Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Mac and PC Games

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 1, 2013, 09:55 AM   #1
ugr
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
How to play GTA 4 on Mac?

Sorry about my last post about this game. How do i play this gta 4 on my mac WITHOUT USING PIRATED SOFTWARE SUCH AS TORRENTS?!
__________________
Make sure to come to my website, ultimategamereviewer.webs.com! We review Wii, DS, 3DS,PC,Mac and PS3 games!
ugr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 1, 2013, 10:54 AM   #2
imacken
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Bootcamp or a Parallels VM.
__________________
iMac i7 3.4GHz 27" 17" MBP iPad Air 32Gb Wi-Fi iPhone 5 32Gb Apple TV 2
Time Capsule 1Tb Airport Express
imacken is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 1, 2013, 12:34 PM   #3
doh123
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
what does pirated software have to do with anything? You can install Windows in a dual boot (aka Bootcamp) and just use Windows... might work ok in Windows in a VM too. I think GTA4 works ok with Wine (like Wineskin or Crossover) as well too, so you wouldn't need Windows.
doh123 is online now   1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 1, 2013, 02:26 PM   #4
ugr
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Listen. I don't want to use parallels or vm. I'm asking how to play gta 4 on a mac without using parallels or vm, alright?
__________________
Make sure to come to my website, ultimategamereviewer.webs.com! We review Wii, DS, 3DS,PC,Mac and PS3 games!
ugr is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 1, 2013, 02:29 PM   #5
imacken
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
No idea why you are being so rude, but Bootcamp or Parallels are your only option.
It might work in a wrapper, but the 2 options above are really it. End of story.
__________________
iMac i7 3.4GHz 27" 17" MBP iPad Air 32Gb Wi-Fi iPhone 5 32Gb Apple TV 2
Time Capsule 1Tb Airport Express
imacken is offline   5 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 1, 2013, 04:08 PM   #6
Sirobin
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: California
Send a message via AIM to Sirobin
Quote:
Originally Posted by ugr View Post
Listen. I don't want to use parallels or vm. I'm asking how to play gta 4 on a mac without using parallels or vm, alright?
Then maybe you should have said that to begin with?
__________________
Mac Pro, 2.66 Hexacore, 20 GB RAM, 680, 256GB SSD
MBP, 2.5 Ghz, 4 GB RAM, HD 4000
iPhone 5 32 GB (Black)
Sirobin is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 1, 2013, 04:10 PM   #7
cluthz
macrumors 68040
 
cluthz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Norway
Send a message via MSN to cluthz
Wineskin.
It's free and legal.
or Crossover, which is not free, but also legal.

There is also Cider (which the GTA 3, Sims 3, Guild Wars2, Dragon Age games are using), which is a commercial branch of wine, which is not in sale, but depending on where in the world you live it is possible to use those games framework to run GTA 4 legal, if you own the games of course.

In all cases, you will need to buy the PC version of GTA 4.
__________________
-tb
MacBook Air 13" i5 osx10.7.5
HackPro 4.3GHz, 16GB RAM, GTX780GHz Edition, 3x SSD , win7+osx10.9.2
cluthz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2013, 12:14 PM   #8
koolmagicguy
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: New York
Quote:
Originally Posted by imacken View Post
No idea why you are being so rude, but Bootcamp or Parallels are your only option.
It might work in a wrapper, but the 2 options above are really it. End of story.
It's probably her time of the month.
But I agree with your solutions. Although Windows 7 runs perfectly on my MacBook Pro and I don't like running virtualization software.
koolmagicguy is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 6, 2013, 05:50 PM   #9
Lark.Landon
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: So Cal
Quote:
Originally Posted by ugr View Post
Listen. I don't want to use parallels or vm. I'm asking how to play gta 4 on a mac without using parallels or vm, alright?
Yeah chill out if you're asking for help.
Lark.Landon is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 7, 2013, 08:41 AM   #10
ScholarsInk
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
GTA IV is really terribly optimized to begin with, and barely functional on even high-end PCs, so to further cripple it through virtualization or portion sounds like a very bad idea.
ScholarsInk is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 14, 2013, 03:36 AM   #11
OSXAppleMan
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by doh123 View Post
what does pirated software have to do with anything? You can install Windows in a dual boot (aka Bootcamp) and just use Windows... might work ok in Windows in a VM too. I think GTA4 works ok with Wine (like Wineskin or Crossover) as well too, so you wouldn't need Windows.
Unfortunately guys, I think it wants you to install Direct X which Mac's cannot do. And only if you got a Windows CD you might be in luck.

Thank You,
OSXMacMan
OSXAppleMan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 14, 2013, 06:56 AM   #12
BornAgainMac
macrumors 601
 
BornAgainMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Florida Resident
GTA 4 is what Crysis use to be. I think the new high-end iMac with the Nvidia 680MX will run it best. You can try that in a VM. Crysis eventually was playable in a VM as hardware got more powerful.
BornAgainMac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 14, 2013, 07:40 AM   #13
cluthz
macrumors 68040
 
cluthz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Norway
Send a message via MSN to cluthz
Quote:
Originally Posted by OSXAppleMan View Post
Unfortunately guys, I think it wants you to install Direct X which Mac's cannot do. And only if you got a Windows CD you might be in luck.

Thank You,
OSXMacMan
Yes, you can in wine and crossover.

Quote:
GTA 4 is what Crysis use to be. I think the new high-end iMac with the Nvidia 680MX will run it best. You can try that in a VM. Crysis eventually was playable in a VM as hardware got more powerful.
Not really, Crysis was a technical pretty good game. GTA4 was released not long after and it is pretty much the worst PC port ever made. Even new high end rigs does have problems with, just because it's buggy.
Even with a may times faster machine than recommended specs lists, i do get frame drops from time to time in windows 7.
__________________
-tb
MacBook Air 13" i5 osx10.7.5
HackPro 4.3GHz, 16GB RAM, GTX780GHz Edition, 3x SSD , win7+osx10.9.2
cluthz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 27, 2013, 05:26 AM   #14
benlinus121
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Mac

My Mac is too old/underpowered so I'm not going to even try, but I'll point out that Boot Camp is another option that requires no additional software (besides Windows), as it simply partitions the hard drive allowing you to install Windows on the other partition and provides a way to select the boot partition at startup.

Programs like Parallels will have a performance penalty because Mac OS X is still running too, but Boot Camp lets you run just Windows, so GTA IV should be as good as on a PC with the same hardware specs as the Mac.
benlinus121 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 11, 2013, 12:18 PM   #15
Boogsephine
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Charlotte, NC
Quote:
Originally Posted by cluthz View Post
Not really, Crysis was a technical pretty good game. GTA4 was released not long after and it is pretty much the worst PC port ever made. Even new high end rigs does have problems with, just because it's buggy.
Even with a may times faster machine than recommended specs lists, i do get frame drops from time to time in windows 7.
Is the port from Windows to Mac just a bad port? I was able to get the GTA IV installed on my iMac and everything looks great until the gameplay actually starts. It's beyond choppy and I can't even play the game due to the lag. I'm not too concerned about it but it would be nice to play that game on my iMac when I'm bored. :P

I have an i7 Intel iMac, 16GB RAM and ATI Radeon HD 5750 1024 MB. I downloaded Wineskin but am still a bit confused on how to use it or know what it's actually doing.
__________________
27" iMac, 2.93GHz i7, 16GB of RAM, 1TB HD 15" MacBook Pro, 2.4 GHz i7, 8GB RAM, 750GB HD 8GB iPod Nano iPhone 5 (T-Mobile) Apple TV2 AirPort Extreme
Boogsephine is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 11, 2013, 04:01 PM   #16
saturnotaku
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boogsephine View Post
Is the port from Windows to Mac just a bad port?
No, the port from console to Windows was bad. Trying to run a bad port via emulation is even worse.
__________________
MacBook Pro 15 (Late 2011)
Core i7 2860QM | 16 GB RAM | AMD Radeon 6770M | 1 TB Samsung 840 EVO SSD | Antiglare Display | OS X + Win 7
iPhone 4S (Verizon 64 GB)
saturnotaku is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 11, 2013, 04:45 PM   #17
Boogsephine
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Charlotte, NC
Quote:
Originally Posted by saturnotaku View Post
No, the port from console to Windows was bad. Trying to run a bad port via emulation is even worse.
So there is really no way it'll run well if it's installed via OSX? I wasn't using Parallels or Bootcamp. Just followed the steps on how to install it (simple) but the game play just doesn't work.
__________________
27" iMac, 2.93GHz i7, 16GB of RAM, 1TB HD 15" MacBook Pro, 2.4 GHz i7, 8GB RAM, 750GB HD 8GB iPod Nano iPhone 5 (T-Mobile) Apple TV2 AirPort Extreme
Boogsephine is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 11, 2013, 05:10 PM   #18
Ddyracer
macrumors 68000
 
Ddyracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boogsephine View Post
I wasn't using Parallels or Bootcamp.
What did you use?
Ddyracer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 11, 2013, 07:34 PM   #19
saturnotaku
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boogsephine View Post
So there is really no way it'll run well if it's installed via OSX?
In a word, no.
__________________
MacBook Pro 15 (Late 2011)
Core i7 2860QM | 16 GB RAM | AMD Radeon 6770M | 1 TB Samsung 840 EVO SSD | Antiglare Display | OS X + Win 7
iPhone 4S (Verizon 64 GB)
saturnotaku is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 12, 2013, 12:49 AM   #20
Boogsephine
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Charlotte, NC
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ddyracer View Post
What did you use?
I'm pretty sure it was a boot leg copy of it since I just opened the .dmg file and dragged it into my Apps once it mounted; I was using Mac OS to run it. Graphics looked outstanding until the actual gameplay started. The loading screens were crystal clear and the menus were very crisp.

The file came from a friend so that is why I'm not too concered if it works or not. It'd be nice to have on here but I still have San Andreas from the app store that I haven't played in ages.
__________________
27" iMac, 2.93GHz i7, 16GB of RAM, 1TB HD 15" MacBook Pro, 2.4 GHz i7, 8GB RAM, 750GB HD 8GB iPod Nano iPhone 5 (T-Mobile) Apple TV2 AirPort Extreme
Boogsephine is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 12, 2013, 02:38 AM   #21
Ddyracer
macrumors 68000
 
Ddyracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boogsephine View Post
I'm pretty sure it was a boot leg copy of it since I just opened the .dmg file and dragged it into my Apps once it mounted; I was using Mac OS to run it. Graphics looked outstanding until the actual gameplay started. The loading screens were crystal clear and the menus were very crisp.

The file came from a friend so that is why I'm not too concered if it works or not. It'd be nice to have on here but I still have San Andreas from the app store that I haven't played in ages.
Must have been a cider port.
Ddyracer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 12, 2013, 06:31 AM   #22
keysofanxiety
macrumors 65816
 
keysofanxiety's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: In a house that defies physics by being colder than absolute zero.
Quote:
Originally Posted by ugr View Post
Sorry about my last post about this game. How do i play this gta 4 on my mac WITHOUT USING PIRATED SOFTWARE SUCH AS TORRENTS?!
Like others said, either cider-wrap it or Wineskin it. However doing these means that you lose a lot of performance, if you can even get it working at all.

I know you don't want to BootCamp but it's the best option if you want to run it.

Windows applications don't work on Mac, simple as that. Cider & Wineskin aren't really a solution either, as it takes a lot of patience and time to get it working.
__________________
- "How can anyone do a spoken word version of a rap song?"
- "He found a way ... he found a way."
keysofanxiety is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 12, 2013, 09:49 AM   #23
BornAgainMac
macrumors 601
 
BornAgainMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Florida Resident
GTA 4 looks like a dinosaur compared to GTA 5. I wish it could run native on the Mac.
BornAgainMac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 11, 2013, 11:02 AM   #24
BornAgainPPC
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
The reason people say to get the download from the pirate bay is because people have made their own version for Mac because GTA IV was never released on Mac and that's the way they chose to share it. Just because it is on the pirate bay does not mean is a illegal file.
BornAgainPPC is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 11, 2013, 11:05 AM   #25
imacken
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by BornAgainPPC View Post
The reason people say to get the download from the pirate bay is because people have made their own version for Mac because GTA IV was never released on Mac and that's the way they chose to share it. Just because it is on the pirate bay does not mean is a illegal file.
They 'made their own version for Mac'? With Rockstar's permission?
I don't think so.
Of course it's illegal!
__________________
iMac i7 3.4GHz 27" 17" MBP iPad Air 32Gb Wi-Fi iPhone 5 32Gb Apple TV 2
Time Capsule 1Tb Airport Express
imacken is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Mac and PC Games

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GTA 3 or GTA 3 Vice City zoliky iPad Apps 2 Sep 4, 2013 04:29 AM
OS X: Using Wineskin to play GTA IV Bobjoefredsky Mac and PC Games 12 Jul 29, 2013 01:41 PM
OS X: How to play GTA 4 for Mac ugr Mac and PC Games 1 Feb 4, 2013 10:09 AM
Help please ! GTA IV mods (people who play GTA IV will be able to answer this.) Shahidkapoor Mac and PC Games 2 Aug 8, 2012 02:14 PM
Can the 2011 Mini Play Games Like GTA: San Andreas? Lynn Belvedere Mac mini 6 Aug 4, 2012 07:38 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:57 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC