM   #7
bax2003
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmayoort View Post
I have tryed in both slots.
Will It be possible I need to come back
to Snow Leopard?
For 5770 / 5870 you must have at least 10.6.4+ installed for them to work, which means that they will work in 10.7.x and 10.8.x as well. If you did not experimented with system kexts, your OS should not be a problem.

It seems like the card is faulty.
__________________
Mac mini i7 2.3 Quad (Late 2012), iMac 20" (Early 2008) and Power Mac G5 DP 2.0 (June 2004)
Thunderbolt Display
iPhone 5 16GB, iPad mini Retina WiFi + Cell
bax2003 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 6, 2012, 05:26 AM   #8
dmayoort
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
I'll ask for a replacement one to apple
dmayoort is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 9, 2012, 06:54 AM   #9
dmayoort
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Hi.
With the replacement one, now it works.
But there is a problem... I have plugged two cinema Displays 30", one runs OK, but the second one (conected with an adapter from mini display to DVI) the max res output is 1280 x 800.
Any way to fix it?
Another question: Will it be a good idea to keep pluged the Ati Raden XT1900 as well??
Thanks!

Last edited by dmayoort; Oct 9, 2012 at 07:26 AM.
dmayoort is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 9, 2012, 08:48 AM   #10
bax2003
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmayoort View Post
Hi.
With the replacement one, now it works.
But there is a problem... I have plugged two cinema Displays 30", one runs OK, but the second one (conected with an adapter from mini display to DVI) the max res output is 1280 x 800.
Any way to fix it?
Another question: Will it be a good idea to keep pluged the Ati Raden XT1900 as well??
Thanks!
For two 30 inch displays you need Mini DisplayPort to DualLink DVI adapter. To use all three displays you need display port monitors, or active adapters. Single link acive adapters will give you only 1920x1200 resolutions. So, either way you need MiniDP to DL DVI adapter

Mini DP to DVI
http://store.apple.com/us/product/MB...apter?fnode=53

Mini DP to DL DVI
http://store.apple.com/us/product/MB...apter?fnode=53
__________________
Mac mini i7 2.3 Quad (Late 2012), iMac 20" (Early 2008) and Power Mac G5 DP 2.0 (June 2004)
Thunderbolt Display
iPhone 5 16GB, iPad mini Retina WiFi + Cell
bax2003 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 9, 2012, 09:36 AM   #11
dmayoort
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by bax2003 View Post
For two 30 inch displays you need Mini DisplayPort to DualLink DVI adapter. To use all three displays you need display port monitors, or active adapters. Single link acive adapters will give you only 1920x1200 resolutions. So, either way you need MiniDP to DL DVI adapter

Mini DP to DVI
http://store.apple.com/us/product/MB...apter?fnode=53

Mini DP to DL DVI
http://store.apple.com/us/product/MB...apter?fnode=53
Just bought the Mini DP TO DL DVI and works fine, thanks
What do you think about keep pluged the old card??

Last edited by dmayoort; Oct 9, 2012 at 09:42 AM.
dmayoort is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 9, 2012, 11:41 AM   #12
bax2003
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmayoort View Post
Just bought the Mini DP TO DL DVI and works fine, thanks
What do you think about keep pluged the old card??
I would keep it as spare. X1900XT is much noiser than 5770, and other than give you more video outputs, it would not speed up anything at all. Practicly, you would have higher temperatures inside the case and X1900XT will cover extra 2 PCIe express for nothing.
__________________
Mac mini i7 2.3 Quad (Late 2012), iMac 20" (Early 2008) and Power Mac G5 DP 2.0 (June 2004)
Thunderbolt Display
iPhone 5 16GB, iPad mini Retina WiFi + Cell
bax2003 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 9, 2012, 11:49 AM   #13
dmayoort
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Ok! Thanks.
dmayoort is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 9, 2012, 12:02 PM   #14
bax2003
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
You're welcome
__________________
Mac mini i7 2.3 Quad (Late 2012), iMac 20" (Early 2008) and Power Mac G5 DP 2.0 (June 2004)
Thunderbolt Display
iPhone 5 16GB, iPad mini Retina WiFi + Cell
bax2003 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 2013, 08:26 AM   #15
MickvJ
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: the Hague, NL
5770 + 5870 combination

Quote:
Originally Posted by bax2003 View Post
You're welcome
In your signature you state that you have both the 5770 and 5870 in you Mac Pro. I currently own a 5870 in combination with a GT 120 for Final Cut Pro which works fine, but for Davinci Resolve I need a Cuda based card like the 5770. I borrowed a 5770 from a friend in order to try it in combination with my 5870 but I also have the problem with the 3 power cables. How did you solve this? Did you use a splitter or the SATA option as mentioned above?

The 5770 much cheaper than the 5870 so I don't mind spending that extra money but I need to be certain that this works according to my wishes. Thanks!
MickvJ is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 2013, 11:45 AM   #16
ActionableMango
macrumors 68040
 
ActionableMango's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by MickvJ View Post
for Davinci Resolve I need a Cuda based card like the 5770.
The 5770 is not compatible with CUDA. CUDA is proprietary to Nvidia and the 5770 is an AMD card.
ActionableMango is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 2013, 01:08 PM   #17
bax2003
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
Quote:
Originally Posted by MickvJ View Post
In your signature you state that you have both the 5770 and 5870 in you Mac Pro. I currently own a 5870 in combination with a GT 120 for Final Cut Pro which works fine, but for Davinci Resolve I need a Cuda based card like the 5770. I borrowed a 5770 from a friend in order to try it in combination with my 5870 but I also have the problem with the 3 power cables. How did you solve this? Did you use a splitter or the SATA option as mentioned above?

The 5770 much cheaper than the 5870 so I don't mind spending that extra money but I need to be certain that this works according to my wishes. Thanks!
I used power splitter, 6-pin to 2 x 6-pin PCIe like this



__________________
Mac mini i7 2.3 Quad (Late 2012), iMac 20" (Early 2008) and Power Mac G5 DP 2.0 (June 2004)
Thunderbolt Display
iPhone 5 16GB, iPad mini Retina WiFi + Cell

Last edited by bax2003; Jan 24, 2013 at 01:40 PM.
bax2003 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 29, 2013, 04:40 AM   #18
MickvJ
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: the Hague, NL
Quote:
Originally Posted by bax2003 View Post
I used power splitter, 6-pin to 2 x 6-pin PCIe like this

Image

Image
Thanks bax2003! I'm gonna find a place where they sell this cable or order it online somewhere and try it out!
MickvJ is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:17 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC