Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 31, 2013, 12:02 AM   #1
raymondu999
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
What do I need to set up a Marantz SR-7007 for AirPlay?

Hi folks, I just bought a Marantz SR-7007, and I'd like to set it up for AirPlay use. Does anyone know how to? I am unfortunately quite clueless. I know I need to plug in a wireless device to the Marantz, via Ethernet. That I get. Do I need a router, or an access point? What else do I need?

Thanks!
__________________
iPhone 5 64GB black
iPad Air Wifi+3G 64GB black
15" 2.6GHz Core i7 Retina MBP
11" 1.3GHz Core i5 2013 MBA
raymondu999 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2013, 05:17 AM   #2
apolkowski
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Poland, Warsaw and Masurian Lake District
Quote:
Originally Posted by raymondu999 View Post
Hi folks, I just bought a Marantz SR-7007, and I'd like to set it up for AirPlay use. Does anyone know how to? I am unfortunately quite clueless. I know I need to plug in a wireless device to the Marantz, via Ethernet. That I get. Do I need a router, or an access point? What else do I need?

Thanks!
Hi, I have Marantz 7007 connected via powerline adapter to my home network. I have two access points active to cover whole house, both connected to the same network. AirPlay works fine with iDevices and iTunes.
You have some info aboth how to make it working on page 73 of the Marantz manual.
apolkowski is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2013, 09:08 PM   #3
raymondu999
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Cheers for the answer, apolkowski. However my house has absolutely no wired internet - everything is wireless. I have 3 separate access points in the house, but even then, 2 are basically relays for the primary access point.

Would it possible for me to do either of these:
a) router, joining the existing access point's networks, then sending ethernet out?
b) Do access points have ethernet out capability? That way I can extend my wireless coverage, while at the same time connecting the AirPlay into the system.
__________________
iPhone 5 64GB black
iPad Air Wifi+3G 64GB black
15" 2.6GHz Core i7 Retina MBP
11" 1.3GHz Core i5 2013 MBA
raymondu999 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2013, 09:21 PM   #4
blueroom
macrumors 603
 
blueroom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto, Canada
An AirPort express would do the trick, it also has AirPlay and could be setup as a second zone audio source.

Which access point do you have?
__________________
My iOS devices are not jailbroken.
Bill
My Blog
blueroom is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 1, 2013, 05:12 AM   #5
apolkowski
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Poland, Warsaw and Masurian Lake District
Before I decided to install powerline adapters, I had Linksys access point working in bridge mode. My amplifier and XBOX were connected to it via a small switch. So the main access point was spreading WIFI signal around the house and Linksys was working as a WIFI "receiver".
apolkowski is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 2013, 12:44 AM   #6
raymondu999
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Hey folks - does anyone know if I need any special software to make this Marantz SR7007 AirPlay arrangement work? Or does it just work with iOS/Mac OS's built in iTunes? What AV input should I set on my Marantz unit?
__________________
iPhone 5 64GB black
iPad Air Wifi+3G 64GB black
15" 2.6GHz Core i7 Retina MBP
11" 1.3GHz Core i5 2013 MBA
raymondu999 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 2013, 12:47 AM   #7
blueroom
macrumors 603
 
blueroom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto, Canada
If it's on the network any AirPlay should be able to stream to it. Try iTunes.
__________________
My iOS devices are not jailbroken.
Bill
My Blog
blueroom is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 2013, 01:44 AM   #8
apolkowski
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Poland, Warsaw and Masurian Lake District
It has to be switched ON. If it is in standby mode iDevices do not see it.
apolkowski is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Airplay stopped working with Denon/Marantz receiver hypercard Apple TV and Home Theater 16 Nov 8, 2014 04:01 PM
Applescript to open itunes at 7am and set radio to send to airplay speaker gordo5150 Mac Programming 1 Apr 23, 2014 01:48 PM
Airplay lag, alternative way to set up DrPips Apple TV and Home Theater 8 Jan 25, 2014 11:14 PM
How do I set up Airplay With a Yamaha 473 Receiver? GovtLawyer Apple TV and Home Theater 6 Feb 8, 2013 11:59 AM
Looking for wireless/Airplay speaker set up brayhite iPhone Accessories 7 Nov 19, 2012 02:36 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:25 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC