Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > iOS 5 and earlier

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 28, 2012, 02:10 AM   #1
zen
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
iPhone and iPad not showing up in iTunes with synch via wifi on new MBA

I've just switched from an iMac to a MBA with external monitor. I've shifted my iTunes library and have authorised the new computer in iTunes, etc.

Both my iPhone and iPad have the "synch via wifi" option selected. Both are on the same wifi network as the MBA (just like the iMac was).

However, neither device shows up in iTunes if I unplug the cable. With the cable plugged in, everything works as normal and I can synch. When I unplug the cable, the device disappears and iTunes can't see it.

With my iMac, both the iPad and iPhone were listed under devices, no matter where they were in the house, so long as they were on the wifi network.

I think I've been through every iTunes setting (the "prevent ... from auto-synching" is NOT ticked).

Running iTunes 10.5.3, Lion 10.7.2, and iOS 5.0.1. The MBA is in clamshell mode with the external monitor connected, and is on the wifi network without any problem.

Any ideas? Am I missing a step somewhere?
zen is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 28, 2012, 10:29 AM   #2
anthonymoody
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by zen View Post
I've just switched from an iMac to a MBA with external monitor. I've shifted my iTunes library and have authorised the new computer in iTunes, etc.

Both my iPhone and iPad have the "synch via wifi" option selected. Both are on the same wifi network as the MBA (just like the iMac was).

However, neither device shows up in iTunes if I unplug the cable. With the cable plugged in, everything works as normal and I can synch. When I unplug the cable, the device disappears and iTunes can't see it.

With my iMac, both the iPad and iPhone were listed under devices, no matter where they were in the house, so long as they were on the wifi network.

I think I've been through every iTunes setting (the "prevent ... from auto-synching" is NOT ticked).

Running iTunes 10.5.3, Lion 10.7.2, and iOS 5.0.1. The MBA is in clamshell mode with the external monitor connected, and is on the wifi network without any problem.

Any ideas? Am I missing a step somewhere?
Just out of curiosity have you tried with the MBA open as opposed to clamshell? Maybe something weird about that interaction.

In not, try de-selecting wifi sync. Quit/reopen itunes and hard reset your ipad while doing so. Connect wired. Sync. Reset your iPad, again quit/reopen iTunes. Reconnect wired, and now select wifi sync. See if that doesn't do the trick.
__________________
iPadAlone.com
Wherein I ponder the reality of an iPad as my primary computer...
anthonymoody is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 29, 2012, 04:33 AM   #3
zen
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
That worked, thanks!
zen is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 29, 2012, 10:52 AM   #4
anthonymoody
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by zen View Post
That worked, thanks!

You're welcome and glad it worked! I have found that many pairing type errors can be remedied with a handful of quit/reopen/reset type activities.

I have problems with the Remote app and iTunes on my iMac sometimes not playing nicely. Haven't been able to solve it permanently but this type of thing usually helps for a time.

I actually saw the solution above posted in another forum some time ago. Anyway, glad it worked!
__________________
iPadAlone.com
Wherein I ponder the reality of an iPad as my primary computer...
anthonymoody is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 29, 2013, 07:07 PM   #5
star-affinity
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by anthonymoody View Post
You're welcome and glad it worked! I have found that many pairing type errors can be remedied with a handful of quit/reopen/reset type activities.

I have problems with the Remote app and iTunes on my iMac sometimes not playing nicely. Haven't been able to solve it permanently but this type of thing usually helps for a time.

I actually saw the solution above posted in another forum some time ago. Anyway, glad it worked!
Worked for me too! Strange, I wonder exactly which of the steps it is that actually solves it. Sounds strange that you have to do the restart of the iOS device twice, no?
star-affinity is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 9, 2013, 02:31 PM   #6
star-affinity
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
But the bloody problem keeps coming backů
star-affinity is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > iOS 5 and earlier

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iPad 1st Gen stuck in recovery mode. Not showing up in iTunes and cannot restore. bennyb123 iPad Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 3 May 25, 2011 04:53 PM
ipad not showing up in itunes/imac Illuminated iPad 2 Aug 24, 2010 08:15 PM
iphone and ipad not showing up in iTunes quite often steffi iPhone 0 May 29, 2010 05:49 PM
Guide: iPhone with 3.0 will NOT show up in iTunes OR is stuck in recovery mode... cx300 iPhone 2 Mar 20, 2009 12:34 PM
new iphone not showing up in itunes? supgraffix iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 0 Feb 28, 2008 08:12 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:25 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC