Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 31, 2013, 10:28 AM   #1
zoby
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Win 8 and 7 in external hhd

Helo every one

as i said in the title i'v RMB and you know there is no optical drive

so how can i put win 8 and 7 in external hhd and boot them with bootcamp or parallels??
zoby is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2013, 11:15 AM   #2
ScholarsInk
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
You could do that with virtualization but Boot Camp works (normally) on the boot volume.
ScholarsInk is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2013, 11:34 AM   #3
zoby
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
can you explain please cause i'm new in mac world
zoby is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 1, 2013, 06:20 AM   #4
zoby
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
look man to fully understand what i need is

install win 8 and 7 via bootcamp in exteranl hdd to use them with parallels in Coherence mode
zoby is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 2, 2013, 04:50 PM   #5
zoby
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
no one to help
zoby is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 3, 2013, 10:13 PM   #6
Stan Mikulenka
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Calgary, Canada
Hi zoby,
generally, you can't install via Bootcamp on any external...
Stan Mikulenka is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2013, 12:52 AM   #7
zoby
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
thanks man
zoby is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2013, 08:33 AM   #8
BleepToBleep
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
You can however install Windows on an external drive, but without using bootcamp (read the other topics on that subject). And I don't think you'll have the ability to use Parallels in Coherence mode, but I did not try it.
BleepToBleep is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2013, 06:10 PM   #9
zoby
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
yes by using parallels i can install windows in external put as a virtual

thans for the replay man

Last edited by zoby; Feb 5, 2013 at 01:20 AM.
zoby is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:59 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC