Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Digital Audio

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 29, 2013, 08:35 PM   #1
Qwerty11
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Do I have to restart Mac to get MIDI controller to function after unplugging?

I'm using Garageband and a keyboard connected via USB. If for some reason I disconnect the keyboard, I get a message in Garageband saying that all midi inputs have dropped. The only way I can figure out to get it to re-connect is to restart the Mac. Is there any other way?
Qwerty11 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2013, 12:19 AM   #2
bwhli
macrumors Demi-God
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Qwerty11 View Post
I'm using Garageband and a keyboard connected via USB. If for some reason I disconnect the keyboard, I get a message in Garageband saying that all midi inputs have dropped. The only way I can figure out to get it to re-connect is to restart the Mac. Is there any other way?
Garageband should automatically detect the MIDI keyboard. Just tried it in Garageband with a USB MIDI controller I have, and unplugging and replugging did not require a restart to function.
bwhli is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2013, 08:28 PM   #3
Qwerty11
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by bwhli View Post
Garageband should automatically detect the MIDI keyboard. Just tried it in Garageband with a USB MIDI controller I have, and unplugging and replugging did not require a restart to function.
Plugging in the keyboard creates to prefs pane "YAMAHA USB-MIDI." Maybe it is creating some type of ad-hoc connection.
Qwerty11 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2013, 11:18 PM   #4
bwhli
macrumors Demi-God
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Qwerty11 View Post
Plugging in the keyboard creates to prefs pane "YAMAHA USB-MIDI." Maybe it is creating some type of ad-hoc connection.
The Yamaha USB-MIDI is the Yamaha MIDI driver being loaded up. It's normal. I'm not really sure what could be causing your issue. Have you updated to the latest drivers?
bwhli is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Digital Audio

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:11 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC