Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 1, 2013, 01:33 PM   #1
Navare
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Stoke on Trent
G4 Digital Audio graphics upgrade?

Hello folks

Ideas please?..I want to upgrade my standard 32mb graphics card to something better (not hyper sonically fast) just a marked smoother upgrade to handle output to my Sony LCD TV basically upgrading it to a media server

Thanks in advance

N.
Navare is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 1, 2013, 01:48 PM   #2
Zotaccian
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
If you can flash a PC card then you have lots of options. Probably the most popular upgrade is Radeon 9800 which you however need to tape mod to force it to AGP4X speed. Radeon 9800 is a serious overkill in performance, meaning that no Digital Audio G4 can take full benefit of its performance.

I had Digital audio machine once and upgraded the graphics card to Radeon 8500, it was easy upgrade, just change bios and plug it in. The most difficult thing in some cases is to find right type of card since for some cards there are several different layouts, versions, of the card and not all versions have Mac bios available. For example Radeon 9800 is available with many different layouts.

This is a good place to start, it also contains bios files and tools:

http://themacelite.wikidot.com/
Zotaccian is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 1, 2013, 01:51 PM   #3
G4Simon
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Leeds UK
cheapest way is to buy a PC card and flash it, this website has all the details

http://themacelite.wikidot.com/compatibility

Ive got the ATI 32mb 7500 in my G4 and it was redrawing real slow until I enabled all the ATI extensions in extension manager in os9

which card you choose depends on the OS u use
G4Simon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 1, 2013, 02:04 PM   #4
Navare
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Stoke on Trent
Hmm

I don't have the ability to flash only having a windows laptop as a second machine....but I'd be willing to exchange beer tokens for someone who could and good Karma of course.....I take it once this is done any of the recommended cards will handle the output to the TV? In a nutshell I want to ditch the laptop and use the G4 as a media serve running 720/1080p film files in good scale/speed

Cheers

N.
Navare is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 1, 2013, 02:43 PM   #5
jchase2057
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Detroit
Quote:
Originally Posted by Navare View Post
Hmm

I don't have the ability to flash only having a windows laptop as a second machine....but I'd be willing to exchange beer tokens for someone who could and good Karma of course.....I take it once this is done any of the recommended cards will handle the output to the TV? In a nutshell I want to ditch the laptop and use the G4 as a media serve running 720/1080p film files in good scale/speed

Cheers

N.
HD video and a DA don't really go together well, regardless of the GPU.
__________________
MacBook 1.83 Core Duo
1GB RAM
180GB Intel 530 Series SSD
OS X 10.6.8
jchase2057 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 1, 2013, 07:03 PM   #6
Navare
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Stoke on Trent
Hello again

Would a Radeon 9600 card work I'm my G4 below is what the eBay listing says:

Stock graphics card from a 2005 Dual G5 Powermac, early 2005 - M9747LL/A.

Working well when machine last used, I removed it under antistatic conditions.

Many thanks
Navare is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 1, 2013, 07:04 PM   #7
Intell
macrumors P6
 
Intell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Inside
Not that one. G5 cards will not work in a G4.
__________________
Last edited by Intell; Yesterday at 3:16 AM.
Intell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 1, 2013, 07:26 PM   #8
Navare
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Stoke on Trent
Quote:
Originally Posted by Intell View Post
Not that one. G5 cards will not work in a G4.
Okay thanks Intell my friend....I've just got no way or relatives or friends who can flash a 9800 card for me

Regards

N.
Navare is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 1, 2013, 07:28 PM   #9
Intell
macrumors P6
 
Intell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Inside
You can buy pre-flashed ones online. They're generally a bit more expensive than a regular Windows card of the same model and slightly less than a Mac card of the same model.
__________________
Last edited by Intell; Yesterday at 3:16 AM.
Intell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 1, 2013, 07:32 PM   #10
Navare
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Stoke on Trent
Would you have a link Intell as I can't find any?

Regards

N.
Navare is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 1, 2013, 07:34 PM   #11
Intell
macrumors P6
 
Intell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Inside
This seller is a known good seller of pre-flashed and pre-taped Mac video cards: http://myworld.ebay.com/local338?_trksid=p2047675.l2559
__________________
Last edited by Intell; Yesterday at 3:16 AM.
Intell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 1, 2013, 11:50 PM   #12
Jethryn Freyman
macrumors 68020
 
Jethryn Freyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Australia
I had a 466MHz DA with an ATI Rage Pro 16MB card. It sucked.

I got a G5 with a Radeon 9600 XT 128MB, which became free when I upgraded to my FireGL X3.

Unfortunately due to the different AGP bus speeds, the 9600 wouldn't work in the DA [failed to boot.]

The way to solve this [google it, its around somewhere...] is to put a small piece of tape over the single golden contact [it's very small] that makes the card revert back to AGP 4x that the DA can use and boot fine, work well, with.

It's an amazing upgrade. Everything is smooth on a 23" monitor at 2048x1152. It runs Quake perfectly fast, and even faster with GLQuake [GLQuake wouldn't even start with the old Rage card due to it not supporting much more modern OpenGL features.] Whole OS runs more fluidly.
__________________
michaelanthonyralph.com/wordpress - Late 2011 15" Macbook Pro - 2.4GHz quad - 16GB RAM - Radeon 6770M 1024MB - 1TB - 10.9.4
Jethryn Freyman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 2, 2013, 03:04 AM   #13
ResPublica
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
I flashed a NVidia Geforce 3 Ti 200 with 64MB RAM. It supports Quartz Extreme and works perfectly. No issues with using tape etc. But I am planning to do away with the machines' componenents and use it as ornement in the house.

It really is a great update; the whole system runs smoother because of QE.
__________________
Macbook; Mid 2009; 2,13Ghz C2D; 2,5GB RAM; 120GB SSD; OS X 10.9.
Mac mini G4; Early 2005; 1.25Ghz G4; 1GB RAM; 80GB HD; OS X 10.5.8.
ResPublica is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 2, 2013, 08:58 AM   #14
Navare
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Stoke on Trent
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jethryn Freyman View Post
I had a 466MHz DA with an ATI Rage Pro 16MB card. It sucked.

I got a G5 with a Radeon 9600 XT 128MB, which became free when I upgraded to my FireGL X3.

Unfortunately due to the different AGP bus speeds, the 9600 wouldn't work in the DA [failed to boot.]

The way to solve this [google it, its around somewhere...] is to put a small piece of tape over the single golden contact [it's very small] that makes the card revert back to AGP 4x that the DA can use and boot fine, work well, with.

It's an amazing upgrade. Everything is smooth on a 23" monitor at 2048x1152. It runs Quake perfectly fast, and even faster with GLQuake [GLQuake wouldn't even start with the old Rage card due to it not supporting much more modern OpenGL features.] Whole OS runs more fluidly.
Ah but was this a "Mac version card" to start with or a PC version flashed?...I have no way of flashing a PC Card you see

Regards

N.
Navare is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 2, 2013, 04:14 PM   #15
Jethryn Freyman
macrumors 68020
 
Jethryn Freyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by Navare View Post
Ah but was this a "Mac version card" to start with or a PC version flashed?...I have no way of flashing a PC Card you see

Regards

N.
Yep it was an original Apple-issued 9600, as was the Rage Pro it replaced.

The FireGL in my G5 tower though is a flashed PC card, flashed with Radeon X800 XT/Pro ROM.
__________________
michaelanthonyralph.com/wordpress - Late 2011 15" Macbook Pro - 2.4GHz quad - 16GB RAM - Radeon 6770M 1024MB - 1TB - 10.9.4
Jethryn Freyman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 2, 2013, 04:55 PM   #16
Navare
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Stoke on Trent
Ah okay..

I'm still looking for a flashed card or someone who can sell me one

N.
Navare is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 2, 2013, 05:02 PM   #17
Intell
macrumors P6
 
Intell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Inside
I'm not 100% sure, but I think you can flash Nvidia cards in a PowerMac. You'll have to do it via VNC as you won't have a screen though.
__________________
Last edited by Intell; Yesterday at 3:16 AM.
Intell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 2, 2013, 06:14 PM   #18
ResPublica
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Navare View Post
Ah okay..

I'm still looking for a flashed card or someone who can sell me one

N.
How do you think I could send mine (see previous post) to England? I live in Belgium...
__________________
Macbook; Mid 2009; 2,13Ghz C2D; 2,5GB RAM; 120GB SSD; OS X 10.9.
Mac mini G4; Early 2005; 1.25Ghz G4; 1GB RAM; 80GB HD; OS X 10.5.8.
ResPublica is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 2, 2013, 06:18 PM   #19
Navare
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Stoke on Trent
Quote:
Originally Posted by ResPublica View Post
How do you think I could send mine (see previous post) to England? I live in Belgium...
European mail is always an option....I'd pay via PayPal? What do you want for the card my friend?

N.
Navare is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 3, 2013, 11:45 AM   #20
ResPublica
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Navare View Post
European mail is always an option....I'd pay via PayPal? What do you want for the card my friend?

N.
If you could just pay for the shipment costs, I wouldn't need a lot more. Something like 10 (+/- €11). I'd just be happy to get rid of it so I can use the computer case as a bedside table or something similar. It's the only part of the computer that's rather exceptional.

So feel free to send me a PM.

btw: It only has VGA (not ADC or DVI). It has always worked flawlessly with OS X and QE, but it doesn't work with Mac OS 9.1 (that a non-issue really because you can easily upgrade the installation to 9.2).
__________________
Macbook; Mid 2009; 2,13Ghz C2D; 2,5GB RAM; 120GB SSD; OS X 10.9.
Mac mini G4; Early 2005; 1.25Ghz G4; 1GB RAM; 80GB HD; OS X 10.5.8.
ResPublica is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Power Mac G4 (Digital Audio) CPU upgrade Navare PowerPC Macs 23 Feb 2, 2013 09:03 AM
To upgrade the graphics on the new 27" iMac or not to upgrade? wehokev iMac 23 Dec 1, 2012 10:16 AM
Using Apogee digital I/O card for non-Audio digital I/O flutillie Mac Programming 30 Oct 20, 2012 12:08 PM
Digital audio? Afbar1114 MacBook Pro 1 Sep 8, 2012 06:16 PM
Digital audio upgrade Zeke D PowerPC Macs 15 Aug 17, 2012 11:57 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:44 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC