Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 31, 2013, 07:20 PM   #1
redsoxfan320
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Sprint iPhone on ATT? Still Not Possible?

Is it still not possible to use a Sprint iPhone on AT&T assuming that you can unlock the device? I know that I've read a while ago that it wasn't but I am just checking again.

Thanks.
redsoxfan320 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2013, 07:22 PM   #2
Nathan21585
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Central Florida
They run on different networks. So no it will never be possible.
__________________
2012 MacBook Pro "Core i5" 2.5 13" 8GB Ram 500 GB Hard Drive iPhone 5 16gb Black Apple TV 3
Nathan21585 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2013, 07:24 PM   #3
redsoxfan320
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nathan21585 View Post
They run on different networks. So no it will never be possible.
Well I understand that, but does that mean the sim card slot on Sprint and Verizon iPhone for that matter are dead?
redsoxfan320 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2013, 07:32 PM   #4
AutoUnion39
In Time-Out
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
I think sprint blocks it, unlike Verizon.
AutoUnion39 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2013, 07:35 PM   #5
C DM
macrumors 604
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
If the device is unlocked (essentially its GSM side) then it would be possible to run it on essentially any GSM network that the phone supports (you won't get LTE though on those networks as the bands/frequencies they use won't be supported by the phone).
C DM is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2013, 07:35 PM   #6
Baggio
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by redsoxfan320 View Post
Well I understand that, but does that mean the sim card slot on Sprint and Verizon iPhone for that matter are dead?
If you you talking about the iPhone 5:

Verizon's SIM card slot is unlocked for use on any GSM network. It will only get HSPA+ on AT&T. It has different LTE bands than AT&T.

Sprint's SIM card slot is locked. Sprint will unlock it, but it will only work on GSM networks outside of the US. So, it won't work on AT&T.
Baggio is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2013, 07:48 PM   #7
redsoxfan320
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Baggio View Post
If you you talking about the iPhone 5:

Verizon's SIM card slot is unlocked for use on any GSM network. It will only get HSPA+ on AT&T. It has different LTE bands than AT&T.

Sprint's SIM card slot is locked. Sprint will unlock it, but it will only work on GSM networks outside of the US. So, it won't work on AT&T.
So an iPhone 5 from Verizon will work on ATT just no LTE. What about an iPhone 4S?

Thanks
redsoxfan320 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2013, 07:55 PM   #8
Baggio
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by redsoxfan320 View Post
So an iPhone 5 from Verizon will work on ATT just no LTE. What about an iPhone 4S?

Thanks
I am not 100% sure about the 4S. I think it is similar to the Sprint iPhone 5, in that Verizon can unlock it, but it can only be used on GSM networks outside of the US.

If you need an AT&T phone, buy an AT&T phone. Not sure why anyone would buy a Verizon phone for AT&T unless you are from a European country and only plan to be in the US for a short time and want the iPhone 5 for LTE coverage in Europe.
Baggio is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 2, 2013, 07:51 AM   #9
Chupa Chupa
macrumors G3
 
Chupa Chupa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by C DM View Post
If the device is unlocked (essentially its GSM side) then it would be possible to run it on essentially any GSM network that the phone supports (you won't get LTE though on those networks as the bands/frequencies they use won't be supported by the phone).
Yes, but VZW and Sprint are CDMA, so doesn't help OP. T-Mob is the only other GSM provider in the US, but it's 3G data is not compatible w/ ATT, only voice. You can still get 2G on an unlocked ATT iPhone w/ Tmob, but 2G! Yikes.
__________________
Walled Garden ≠ Prison:
"People who use Apple products considered their options, and chose Apple. If they regret their decision, they can dump it at any time." -- Harry McCracken, Technologizer.com
Chupa Chupa is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 2, 2013, 08:06 AM   #10
scaredpoet
macrumors 601
 
scaredpoet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by redsoxfan320 View Post
So an iPhone 5 from Verizon will work on ATT just no LTE. What about an iPhone 4S?

Thanks
The iPhone 4S is a different matter. At the time the 4S came out, Verizon wasn't actively trying to play nice with the government on net neutrality rules and spectrum issues. So they will only unlock the 4S for GSM carriers outside of the US.

Short answer: No, the 4S won't work on AT&T because Verizon treats the two phones differently.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chupa Chupa View Post
Yes, but VZW and Sprint are CDMA,
In this case that doesn't matter. While those networks are CDMA, the iPhone 5 that Sprint/Verizon are selling can technically operate on both GSM and CDMA 3G networks. Sprint locks theirs for GSM, Verizon doesn't.

If you don't believe me, see for yourself:

http://www.macrumors.com/2012/09/21/...m-3g-networks/


Quote:
T-Mob is the only other GSM provider in the US, but it's 3G data is not compatible w/ ATT, only voice.
I don't mean to sound rude, but in this case, I don't think you really understand what you're talking about here.

T-Mobile's network is a GSM/HSPA+ network, just like AT&T. If you put an AT&T iPhone on a T-Mobile network, voice will work fine. Data will also work, but in some areas the 3G network operates on different frequencies than the iPhone is equipped to listen for. They're working to change that, though, and over about 95% of their network, T-Mobile 3G is already working fine on iPhones.

http://www.phonearena.com/news/T-Mob...-Sandy_id36196

Other than the spectrum issue, which T-Mobile is working to mitigate, the 3G technology they and AT&T use are exactly the same.
__________________
If you're not a clairvoyant, then you shouldn't be speaking for a dead guy.
I'm here to talk about Apple stuff, and related tech stuff. Your political beliefs? I really couldn't care less about.

Last edited by scaredpoet; Feb 2, 2013 at 08:12 AM.
scaredpoet is offline   1 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:09 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC