Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 27, 2013, 11:32 AM   #1
Lindy62
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Install Leopard on 700 mhz iMac G4 with broken cd drive??

I have an old G4 iMac (flatpanel) with 700 mhz processor and Panther 10.3.9, that I'm trying to get a couple more years of usage out of, but it's proving very difficult and this is basically my last resort.

This all started when I got an Airport card for it so I could use iTunes internet radio, but discovered that our new Netgear wifi extender has a type of wifi that is not compatible with the old Airport card...I even tried connecting it directly to the Netgear but it still would not connect to the internet (any suggestions there are most appreciated too, as it may be a simpler solution than what I'm trying to do now).

So I'm trying to get Leopard installed on the G4 as I found out that is possible, and I have the regular retail disks for 10.5, so that would hopefully allow me to connect to the wifi as I am with my newer iMac with Leopard on it.

I have searched and tried many things including LeopardAssist, however the problem is my CD drive is broken and will just spit the Leopard DVD out a few seconds after I insert it, no matter what I do. It doesn't read ANY disks, not even my Panther install disk. I have tried upgrading without using a disk, with a firewire and Target Disk mode or using my iPod. But then I still have the problem of needing to tweak my G4 so Leopard will install.

It seems I need to be able to tweak my G4 before I install Leopard, but can this be done? I think I can do this with the firewire/TDM method if I can separate the two tasks. I just cannot find anything on the internet with this particular scenario.

Another option that I have not tried is using an external CD drive. Since this is a one-time thing I would see if I could borrow one from work. But still not sure if that would work with the LeopardAssist? Would it recognize the external drive?

I hope there's a way. My G4 is like new still (except for that darned cd drive), and I'm pretty attached...it was my first very own Mac and I would love to use it for a few more years! Sorry this is so long, I wanted to cover everything I could, as I have tried so many things.
Lindy62 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 2013, 11:56 AM   #2
rjcalifornia
macrumors 6502a
 
rjcalifornia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: El Salvador
Cool

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lindy62 View Post
I have an old G4 iMac (flatpanel) with 700 mhz processor and Panther 10.3.9, that I'm trying to get a couple more years of usage out of, but it's proving very difficult and this is basically my last resort.
Instead of Panther, try Tiger. I have the same iMac and it works beautifully with Tiger. I have installed Microsoft Office 2008.

Quote:
This all started when I got an Airport card for it so I could use iTunes internet radio, but discovered that our new Netgear wifi extender has a type of wifi that is not compatible with the old Airport card...I even tried connecting it directly to the Netgear but it still would not connect to the internet (any suggestions there are most appreciated too, as it may be a simpler solution than what I'm trying to do now).
Wait? Not even with the cable? May be you need to run a System Check on your iMac and also check the router settings. I bought an Airport, well it was an AirMac card (silly me, bad ebay seller) for my ibook G3 which died. I put the same card in the iMac and it works with my WiMax router. So, I think it could be a router setting problem.

Quote:
So I'm trying to get Leopard installed on the G4 as I found out that is possible, and I have the regular retail disks for 10.5, so that would hopefully allow me to connect to the wifi as I am with my newer iMac with Leopard on it.
Do you have the Black Disks? Also do you have 1 GB of RAM? Leopard could be very slow with less than 1 GB. And you need to do some extra steps to get Leopard install on a mac with less than 800 Mhz

Quote:
I hope there's a way. My G4 is like new still (except for that darned cd drive), and I'm pretty attached...it was my first very own Mac and I would love to use it for a few more years! Sorry this is so long, I wanted to cover everything I could, as I have tried so many things.
Tiger my friend. Tiger is the way to go. That or some Linux distro. I'd go with Tiger.
__________________
CEO, Lead Developer and Sales Manager of SW Social Web LLC PowerPC Blog iBook G4 1.2 Ghz 60 GB HDD, Black Macbook Core 2 Duo, Powerbook G4 & iMac G4 700 Mhz Owner.
rjcalifornia is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 2013, 11:59 AM   #3
eyoungren
macrumors 603
 
eyoungren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Phoenix, AZ USA
Send a message via AIM to eyoungren Send a message via MSN to eyoungren Send a message via Yahoo to eyoungren Send a message via Skype™ to eyoungren
When you say "type of wifi" do you mean that your Netgear is not capable of wireless 801.11b or do you mean it's using a type of security that your Mac does not have (such as WPA)?

If the latter, have you tried this?

If it's the former, then you are going to need to try a different route or get a wireless device that supports 801.11b. Even if you installed Leopard it would not give you the ability to use 801.11g or higher. That's purely a limitation of the airport card. Airport Extreme introduced 801.11g.
eyoungren is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 2013, 03:48 PM   #4
Lindy62
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Thanks for suggestions....I got it working after reconfiguring the wifi to WEP from WPA-PSK (TKIP) per the Netgear manual. I also went into System Preferences and manually entered the IP address of the router, as a "self-assigned" IP address was in there. So now it works!

The iTunes radio still doesn't work though, just due to age probably. I need to upgrade to Tiger after all....so I can then upgrade my iTunes. So that's my next step, and hopefully I'll have a year or so more with my old iMac.

Thanks again for your help!
Lindy62 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 2013, 05:10 PM   #5
MisterKeeks
macrumors 68000
 
MisterKeeks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lindy62 View Post

The iTunes radio still doesn't work though, just due to age probably. I need to upgrade to Tiger after all....so I can then upgrade my iTunes. So that's my next step, and hopefully I'll have a year or so more with my old iMac.
Try other stations; the streaming format can be different. I can listen to iTunes radio on iTunes 2 and OS 9, but I have to manually add stations, and make sure that they aren't AAC.
MisterKeeks is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 2013, 05:13 PM   #6
Intell
macrumors P6
 
Intell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Inside
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lindy62 View Post
Thanks for suggestions....I got it working after reconfiguring the wifi to WEP from WPA-PSK (TKIP) per the Netgear manual. I also went into System Preferences and manually entered the IP address of the router, as a "self-assigned" IP address was in there. So now it works!

The iTunes radio still doesn't work though, just due to age probably. I need to upgrade to Tiger after all....so I can then upgrade my iTunes. So that's my next step, and hopefully I'll have a year or so more with my old iMac.

Thanks again for your help!
If your security is WEP, you might as well just remove the security. WEP is extremely insecure and easy to crack. Because your iMac is running 10.3.9, it should be able to connect to a WPA-TKIP network without a problem.
__________________
Last edited by Intell; Yesterday at 10:45 AM.
Intell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 29, 2013, 07:27 AM   #7
Lindy62
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Yeah I know, I'm going to try WPA-TKP again with Tiger installed....it did not work before, even with the routers IP address manually entered in system prefs/network settings. Only after i changed it to WEP did it finally connect. I still have to enter the 10-digit key to connect to our wifi so it's not totally unprotected.
Lindy62 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 29, 2013, 11:39 AM   #8
rjcalifornia
macrumors 6502a
 
rjcalifornia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: El Salvador
Wink

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lindy62 View Post
Yeah I know, I'm going to try WPA-TKP again with Tiger installed....it did not work before, even with the routers IP address manually entered in system prefs/network settings. Only after i changed it to WEP did it finally connect. I still have to enter the 10-digit key to connect to our wifi so it's not totally unprotected.
I still think it is your router. I connect my iMac G4 to a WiMax Router with no issues.
__________________
CEO, Lead Developer and Sales Manager of SW Social Web LLC PowerPC Blog iBook G4 1.2 Ghz 60 GB HDD, Black Macbook Core 2 Duo, Powerbook G4 & iMac G4 700 Mhz Owner.
rjcalifornia is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 29, 2013, 12:40 PM   #9
Intell
macrumors P6
 
Intell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Inside
One thing to check that I've run Ito in the past is that if your router has a b/g/n mode, try putting it into b/g only mode and connecting with WPA-TKIP on you iMac. I've found that my G4 iMac doesn't play nice with some router's b/g/n modes.
__________________
Last edited by Intell; Yesterday at 10:45 AM.
Intell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 29, 2013, 01:34 PM   #10
rjcalifornia
macrumors 6502a
 
rjcalifornia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: El Salvador
Quote:
Originally Posted by Intell View Post
One thing to check that I've run Ito in the past is that if your router has a b/g/n mode, try putting it into b/g only mode and connecting with WPA-TKIP on you iMac. I've found that my G4 iMac doesn't play nice with some router's b/g/n modes.
Mine has the b/g/n modes enabled with WPA-TKIP... and no issues?
__________________
CEO, Lead Developer and Sales Manager of SW Social Web LLC PowerPC Blog iBook G4 1.2 Ghz 60 GB HDD, Black Macbook Core 2 Duo, Powerbook G4 & iMac G4 700 Mhz Owner.
rjcalifornia is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 29, 2013, 03:40 PM   #11
Intell
macrumors P6
 
Intell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Inside
Quote:
Originally Posted by rjcalifornia View Post
Mine has the b/g/n modes enabled with WPA-TKIP... and no issues?
"some router's b/g/n modes". That might exclude your router, but maybe not the OP's.
__________________
Last edited by Intell; Yesterday at 10:45 AM.
Intell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 29, 2013, 10:10 PM   #12
Lindy62
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Intell View Post
One thing to check that I've run Ito in the past is that if your router has a b/g/n mode, try putting it into b/g only
mode and connecting with WPA-TKIP on you iMac. I've found that my G4 iMac doesn't play nice with some router's b/g/n modes.
OK I will check it out....not sure where to look but if I go in and search I will probably find the setting. I'll let you know if I need more help, as this wifi stuff is a bit befuddling to me sometimes....I do appreciate all the helpful tips!
Lindy62 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FCC Takes action to promote Interoperability Lower 700 MHz Band Diseal3 iPhone 14 Oct 29, 2013 04:30 PM
Resolved: Anyway to finish my OS X install? (broken CD drive) BulmaSMG Mac Basics and Help 16 Aug 4, 2013 04:41 PM
Clean install Snow Leopard on 2008 MBP that have broken superdrive.. bo-waleed OS X 4 Jun 6, 2013 07:21 PM
Snow Leopard Install - Broken Mac? DasSmithStar iMac 3 May 19, 2013 08:32 AM
G4 iMac 700 Mhz... My First PPC!! Arcsylver PowerPC Macs 19 Aug 21, 2012 04:14 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:43 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC