Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 5, 2013, 01:59 AM   #1
anzor77
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Macbook pro performance with Archicad.

Hi,
Would macbook pro 13.3 work well with programs like Archicad (or other cad systems that use 3d rendering and design)? I wanted to know this because I'm really sceptic about its graphics card Intel HD 4000, which is not recommended by for use in cad systems.
anzor77 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2013, 02:48 AM   #2
duervo
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
From Graphisoft's "Mac Specific Recommendations" for Archicad:
For the best performance choose Mac computers with dedicated graphics cards. Integrated Intel HD 3000, 4000 cards work with ArchiCAD, but their performance is limited.
My interpretation of this is that Graphisoft is telling you, "Hey, it'll work on the 13" MBP, but we wouldn't use it on anything less than a 15" MBP."

Graphisoft's system requirements for Archicad 16:
Multicore processor is recommended to exploit ArchiCAD 16 performance capabilities. Read more about multiprocessing.
This suggests to me that you will get much better performance with the quad-core i7 CPU found in the 15" MBP's, over the dual-core i7 top-of-the-line 13" MBP.
duervo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2013, 03:22 AM   #3
anzor77
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Yep, that's how I understood it too. It's interesting. If it actually works and I could do small to medium projects that would be fine with me.

Just thought maybe somebody had actual experience using MBP 13.3 and hd 4000.

Thanks for your help anyways!
anzor77 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 16, 2013, 11:36 PM   #4
Qodo
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Vancouver, BC
Quote:
Originally Posted by anzor77 View Post
Hi,
Would macbook pro 13.3 work well with programs like Archicad (or other cad systems that use 3d rendering and design)? I wanted to know this because I'm really sceptic about its graphics card Intel HD 4000, which is not recommended by for use in cad systems.
I'm using Macbook Pro 15' 2010 build and it works absolutely fine with ArchiCad 15, AutoCad 13, heavy layered Photoshop files, etc.

Hope this helps!
__________________
Spending all my time developing work portfolio organizer.
Contact me with any questions, ideas or promo codes.
Qodo is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How old of a Macbook Pro could I get and still have decent performance? everlong24 MacBook Pro 26 Apr 4, 2014 02:07 PM
MacBook Pro 750m performance Lord Flashheart MacBook Pro 17 Nov 14, 2013 05:07 AM
Macbook Pro 13" performance mutedf8 MacBook Pro 4 Apr 1, 2013 09:49 AM
Performance: MacBook Pro vs. iMac JABacchetta MacBook Pro 3 Dec 29, 2012 04:39 PM
MacBook Pro Retina VS MacBook Air 2012 Diablo III Performance Masterfox72 MacBook Pro 0 Jun 17, 2012 12:45 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:33 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC