Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Digital Audio

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 3, 2013, 11:38 AM   #1
fastlanephil
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Buying a Cheap PC DAW Slave Question

What's the best route for acquiring a cheap PC box for use as a DAW slave. I see cheap ones online but I want at least three 3.5 HD bays, a reliable power supply and it needs to be quiet. Quiet is very important but just minimum onboard graphics.

Should I drive to a FRYS and have a sales person help me with choosing the components?

Maybe have a shop construct one if they are competitive with costs?

Find a PC geek that will tell me what component to order?

Any thought on this?
fastlanephil is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 3, 2013, 01:08 PM   #2
spoonie1972
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Toronto
i did this for awhile running a hackintosh - worked great until i needed more cpu (of course, now those amazing i7 chips are out now, cheap by comparison!)

i'm with you on the noise though - i could not get the thing quiet. it's possible if you deal with the expensive specialty fans, but otherwise - since it's a slave and all - why not just have it in another room and screenshare/vlc it?
__________________
2012 MPB 15, 16GB, 512SSD, Geek 11941 - Logic Audio
2009 Mac Pro, 64GB, 5,1 Firmware, X5570 swap x2, EVGA GTX570, VEP5, Kontakt, and AE
spoonie1972 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 3, 2013, 08:04 PM   #3
fastlanephil
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
I've researched this and it look like if you want t cheap PC it will be noisy.

There's a room next to me but I gave it to my lady friend use it for her own space but she's not in there much.

I also have a high crawl space under the house. Maybe I could stick it down there if it's legal.
fastlanephil is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2013, 08:44 AM   #4
spoonie1972
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Toronto
http://www.quietpc.ca/

that might help.

i have my mac pro in another room - the only time i access it is when i'm tweaking a vep5 template. as quiet as they are, i'm happy to never hear it.

i'm curious about your crawl space having a legal issue?
__________________
2012 MPB 15, 16GB, 512SSD, Geek 11941 - Logic Audio
2009 Mac Pro, 64GB, 5,1 Firmware, X5570 swap x2, EVGA GTX570, VEP5, Kontakt, and AE
spoonie1972 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2013, 03:15 PM   #5
fastlanephil
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Quote:
i'm curious about your crawl space having a legal issue?
I probably could have a PC down there. I have seen houses with furnaces in their crawl space.

The issue might be installing an electrical outlet that would be code or just running an electrical cord down there. I do have a dead 220 volt line down there which I had put in during construction for a hot tube option. I think I could have an electrician install an outlet with a 220 to 110 converter and after running the cat cable down there and something stable to set the PC on with lighting, I would be good to go. With the moister barrier it seems to be dry and never very warm or very cold.
fastlanephil is online now   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Digital Audio

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:31 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC