Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 4, 2012, 10:52 PM   #1
cpnotebook80
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Toronto
upgrading to new ssd macpro 3.1

I currently have a vertex 2 120gb ssd 3.5" that fit right into the slot of my macpro when i bought it long time ago.

I looked at the new batch of vertex ssd and saw many 2.5" ones. just wondering how that would fit in my mac pro. do i need to get an adapter? or something.
__________________
MacPro 3,1 2x2.8ghz,10gb ram,1.8tb HD,120GB SSD OCZ vert2
Ati 4870 gpu| Apple 27" led cinema |64gb iP5|8GB iP4| 32gb 3rd gen iPad white| ATV2| rMBP late 2013 2.4/8/256
cpnotebook80 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 4, 2012, 11:12 PM   #2
TM(tm)
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Yes, an adapter.

http://eshop.macsales.com/item/OWC/MMP35T25/

Or you can put it in the second optical drive.
TM(tm) is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 5, 2012, 04:15 AM   #3
flatfoot
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by cpnotebook80 View Post
...

do i need to get an adapter? or something.
Quote:
Originally Posted by TM(tm) View Post
Yes, an adapter.

http://eshop.macsales.com/item/OWC/MMP35T25/

Or you can put it in the second optical drive.
No, you don't need an adapter to use the SSD in the sleds. The connector is a standard SATA connector that fits into the onboard socket.
If you don't want to spend 20 bucks on a metal/plastic "adapter", just use a zip-tie or velcro-tie to secure the SSD after plugging it in.
__________________
Power Mac G5-i7 i7-870@3.52GHz, 8GB CL8 1600MHz RAM, GeForce 9600GT, 360GB internal SSD, 13TB storage + 12.25TB backup via HighPoint RR2314
MBA 2013 1.3 Ci5, 8GB RAM, 128GB SSD
iPod touch 4G 32GB
flatfoot is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 25, 2012, 04:18 PM   #4
Directorfilms
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: UK
Which ssd are you using in your macpro 3.1

I hear all of you talking about SSD's but which ones are you using in your mac pro 3.1 (2008) i want to buy one but no idea which ones are compatible as Crucial said they dont cater for macpro 3.1 as they aresnt compatible. Id like a 240gb version, im currently running 10.8, have 6gb ram, and have the macpro 3.1 (2008) 8core 2.8ghz. Any replies would be appreciated
Directorfilms is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 25, 2012, 04:51 PM   #5
GermanyChris
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Here
Quote:
Originally Posted by Directorfilms View Post
I hear all of you talking about SSD's but which ones are you using in your mac pro 3.1 (2008) i want to buy one but no idea which ones are compatible as Crucial said they dont cater for macpro 3.1 as they aresnt compatible. Id like a 240gb version, im currently running 10.8, have 6gb ram, and have the macpro 3.1 (2008) 8core 2.8ghz. Any replies would be appreciated

Thats like the question which is better blondes, brunettes, or the raven haired beauty. Being that it matters little beyond SATA I/II/III what model Mac you have (you have SATA II) it all boils down to personal preference. I unlike most people here have had great luck with OCZ. My local computer store which has 19 locations has a 40% return rate..

For adaptors has anyone tried this? http://www.raidsonic.de/en/products/..._objectID=8206
GermanyChris is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 25, 2012, 05:05 PM   #6
derbothaus
macrumors 601
 
derbothaus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Directorfilms View Post
I hear all of you talking about SSD's but which ones are you using in your mac pro 3.1 (2008) i want to buy one but no idea which ones are compatible as Crucial said they dont cater for macpro 3.1 as they aresnt compatible. Id like a 240gb version, im currently running 10.8, have 6gb ram, and have the macpro 3.1 (2008) 8core 2.8ghz. Any replies would be appreciated
I'd say screw crucial then. They go out of their way to say something is NOT compatible. They must hate selling things. Oh, wait. I get it, they will refuse warranty or service if something happens to go wrong. So yeah, screw them.
__________________
Mac Pro W3680, GTX 680, 12GB DDR3, SSD; MBP, 2.6GHz Core i7, 16GB DDR3, SSD; Eizo fs2333
derbothaus is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 25, 2012, 05:57 PM   #7
Phrygian
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
I'm considering an ssd purchase for an early mac pro 2008 as well. From what i had read the crucial m4 was considered a highly reliable card. I have heard bad things about ocz sadly, despite the price. Frankly i don't know which to go for at all.

Also, the owc sled adapter is not compatible with the early 2008 mac pro. However the icy dock adapter is.

best buy has a nice deal on a kingston 128 going...
http://www.bestbuy.com/site/Kingston...ston&cp=1&lp=7

Last edited by Phrygian; Aug 25, 2012 at 09:23 PM.
Phrygian is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 25, 2012, 07:49 PM   #8
hfg
macrumors 68020
 
hfg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Cedar Rapids, IA.
I have been running a OWC 240GB SSD with Icy Dock mount in my 2008 Mac Pro for quite some time with no problems. I recently replaced it with a larger 500GB Crucial M4 SSD which was the higher speed SATA III capable.

In order to utilize the higher speed capability, I installed it on a low cost SATA III PCIe card which allows it to run at full speed in my SATA II equipped computer.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/130696186620...ht_3623wt_1394

So far ... it is running great and fast!


-howard
hfg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 25, 2012, 07:53 PM   #9
Directorfilms
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: UK
True I suppose there is no best ssd. Basically I'm totally new to the ssd's and just want to know which ones are running smoothly, I'll be using my computer for mainly photoshop and final cut pro if that makes any difference. I want to prolong the life of my macpro 2008 until a new macpro comes out.im in the uk and have been priced Ģ200 for a 240gb ocz vertex 3 ssd with an icybox adapter. Man there are so many new things to consider, like trimm and speed, and also mlc or something. Anyone who is using an ssd on the same computer as me for the same kind of programmes, well any help would be appreciated, I want to make the purchase, I will then let you all know how it goes
Directorfilms is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 25, 2012, 08:16 PM   #10
Phrygian
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
I posted this in a thread i made today and is here: thread

but apparently there is apparently a problem with sandisk sata III products when used in a mac pro using a sata II framework with the Nvidia sata controller. more info here:
http://www.amazon.com/review/R3OU5W9...R3OU5W9BBYE4RM

Last edited by Phrygian; Aug 25, 2012 at 09:23 PM.
Phrygian is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 25, 2012, 08:26 PM   #11
hfg
macrumors 68020
 
hfg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Cedar Rapids, IA.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phrygian View Post
I posted this in a thread i made today and is here: thread

but apparently there is apparently a problem with sandisk sata III products when used in a mac pro using a sata II framework with the Nvidia sata controller. more info here:
http://www.amazon.com/review/R3OU5W9...R3OU5W9BBYE4RM

I would also note that from what i have read, Sata III PCIe cards are not compatible with early 2008 models (sad face ) but i believe they support 2009 and above.
Please read my post above ... that particular PCIe card does work in a 2008 Mac Pro.
hfg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 25, 2012, 09:24 PM   #12
Phrygian
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by hfg View Post
Please read my post above ... that particular PCIe card does work in a 2008 Mac Pro.
edited my post to reflect that. I believe there was another pci adapter i found that was on the MF forum that was stated as not compatible. the one you linked from e-bay appears to somwhat of a custom job performed by an e-bay vendor.
Phrygian is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 1, 2013, 05:17 AM   #13
Andrew Kinnear
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Chester, UK
Phrygian, apologies for thread resurrection, but did you get the regular card or the SuperSpeed version?
Andrew Kinnear is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 1, 2013, 05:40 AM   #14
Baunkjaer
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Send a message via MSN to Baunkjaer
OWC has adapters, which work in 2008 MPīs.
I use two of them for my SSDīs.
http://eshop.macsales.com/item/NewerTech/ADPTADRV/
256GB Samsung 830 bootdrive
180GB Intel 330 for Aperture library etc.



Btw; I used the drives without the adapters for a week, while I was waiting for the delivery. It worked smooth, but I like how the drives are mounted now.
__________________

MBP 8,2, 2,2GHz (i7), 16GB, 250GB Samsung 840 EVO, HD 3000/AMD HD 6750M  iPhone 5S  iPad Air  Qnap TS-221 @ 2*2TB WD Red
Baunkjaer is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrading MacPro 4,1 xsydx Mac Pro 8 Feb 27, 2014 10:03 AM
Upgrading from 2012 imac to macpro? chfilm Mac Pro 2 Nov 17, 2013 05:44 PM
Upgrading CPU in older MacPro JB97031 Mac Pro 7 Aug 10, 2013 11:00 PM
Upgrading a MacPro 5,1 2 x 2.4ghz Quad-Core RobertSix Mac Pro 19 Sep 25, 2012 01:17 AM
Upgrading to MacPro from C2D iMac? TomTomTuning Mac Pro 13 Sep 21, 2012 10:43 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:34 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC