Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > Mac OS X 10.7 Lion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 2, 2011, 11:25 PM   #1
jake4ever
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Ma'on La'oved, Hadera, Israel
Java Applet not working on Lion

I do this online program called ALEKS. It requires some little Java thing, which I install. Still, "missing plugin" how do I fix this?
jake4ever is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 3, 2011, 09:17 AM   #2
qstyler
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Same here.
Need java for internet banking.
Anyone figured out how to intsall java plugins?
qstyler is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 3, 2011, 10:03 AM   #3
wrldwzrd89
macrumors G4
 
wrldwzrd89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Solon, OH
This is so easy, I'm surprised more people haven't figured this out yet.

Open Java Preferences in your Applications -> Utilities folder. This will fail with an error about Java not being installed, and will then offer to download it.
__________________
iMac Intel (Rev H, 27"), 1TB HDD, 16GB RAM, 10.8.4
wrldwzrd89 is offline   -1 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 3, 2011, 03:20 PM   #4
qstyler
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
But you have to be registered developer, right?

Last edited by qstyler; Mar 3, 2011 at 03:33 PM.
qstyler is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 3, 2011, 04:57 PM   #5
jake4ever
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Ma'on La'oved, Hadera, Israel
Quote:
Originally Posted by wrldwzrd89 View Post
This is so easy, I'm surprised more people haven't figured this out yet.

Open Java Preferences in your Applications -> Utilities folder. This will fail with an error about Java not being installed, and will then offer to download it.
Already did that.
jake4ever is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 3, 2011, 05:33 PM   #6
Steve Ballmer
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Redmond, WA
Quote:
Originally Posted by qstyler View Post
But you have to be registered developer, right?
This is what I've heard. Give it a try. If it won't download through Software Update then yes, you probably need an ADC account.
__________________
Where do you want to go today?
Steve Ballmer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 4, 2011, 04:00 AM   #7
qstyler
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
It downloaded java runtime when I ran Lion for the first time.
But as appears java applets don't run.
Can anyone test these applets:
http://www.w3.org/People/mimasa/test/object/java/
qstyler is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 4, 2011, 08:55 AM   #8
jake4ever
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Ma'on La'oved, Hadera, Israel
Quote:
Originally Posted by qstyler View Post
It downloaded java runtime when I ran Lion for the first time.
But as appears java applets don't run.
Can anyone test these applets:
http://www.w3.org/People/mimasa/test/object/java/
Not working on Chrome or Safari.
jake4ever is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 4, 2011, 10:53 AM   #9
qstyler
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Anyone who claims that he has java running
qstyler is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 11, 2011, 12:43 PM   #10
jake4ever
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Ma'on La'oved, Hadera, Israel
Quote:
Originally Posted by qstyler View Post
Anyone who claims that he has java running
still.... not working..
jake4ever is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 12, 2011, 07:07 PM   #11
yashrg
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
I have to use Java for a system to transfer files from the college server to my laptop. Something called my file. But I can't use it.
yashrg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 16, 2011, 07:51 AM   #12
BobJ
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Java applet problem

When I try to use the MoveIt Wizard I get an error message: "Please configure your browser to allow Java applets to access the file system" but I can't figure out how to do it!
BobJ is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 19, 2011, 08:46 PM   #13
RMcMullan
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Java For Mac OS X 10.7

You must be an ADC Member, but this will get you Java for 10.7. I am an ADC Member and now Java works.

http://connect.apple.com/cgi-bin/Web...bundleID=20773
RMcMullan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 20, 2011, 06:09 AM   #14
iHenning
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Oslo
Quote:
Originally Posted by RMcMullan View Post
You must be an ADC Member, but this will get you Java for 10.7. I am an ADC Member and now Java works.

http://connect.apple.com/cgi-bin/Web...bundleID=20773
Thanks for the link, java up and running
iHenning is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 20, 2011, 08:34 AM   #15
RMcMullan
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Your Welcome

Your welcome, anytime!
RMcMullan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 20, 2011, 08:53 AM   #16
ct2k7
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Florida / UK
Note that downloading the Java bundle for the OS is not enough, you actually need the Web Components for Java applets to work in browsers.
ct2k7 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 20, 2011, 10:40 AM   #17
jake4ever
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Ma'on La'oved, Hadera, Israel
Quote:
Originally Posted by RMcMullan View Post
You must be an ADC Member, but this will get you Java for 10.7. I am an ADC Member and now Java works.

http://connect.apple.com/cgi-bin/Web...bundleID=20773
Thank you! It works!

...very buggy though.
jake4ever is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2011, 08:26 AM   #18
lionkeng
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
try this: http://iheartapple.org/2011/07/singpass-osx-lion/
lionkeng is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 7, 2012, 08:24 AM   #19
rmiller065
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
I fixed mine by...

Applications -> Utilities folder -> Java Preferences App -> (checked box) Enable applet plug-in and Web Start applications
__________________
13" MacBook Pro Retina Display 512GB 2.8GHz i7 8GB, iMac 21.5-inch 3.2GHz i3 1TB, iPhone 5s 32GB Silver, iPad Mini 32GB, iPad2 16GB, Apple TV 3rd Gen 1080p HD, Time Capsule - 1 TB
rmiller065 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 1, 2013, 09:44 AM   #20
cozo
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
The following has worked for us.

sudo /usr/libexec/PlistBuddy -c "Delete :JavaWebComponentVersionMinimum"
/System/Library/CoreServices/CoreTypes.bundle/Contents/Resources/XProtect.meta.plist
cozo is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > Mac OS X 10.7 Lion

Tags
apple, java, lion, mac osx lion, not working

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Resolved: YouTube not working on Safari? deannnnn OS X 40 Dec 5, 2013 03:25 PM
Youtube not working in Safari? Hyde244 Mac Applications and Mac App Store 12 Nov 16, 2011 11:12 PM
dictionary shortcut and preview NOT working on lion jca488 Mac OS X 10.7 Lion 10 Aug 31, 2011 10:30 AM
Jtrack Java Applet not working fully in Safari or Firefox nintyuser Mac Applications and Mac App Store 0 Jun 4, 2008 01:07 AM
Why does MS Color Control Panelt Applet not work on my MBP Bootcamp XP? rogerh MacBook Pro 0 Sep 23, 2007 12:30 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:25 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC