Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 30, 2013, 11:23 AM   #1
deja-vu
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Can I get Lion on my MBP again?

I have a 2010 MBP that i just wiped the harddrive on. It used to have Lion, even though it was shipped with Snow Leopard - as i remember there was a free upgrade to Lion.

When i reinstall from the DVD it installs Snow Leopard and i have no idea how to get Lion on it again. I tried to option click the "purchase" tab in app store but it does not show Lion.

Anyone knows what to do?

Thanks.
deja-vu is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2013, 11:27 AM   #2
simsaladimbamba
macrumors Core
 
simsaladimbamba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
What about buying OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion? And to get Mac OS X 10.7 Lion again, you have to contact Apple and show them your valid purchase of Mac OS X 10.7 Lion and they will send you an App Store link, if you want to use Mac OS X 10.7 Lion instead of OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion or the last proper Mac OS X version.
__________________
living on the moderately profane edge
simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2013, 11:58 AM   #3
deja-vu
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
I guess i could buy mountain lion, i am just a bit concerned that my semi old MBP Mid2010 (i think) will get slow if i install Mountain Lion on it.
deja-vu is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2013, 11:59 AM   #4
AnonMac50
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Have you tried option clicking the Purchases tab versus normal clicking it?
__________________
[Tutorial] Three Finger Drag on Non-supported Multitouch Macs (MAJOR UPDATES!!! (8/7/2013))
Front Row for Lion
Now I know why the maps icon wants you to jump off of a bridge!
AnonMac50 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2013, 12:02 PM   #5
entropi
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by deja-vu View Post
I guess i could buy mountain lion, i am just a bit concerned that my semi old MBP Mid2010 (i think) will get slow if i install Mountain Lion on it.
nah, fear not - my MBP 17" from early 2009 didn't get slow with ML. I don't think the latest OS X iterations has been any much slower, this is much more a problem with iOS...
entropi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2013, 12:18 PM   #6
deja-vu
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
I have tried the option clicky thing, but as i remember i did not get it from the app store but from a software update - as i remember all MBP bought in a certain time period got it for free.

Good to hear that ML does not slow down the computer though if it ends up with me having to purchase that. I would prefer to just get Lion back on it though.
deja-vu is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2013, 12:25 PM   #7
simsaladimbamba
macrumors Core
 
simsaladimbamba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
Quote:
Originally Posted by deja-vu View Post
I have tried the option clicky thing, but as i remember i did not get it from the app store but from a software update - as i remember all MBP bought in a certain time period got it for free.
Mac OS X 10.7 Lion was an UPGRADE, you could only get it via the Mac App Store (MAS) or a 69 USD USB flash memory thumb drive from the Apple Online Store.
If you bought your Mac within a free upgrade period, you would have had to contact Apple and prove the date of your purchase and they would have get you a code to use with the MAS.

Quote:
Good to hear that ML does not slow down the computer though if it ends up with me having to purchase that. I would prefer to just get Lion back on it though.
Again, try this thread for more clarification and a number.
__________________
living on the moderately profane edge
simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2013, 12:30 PM   #8
deja-vu
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Just did a search in my emails and i actually found a receipt from itunes store that i bought OS X Lion, v10.7.2, Developer: iTunes S.a.r.l. (4+).

So should it not appear in app store when i do the option click?
deja-vu is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2013, 02:14 PM   #9
AnonMac50
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by deja-vu View Post
Just did a search in my emails and i actually found a receipt from itunes store that i bought OS X Lion, v10.7.2, Developer: iTunes S.a.r.l. (4+).

So should it not appear in app store when i do the option click?
It should, I think. Contact Apple and see what they say.
__________________
[Tutorial] Three Finger Drag on Non-supported Multitouch Macs (MAJOR UPDATES!!! (8/7/2013))
Front Row for Lion
Now I know why the maps icon wants you to jump off of a bridge!
AnonMac50 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2013, 10:15 AM   #10
deja-vu
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Contacted them and got the answer. Here is the link if anyone else gets this problem:

http://support.apple.com/kb/HT4928

Thanks.
deja-vu is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:54 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC