Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 4, 2013, 07:18 AM   #1
dthomas31uk
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Restore applications to my new Macbook

Hi. Recently broke my macbook pro. My mac dealer has saved all applications, data etc on an external hard drive.

Have now purchased a new Macbook and have managed to transfer documents etc, but how do I transfer my applications?

Please help.

Regards

Darren
dthomas31uk is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2013, 07:24 AM   #2
simsaladimbamba
macrumors Core
 
simsaladimbamba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
You use the Migration or Setup Assistant:

Migration Assistant / Setup Assistant information:
Setting-up a new Mac from an old one, its Backups, or a PC
which includes:more information: Apple OSX and Time Machine Tips
__________________
living on the moderately profane edge
simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2013, 08:08 AM   #3
1934hotrod
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Woodstock
Not sure Migration Assistant will work from an external HD, as I understand the operation it is for computer too computer, the first step is to boot from a target (meaning old machine) and then migrate from there. Try to drag and drop the app on your new machine, launch it and see if it will work, only try with one to get the feel.

Are these Apple apps or stuff added custom, if custom just reload the software from the source media?


Greg
1934hotrod is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2013, 10:52 AM   #4
Weaselboy
macrumors G4
 
Weaselboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1934hotrod View Post
Not sure Migration Assistant will work from an external HD, as I understand the operation it is for computer too computer, the first step is to boot from a target (meaning old machine) and then migrate from there. Try to drag and drop the app on your new machine, launch it and see if it will work, only try with one to get the feel.

Are these Apple apps or stuff added custom, if custom just reload the software from the source media?


Greg
It will work from an external if the external contains either a Time Machine backup or a clone of the disk. Not clear if the OP has that though.
Weaselboy is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:02 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC