missing "find my mac" in iCloud? - MacRumors Forums
Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > iCloud and Apple Services

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 13, 2011, 10:39 AM   #1
ekimeel
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
missing "find my mac" in iCloud?

I have somehow different problem than those talked about earlier in this forum and apple's discussion group.
I installed 10.7.2 (combo)/recovery HD update/iCloud etc. and I can enable find my mac in my mac.
But when I login into iCloud on the same machine, I cannot find my device.
There is no error message, it just not showing up
anyone else have the same problem?
I already did the disk utility check and permission etc.
still no luck
is it because iCloud is currently too busy?
ekimeel is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 13, 2011, 11:10 AM   #2
Music8Guyz
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Midwest
I'm having the same issue. I went through the steps to enable it, and successfully enabled Find My Mac in the preference pane, however, once I navigate to iCloud, my laptop doesn't show up in the list at all.

Running an admin account, location services on, guest account is active.

Not sure what else to do yet.
__________________
15" 2.16Ghz Macbook Pro C2D
32 GB iPhone 4
Music8Guyz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 13, 2011, 11:13 AM   #3
ekimeel
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
I can see you have the same macbook pro ask I have, C2D 15 inch
Maybe hardware is not supported?
since we did not get the airdrop also
ekimeel is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 13, 2011, 11:25 AM   #4
repete7
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Are you connected over wifi or ethernet? It only works over wifi. Sigh.
repete7 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 13, 2011, 11:39 AM   #5
ekimeel
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
yeah, over wifi.
my other Macbook pro march 2011 in the same local network showed up on my iCloud without any problem, so it is not likely due to my account problems
I really begin to think it is a hardware limitation.
ekimeel is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 14, 2011, 09:43 AM   #6
ekimeel
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
went to apple store, they don't know why it does not work.
I reinstall lion, still does not work, anyone else?
ekimeel is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 14, 2011, 10:15 AM   #7
Weaselboy
macrumors G5
 
Weaselboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
I saw mention of this in another thread and did some testing with two machines. Based on my tests on a MBP and an iMac (both with iCloud and FMM on) it appears you cannot locate a machine on FMM from that same machine.

If you go to a second computer or use the iOS FMM app, it will show the machines fine.

I think this is new with 10.7.2.

Maybe Apple blocked it as a security measure.
Weaselboy is offline   -1 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 14, 2011, 01:53 PM   #8
ekimeel
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
actually, you can look at find my mac on the same machine.
I am looking at myself right now.
Also, C2D 15in macbook pro still does not work no matter where I login in iCloud....this is even I reinstall lion and all that...nothing
ekimeel is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 14, 2011, 02:12 PM   #9
Weaselboy
macrumors G5
 
Weaselboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by ekimeel View Post
actually, you can look at find my mac on the same machine.

I am looking at myself right now.
Not here. I just double checked from my iMac and here is what I see on FMM at iCloud.com.



I can jump over to the Macbook and it will see the iMac and not itself.

Are you on 10.7.2? Maybe newer machines like mine have this features and older machines do not, but the behavior I described is consistent and repeatable for me.
Weaselboy is offline   -1 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 14, 2011, 03:46 PM   #10
ekimeel
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
on my 2011 macbook pro, I can see myself, but not the C2D macbook pro.

both machine on 10.7.2 with everything updated.
there is no disk nor permission problem on both of them
ekimeel is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 14, 2011, 03:52 PM   #11
Weaselboy
macrumors G5
 
Weaselboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by ekimeel View Post
on my 2011 macbook pro, I can see myself, but not the C2D macbook pro.

both machine on 10.7.2 with everything updated.
there is no disk nor permission problem on both of them
Odd. I have Filevault 2 turned on with both machines. I wonder if that makes a difference.
Weaselboy is offline   -1 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 14, 2011, 04:03 PM   #12
ekimeel
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
I did not have file vault turn on either of the machine...I took to apple store again, they just told me to give some time for iCloud...but why would my iCloud account only work on one but not the other machine?
ekimeel is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 17, 2011, 10:48 AM   #13
Arkillion
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Denver, CO
Send a message via AIM to Arkillion Send a message via Yahoo to Arkillion
I just wanted to add that I also can not find my C2D 15" MBP 2.16Ghz. My ipod touch, ipad and mac pro all show up no matter what device/computer I am on, but my MBP is not even listed. Seems like an issue with that specific model.
__________________
2.16GHz 15" MBP
8x2.8 GHz MP
Arkillion is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 17, 2011, 06:08 PM   #14
ekimeel
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
I went to Apple store again, and the genius is blaming this on iCloud again...
ekimeel is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 17, 2011, 11:17 PM   #15
Music8Guyz
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Midwest
Quote:
Originally Posted by ekimeel View Post
I went to Apple store again, and the genius is blaming this on iCloud again...
Completely bogus if you ask me. I tried reformatting as well, to no avail.
__________________
15" 2.16Ghz Macbook Pro C2D
32 GB iPhone 4
Music8Guyz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 18, 2011, 01:21 PM   #16
drlunanerd
macrumors 65816
 
drlunanerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arkillion View Post
I just wanted to add that I also can not find my C2D 15" MBP 2.16Ghz. My ipod touch, ipad and mac pro all show up no matter what device/computer I am on, but my MBP is not even listed. Seems like an issue with that specific model.
Me too - same MBP model.
drlunanerd is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 18, 2011, 01:30 PM   #17
Senseotech
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Wilkesboro, NC
Send a message via Skype™ to Senseotech
Exact same MBP model, exact same problem. Its enabled and looks like its fine, but its not listed on the site on any computer, or in the iOS apps either.
Senseotech is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 18, 2011, 11:34 PM   #18
Music8Guyz
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Midwest
Does anybody know if an associated device should show up regardless of if it's been located recently?

i.e. You have just enabled a device in iCloud, turn off that device, and attempt to locate it via iPhone. Would it show up in the list as a device associated with your iCloud account that has "Never Been Located" ?

Also, for what it's worth, I've made posts in the apple support community for a day or two with no real solution presented. I just sent an email to Tim Cook, since between all of our messages and one persons discussions with Apple employees blaming it on iCloud growing pains we have not been able to make any significant headway.

Perhaps I'll get a response in a few days, until then I suppose I'll keep looking for answers and trying to figure it out.
__________________
15" 2.16Ghz Macbook Pro C2D
32 GB iPhone 4
Music8Guyz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2011, 04:54 AM   #19
generator
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Some model (2,33ghz) same problem. My other devices (including my iMac) are showing up just fine. My MacBook is just missing in the list.

Are older models not supported?
generator is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2011, 09:51 AM   #20
Weaselboy
macrumors G5
 
Weaselboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by Music8Guyz View Post
Does anybody know if an associated device should show up regardless of if it's been located recently?

i.e. You have just enabled a device in iCloud, turn off that device, and attempt to locate it via iPhone. Would it show up in the list as a device associated with your iCloud account that has "Never Been Located" ?
It would show up as inactive and it says "last located 15 minutes ago" (for example) and the last known location.
Weaselboy is offline   -1 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2011, 12:48 PM   #21
ekimeel
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
I gave up, I think this is because older device is not supported...it is like we don't get airdrop. Anyone here know how to send this info to apple to see if they will make a update or something?
ekimeel is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2011, 12:50 PM   #22
Senseotech
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Wilkesboro, NC
Send a message via Skype™ to Senseotech
Quote:
Originally Posted by ekimeel View Post
I gave up, I think this is because older device is not supported...it is like we don't get airdrop. Anyone here know how to send this info to apple to see if they will make a update or something?
I'm going to get into contact with some people with similarly aged, but non MBP machines to see if they have it working. Personally, I find it more than a coincidence that we all appear to have the same-gen MBP and are having issues; if it was an older hardware problem, we'd be likely to see people with MacBooks, iMacs, and such that were of the same "era" and were having trouble.
Senseotech is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 11, 2011, 02:31 PM   #23
smudgersmiffy
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
I Have exactly the same problem.

2.16ghz MBP too.

Have got the same settings as my iMac, and that works fine.

Seems it's an issue with the model.
smudgersmiffy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 19, 2012, 05:29 PM   #24
drlunanerd
macrumors 65816
 
drlunanerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: UK
Looks like this bug has now been fixed on old MacBook Pros - Find My Mac is fully working today as of the 10.7.5 update
drlunanerd is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2013, 09:49 AM   #25
mstriker
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
I had the same problem. My iMac was showing off-line while it is not, I have no problem connecting to the internet. By the way, I am conected via ethernet. Well, I tried to "play sound" on it. it happened about 7-10mins later after I'd logged into my "find my device". Then my iMac showed up as located. Just give it some time I suppose? It should work.

p.s. Now I have to find out why ny contacts are not syncing over the iCloud. I have more contacts on my iPhone than on the iCloud. Notes are syncing properly though. Maybe should wait a bit longer as well.
mstriker is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > iCloud and Apple Services

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Defecting from Windows to Mac, but can't find a Mac "desktop" computer? arrowtree Mac Pro 34 Dec 4, 2013 06:14 PM
Transferring iCloud Contacts with Groups to "On My Mac" NY.Entrepreneur iCloud and Apple Services 0 Oct 30, 2013 12:07 PM
"Find My iPhone" for Enterprise? What am I missing... MattG iPhone 8 Aug 5, 2013 04:59 PM
"Find my iPhone" for other iCloud devices MrMister111 iPhone 14 Jan 1, 2013 07:14 PM
DP4 missing "download speed", how to reenable? Also "Activity" too kocoman OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 0 Jun 14, 2012 08:29 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:17 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC