Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone > iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 20, 2008, 05:33 PM   #1
truz
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Florida
Send a message via AIM to truz
VNC Setup for remote access

I'm trying to setup the VNC app to remotely access my macbook pro when I'm away from home.

I can get VNC working when I'm connected to my wireless network and connecting to 192.168.1.100. But when it comes to using the IP address and trying to access my computer it does not work. Any ideas?

FYI I did forward the port via wireless router. However, I setup the port range for both RDC and VNC ports (3389 and 5900) I also enabled it and used both .2 and .100 for IP address. Can't seem to get a connected using either one.
truz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 7, 2009, 12:10 PM   #2
Christos
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: NY
?

same problem. Get a solution yet? Let me know. Thanks, Chris
Christos is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2013, 02:11 AM   #3
dictoresno
macrumors 68020
 
dictoresno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: NJ
i personally just use TeamViewer. its free and works perfectly.
__________________
Verizon iPhone 5S 32GB Space Grey
iPad Mini 16GB Black, iPad 1 32 GB Black
iPod Touch 4th Generation 64GB Black
Apple TV 3rd Generation, Apple AirPort Express 2nd Generation
dictoresno is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2013, 10:38 AM   #4
r&r
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
You could also set up a dynamic dns on a hosting website and then have your mac update every 30 minutes. Works well except for mac being kicked off of wifi every time the connection occurs (hardwired works fine). Let me know if this helps and check out freedns.afraid.org
r&r is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone > iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How would I set a static ip for remote access if I don't have access to the router? pruppert OS X Mavericks (10.9) 8 Feb 5, 2014 06:05 PM
Best VNC/Remote Desktop App? That-Guy iPad Apps 8 Dec 16, 2013 10:52 PM
Show remote cursor over VNC/Remote Assistance? peanutismint OS X 0 Sep 15, 2013 04:13 PM
How do I setup TimeCapsule up for remote access through the internet. igammp1 Mac Peripherals 1 Aug 7, 2013 07:28 AM
Remote Access setup jlwilsonjr MacBook Pro 0 Apr 24, 2013 08:34 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:10 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC