Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Mac Peripherals

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 31, 2013, 04:23 PM   #1
BasilFawlty
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: New Mexico
Daisy Chain Two Time Capsules?

I have an older 500GB Time Casule (not sure if it's considered Gen 1 or gen 2). I only transmitts one freq at a time (not duel channel like th enew ones)(I can choose either "n (b/g compatible)", or 2.4GHz n or 5GHz.

Anyway, the other day I bought a new 2TB TC (dual channel). My question, can I "daisy chain" these things? My thought was to use the new TC as my primary (and to provide the wireless), then use the older 500GB just as another drive connected to teh new TC. Is that possible? Any recommendations on how to best use the two together (if it's possible)?
__________________
Mid 2011 27" 2.7GHz, iMac i5, 12GB RAM, 1TBHD
2011 Macbook Pro, 2.3 GHZ, 16GB (Corsair) Ram, 500GB Seagate Momentus Hybrid HD
1967 Jaguar XKE Roadster
BasilFawlty is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2013, 05:47 PM   #2
goMac
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
I don't think it's possible to directly daisy chain them. You could just turn the wireless off on the old one, and just use it as a networked ethernet drive.
goMac is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2013, 06:10 PM   #3
skorpien
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
If you disable DHCP on the older one and connect it to the newer one, you can have it act as a secondary wireless access point. This allows you to create another SSID if you wanted. For example, new TC can provide SSIDs for wireless N devices (both 2.4 GHz and 5 GHz) and older TC can provide SSID for wireless b/g devices.

Or you can disable the wireless on the older one completely and use it as a networked drive, with the option of using the older TC's Ethernet ports as an extra hub.
__________________
17" 2.6 GHz Penryn MBP
Collector's Edition 2.4 GHz Alu MB
Time Capsule 2TB (1st Gen); Apple TV 160GB; iPhone 5S 64GB; iPod Video 30GB
skorpien is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 10, 2013, 10:08 PM   #4
BasilFawlty
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: New Mexico
Quote:
Originally Posted by skorpien View Post
If you disable DHCP on the older one and connect it to the newer one, you can have it act as a secondary wireless access point. This allows you to create another SSID if you wanted. For example, new TC can provide SSIDs for wireless N devices (both 2.4 GHz and 5 GHz) and older TC can provide SSID for wireless b/g devices.

Or you can disable the wireless on the older one completely and use it as a networked drive, with the option of using the older TC's Ethernet ports as an extra hub.
I ended up using the older 500GB TC to "extend" the network from my 2TB TC. I can see them both in Airport Utility and can back up my MBP onto the 500 GB and my iMac desktop to the 2TB. Works like a champ.
__________________
Mid 2011 27" 2.7GHz, iMac i5, 12GB RAM, 1TBHD
2011 Macbook Pro, 2.3 GHZ, 16GB (Corsair) Ram, 500GB Seagate Momentus Hybrid HD
1967 Jaguar XKE Roadster
BasilFawlty is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2013, 04:26 PM   #5
mwhities
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Mississippi
Send a message via AIM to mwhities Send a message via MSN to mwhities
Quote:
Originally Posted by BasilFawlty View Post
I ended up using the older 500GB TC to "extend" the network from my 2TB TC. I can see them both in Airport Utility and can back up my MBP onto the 500 GB and my iMac desktop to the 2TB. Works like a champ.
Thanks for posting. I had considered doing the same only with two 2T TimeCapsules. I have an Airport Extreme that will be the "main" wireless but, the two TCs will be hard wired, at a distance too.
__________________
Late '11 MBP 17" - Blue Nano 8G - Black 4S 16G/64G - Black iPad2 16G - Black iPad mini 16G - 2TB TC
mwhities is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Mac Peripherals

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Daisy Chain Thunderbolt Question PaystarCEO Mac Peripherals 4 Apr 24, 2014 11:05 AM
Can I daisy chain my backup volumes? Miqs Mac Peripherals 6 Nov 16, 2013 01:12 AM
Help me understand daisy chain technology sinitry23 Mac Peripherals 2 Oct 31, 2013 02:13 AM
Daisy chain or mesh airports jgbr Mac Peripherals 0 Jun 20, 2013 12:17 AM
WD My Passport daisy chain deejayscream Mac Peripherals 9 Jul 11, 2012 10:07 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:44 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC