Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > Mac OS X 10.7 Lion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 23, 2013, 12:46 PM   #401
Heycompman
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Sarasota FL
Thank you all for such a helpful amount of information and guidance. Thanks to you, I've been able to install Snow Leopard into P-8, under Mountain Lion.

My goal is to run AppleWorks from the Mountain Lion environment. Tried Pages, its ok, but just like and am used to AppleWorks.

Previously had SL on bootcamp, but don't like the rebooting. So your solution seems ideal with one remaining unfulfilled desire that I'm clueless about: just like the many times I've installed parallels with Windows guest, I can change how it operates so that I can run a Windows ap from my Mac dock.

So far I'm only able to open a big SL window on my ML desktop. Want no SL window, just the Parallels Ap on my ML dock (which I have) and the AppleWorks Ap on my ML dock.

Please forgive me if you've covered this earlier, I just missed it.

Thank you all again,

David Johnston
Heycompman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 23, 2013, 01:32 PM   #402
MichaelLAX
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
David:

Glad to hear that all went well with your installation of Snow Leopard into Parallels 8 in Mountain Lion. I personally am still with Lion, as I have not seen any need to upgrade for my purposes at this time.

I am also at Parallels 7, since no one has offered me a complimentary upgrade to version 8 for all of my efforts -

Virtualization of Windows is the big cash cow for Parallels, and hence that is where the research and development money is spent by them; not on Mac OS X virtualization. So, consequently, some of the Windows features are not implemented in Mac OS X virtualization.

One of these missing features is Coherence: which allows both the real desktop and the virtualized one to share the same desktop. Also Applications Icons in Dock does not seem to be implemented either.

I just have the Parallels icon in my Dock and click on it when needed. Once Snow Leopard has booted, I then use its Dock to launch the needed application. I few more clicks, but it works!

If you find any shortcuts, be sure to come back and share them with us all!
MichaelLAX is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 23, 2013, 01:58 PM   #403
Heycompman
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Sarasota FL
More Info re Coherence in ML/SL

Additional info -- Am on Parallels V8.018; 27 In iMac late 2009 3.06 Ghz IC2Duo, 4gb, OSX 10.8.2 (12C60).

I've already attempted turning coherence on and off, but Configuration says: "Coherance mode for this operating system has no configurable options."

Were this to all work out, it would be good if:
All of my existing appleworks data files (ones I've been making over the years) should be in the Mountain Lion environment, with none in the Snow Leopard environment, for purposes of Time Machine doing its work while excluding the parallels files.
I were able to (in Mountain Lion) double click an AppleWorks file in my Documents folder, and have the Appleworks program initiate, assuming that a) Parallels is already running but not necessarily b) that Snow Leopard nor c) its Appleworks program is running.
Thanks again

David
Heycompman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 23, 2013, 02:12 PM   #404
Heycompman
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Sarasota FL
re Coherence in ML/SL

Ok, this is where I get to practice acceptance... )

Thinking positively, if the Parallels company says that it does support as an installable guest a genuine Snow Leopard server, and other OSX versions, should I imagine that A) it does offer coherence for those versions, but not this?, or B) Parallels folks are not investing at all in their small Apple-guest business? I did pay genuine greenbacks for their product even though I'm not a conventional user re (gag) Windows.

Thanks,

David
Heycompman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 23, 2013, 04:04 PM   #405
MichaelLAX
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Maybe I am conservative in my approach, but I am so glad that Parallels works with Snow Leopard, that I am able to forgive them for a few sins of omission. That is easy for me to say, however, as I have been a Parallels owner for years since I upgraded to Intel and wanted to use Windows XP concurrently with Mac OS X (instead of just exclusively in Bootcamp).

Since it appears you purchased Parallels exclusively to run Snow Leopard, your approach may differ. Of course, you are already aware that Parallels only "supports" Snow Leopard Server, not the client version.

When I ask questions on the Parallels Support Forum, I generally phrase them in the context of Snow Leopard Server for that reason.

Version 8 added a big plus over version 7; the ability to cut & paste from one environment to the other; so maybe they are working on this issue and if you want to post over on the Parallels forum about Coherence and Apps in Dock updates, please do so. Let us know if they respond.

YES: I always advise keeping data files in your real environment and access them from the virtual environment. You can do this through the Shared Folder in virtual Snow Leopard ("vSL") or use Apple File Sharing, once you know the IP assigned to vSL.

So keep your Appleworks data files in Mountain Lion and access them from Appleworks in vSL.

At this time I know of no "easy" double-click solution on the data file in Mt. Lion to then start Parallels and then Appleworks...
MichaelLAX is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 2013, 06:24 AM   #406
eldes.com
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Sao Carlos-SP, Brazil
 
Worked for me too (Parallels 8 under Mountain Lion), but I did a little different.
  1. First I created a shadow file of the original CDR:

    hdiutil attach SnowLeopard-Original.cdr -shadow


  2. Then I mounted this CDR and did touch the ServerVersion.plist:

    touch '/Volumes/Mac OS X Install DVD/System/Library/CoreServices/ServerVersion.plist'

  3. Finally converted the image to DVD/CD-R master for export, incorporating changes into the shadow:

    hdiutil convert -format UDTO -o SnowLeopard-Server.cdr SnowLeopard-Original.cdr -shadow
eldes.com is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 2013, 10:28 AM   #407
MichaelLAX
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Thank you for this alternative method for Mountain Lion!

What PowerPC apps do you run in vSL?
MichaelLAX is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 28, 2013, 09:20 PM   #408
gilby101
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Tasmania
Quote:
Originally Posted by eldes.com View Post
Worked for me too (Parallels 8 under Mountain Lion), but I did a little different.
  1. First I created a shadow file of the original CDR:.......
Aesthetically, I find this neater than my spare image method. I shall use a shadow file if/when I need to create a new SL virtual machine.
gilby101 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 28, 2013, 10:30 PM   #409
MichaelLAX
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Still not having Mountain Lion personally, THANK YOU both for continuing to provide a better solution to STEP ONE for Mountain Lion users.

Is linking new Mountain Lion users to Post 407 enough to have them complete all of STEP ONE?
MichaelLAX is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 28, 2013, 11:56 PM   #410
gilby101
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Tasmania
Quote:
Originally Posted by MichaelLAX View Post
Is linking new Mountain Lion users to Post 407 enough to have them complete all of STEP ONE?
Almost, but not quite. With the new method (407) the change is from STEP ONE - POINT 4 onwards. Let me rework both our posts to be consistent with your point numbering, your disk image naming and (hopefully) your style.
gilby101 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 29, 2013, 12:55 AM   #411
MichaelLAX
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Great; thank you! And I will update the link!

PS: Do you know how to embed images here on MacRumors? I only know how to attach them at the end of the post, but I see others embedding them in the midst of their instructions.

Any other advice on "style" would be greatly appreciated; especially if you think it will help the flow of information. That being said, the feedback seems to be positive from those following my instructions.

Someday, if anybody is kind enough to "donate" an upgrade to Parallels 8 and/or Mountain Lion (on a separate hard drive - can I boot Mt. Lion from a flash drive?) to me, I will update these instructions on a permanent basis!
MichaelLAX is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 29, 2013, 05:01 AM   #412
gilby101
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Tasmania
Mountain Lion

There is a problem with the original instructions from MichaelLAX for those using Mountain Lion as the host system. This is because Mountain Lion mounts disk image files as read-only. As a result STEP ONE does not work - everything else is ok.

Follow MichaelLAX’s instructions in STEP ONE points 1 to 3. Then continue with:

4. Launch Terminal (/Applications/Utilities/); cut and paste or carefully type the following 4 commands into Terminal and, after each, hit Return/Enter:

5. Change to the directory where the image is located.

cd Desktop

6. Mount the disk image in a way that allows any changes to be kept in a ‘shadow’ file.

hdiutil attach SuperDrive.cdr -shadow

7. Add the important file to the mounted image with this (including the quotation marks):

touch '/Volumes/Mac OS X Install DVD/System/Library/CoreServices/ServerVersion.plist'

8. Unmount the disk image by ‘ejecting’ the ‘Mac OS X Install DVD’ in Finder. At this point you have two files - SuperDrive.cdr and SuperDrive.cdr.shadow on the Desktop.

9. Create a new DVD/CD master disk image ’SuperDrive-Server.cdr’ which is the same as SuperDrive.cdr, but with the change included.

hdiutil convert -format UDTO -o SuperDrive-Server.cdr SuperDrive.cdr -shadow

10. Quit Terminal and continue with STEP TWO, using SuperDrive-Server.cdr in place of SuperDrive.cdr. If you wish you can now delete SuperDrive.cdr and SuperDrive.cdr.shadow - they are no longer needed.

Credits: The use of the shadow file is from post #407 by eldes.com. I had previously (post #322) used a sparse image - either works but I like the shadow file technique better though I don’t think it is any quicker.

Last edited by gilby101; Jan 29, 2013 at 03:10 PM. Reason: Tidy point 7
gilby101 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 29, 2013, 08:39 AM   #413
MichaelLAX
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Nice work!

Can you edit your post so that the TOUCH substep 7 does not wrap unto the 2nd line (perhaps a smaller font?); thank you!
MichaelLAX is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 1, 2013, 02:57 PM   #414
karendesign
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Picking up where I left off... (or, starting over)

After months away (post #294).... Starting over, removed previous virtual SL files on the ML machine. I created a new .cdr file on a SL machine, copied to my ML machine, and mounted the disk image. I then followed #5 and #6 in step one, and got as far as #7 in step two before getting the "invalid Mac OS version" error.

Although I created the .cdr file several days ago, I am reasonably sure I followed the instructions exactly. Today I carefully copied the terminal command, and the proper "ServerVersion.plist" response appeared. Troubleshooting steps have not solved it or revealed where I'm going wrong.

Attempting the sparse image approach, I created a new .sparseimage file, mounted on desktop (appeared to mount properly without needing conversion to .cdr, is this correct?), and attempted to follow post #322. In Terminal, I see "...ServerVersion.plist: No such file or directory". Attempting to use #322's convert-to-CDR command also fails. So I don't think I can proceed with the rest of the instructions for using a sparse image.

I'm getting desperate. Really need to use GoLive for a major upcoming project. Thanks for any help....

Karen
karendesign is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 1, 2013, 03:05 PM   #415
MichaelLAX
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Try the new Mountain Lion approach detailed in Post # 413.

If that does not work, I'll just have to come by and help you out (are you near any Metro station?)! Maybe i'll need some design work in the future... Gifts, such as upgrade to P8 or ML are also to be considered...

Last edited by MichaelLAX; Feb 1, 2013 at 03:15 PM.
MichaelLAX is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 1, 2013, 03:15 PM   #416
MichaelLAX
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
UPDATE: iChat has been replaced by Messages in ML. Be sure you have launched Messages and setup an account, so that we can chat.
MichaelLAX is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 2, 2013, 03:33 PM   #417
karendesign
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Just saw post #413, will give that a go! Thanks... since I'm in L.A., I guess I'd have to hop the pond and come visit you!
karendesign is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 2, 2013, 04:57 PM   #418
MichaelLAX
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Forgot that I mentioned that to you: I am back home in The Valley!

Good luck!
MichaelLAX is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 2, 2013, 06:39 PM   #419
Charles50
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
OS works, no shared disks

I seem to have followed the install instructions correctly, I'm on OS X 10.8 and got 10.6 installed nicely, according to the instructions.

But now I can't get any access to shared folders. I set up the shared folders, and there's no share point on the VM side. I found a folder called /Volumes/SharedFolders and there's nothing in there. And even worse, some of the options on the shared folder prefs seem to be missing.

I also can't get access to printer, it says feature not available for this OS.

Any ideas how to get this working? At this point, I'm trying to set up DropBox so I can get just a few apps onto this virtual box, but it may be futile if I can't get it working any better than this.
Charles50 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 2, 2013, 07:04 PM   #420
gilby101
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Tasmania
Quote:
Originally Posted by Charles50 View Post

But now I can't get any access to shared folders.
I have 'VMWare Shared Folders' on my desktop and in Finders's 'SL Mac' (or whatever you called it) as well as in /Volumes. And connects to what I have set up in VMware Fusion. I didn't do anything special. I hope this is not a VMware-Parallels difference.

But even if you fail to get shared folders working, you should be able to see network shares. Just make sure that the host OS X has File Sharing enabled in System Preferences.

Quote:
I also can't get access to printer, it says feature not available for this OS.
Make sure that the host OS X has Printer Sharing enabled. Then any printers should show up in the VM's list of available printers. You did enable printers when you installed SL, didn't you?
gilby101 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2013, 07:09 PM   #421
karendesign
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Michael, Success! Using post #413 and your original installation instructions, at last Snow Leopard is virtually alive! Merci beaucoup to you and gilby101 and everyone else in the chain. Now let's see how application installs go.

Does the Parallels Tools icon have to remain on the SL desktop or can it be trashed?

If it hasn't already been noted elsewhere, for users of Parallels 8 the path to the Parallels Tools file is Mac HD/Applications/Parallels Desktop.app/Contents/Resources/Tools/.

--Karen
karendesign is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2013, 07:20 PM   #422
MichaelLAX
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Great news and in time for your GoLive Project, too!

You can eject (trash) the Parallels Tools icon.

Since I have not yet upgraded to Version 8 (nor has anyone donated an upgrade to me ) please explain in more detail your note about the path for Parallels Tools and how it incorporates into my instructions, so I can update the instructions for Version 8, too.

I currently note this as: "These instructions will work for Parallels 8. In STEP THREE #1: Parallels Tools is built into the main program in Parallels 8, so there is no need to install any ISO file as a CD/DVD, as instructed. Instead use: "Update Parallels Tools" from the Virtual Machine menu."

Let me know if you have any program installation problems, as well...
MichaelLAX is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2013, 01:18 PM   #423
karendesign
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
GoLive CS2 installed correctly and appears to run as expected.

How to access files on the host Mac? I don't keep project files in either the shared public folder or my user directory, both accessible from the virtual OS.

My first thought is an alias to my project folder(s) on the host--place in a shared folder, then drag to any virtual location I choose.

Or I could sign in to the host, then access any file on its HD. But I'd like to avoid extra steps in day-to-day workflow.

Any best practices for accessing/sharing files between the virtual and host machines?

Thanks,
K
karendesign is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2013, 01:33 PM   #424
MichaelLAX
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Karen:

Please clarify where you store your GoLive files.

Also can you please answer this inquiry I directed to you in my last post to you:

Quote:
Since I have not yet upgraded to Version 8 (nor has anyone donated an upgrade to me ) please explain in more detail your note about the path for Parallels Tools and how it incorporates into my instructions, so I can update the instructions for Version 8, too.

I currently note this as: "These instructions will work for Parallels 8. In STEP THREE #1: Parallels Tools is built into the main program in Parallels 8, so there is no need to install any ISO file as a CD/DVD, as instructed. Instead use: "Update Parallels Tools" from the Virtual Machine menu."
MichaelLAX is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2013, 03:04 PM   #425
karendesign
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Michael,

I realize Parallels 8 may have the Tools available through the menu, but there are times (even with Windows and other guest OS installs) when there's a problem. Thought the path might be useful to others. With Parallels 8 not in your instructions (hey, forum users, can we get a collection going to thank Michael for all his efforts?), I must have missed this reference in the thread.

GoLive documents are stored in multiple locations in the host OS. HD/Projects/ProjectName/Files is a typical example.

--Karen
karendesign is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > Mac OS X 10.7 Lion

Tags
lion, parallels 7, powerpc apps, rosetta, snow leopard

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help re-installing Lion with only Snow Leopard Disk on new HDD Dakbala iMac 2 Oct 18, 2013 12:08 PM
Installing snow leopard on mountain lion using vmware fusion 6 gauravsc83 OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 1 Oct 13, 2013 01:10 PM
Re-installing Snow Leopard or Lion Advice! jessnichole85 MacBook 2 Nov 14, 2012 08:05 PM
Installing snow leopard with lion went wrong MaryMarie OS X 7 Aug 27, 2012 11:37 PM
Upgrading 2008 MB Software (Leopard, Snow Leopard, Lion, Mountain Lion) emacna1 MacBook 1 Jun 11, 2012 10:54 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:04 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps