Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 3, 2013, 10:26 PM   #1
noobinator
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Pasadena, CA
New 21 base- keeps on spinning

I got my base 21 on friday. I originally installed bootcamp but then found i liked parallels better. So i still have bootcamp but run parallels to get into windows. I have two users set up, my wife and i. Besides that i only installed office, skype ang log me in. Oh and i have time machine backed up to a time capsule. I leave parallels windows suspended when not in use.

So now the potential issue. 4 times since friday i've had the spinning beachball get stuck. All 4 times i had to hard power off the imac. I let it spin about 10 minutes each time. 3 times i was just doing mundane tasks like switching programs or messing with settings. One other time i was bring up parallels.

Is this cause for concern? 4 times in 1 week? My 2009 macbook pro has hung this bad once in over 3 years.
noobinator is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2013, 01:07 AM   #2
sam3020
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
This sounds really odd. I have had my base model 21.5 inch since December and mine has not locked up on me once. Either you have a dodgy hard drive or you may need to reinstall your OS
__________________
iMac 2012 21.5"
Apple iPhone 5 32gb
iPad Mini 32gb wifi 7 Cellular
sam3020 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2013, 10:45 AM   #3
noobinator
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Pasadena, CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by sam3020 View Post
This sounds really odd. I have had my base model 21.5 inch since December and mine has not locked up on me once. Either you have a dodgy hard drive or you may need to reinstall your OS
I am hoping it's not the HDD but I'll keep an eye on it.
noobinator is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2013, 11:31 AM   #4
trustever
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
I would run a check on the RAM, when the damn beach ball appears to often is due scarce available RAM.

IF you were not doing RAM intensive tasks it could be possible that one of your RAM tablet is faulty so the computer has half of the available. Hopefuly I am wrong..
trustever is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2013, 01:10 PM   #5
noobinator
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Pasadena, CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by trustever View Post
I would run a check on the RAM, when the damn beach ball appears to often is due scarce available RAM.

IF you were not doing RAM intensive tasks it could be possible that one of your RAM tablet is faulty so the computer has half of the available. Hopefuly I am wrong..
It is showing as 8gb RAM available but you are right, this does sound more like RAM than an HDD issue.
noobinator is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2013, 01:42 PM   #6
trustever
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
There are some tests you can do on the RAM but I can't remember what you need, try using google and search test RAM or similar and see what you get.

Good luck
trustever is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2013, 11:11 PM   #7
noobinator
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Pasadena, CA
Alright I think something is definitely wrong. Tonight I played around on safari, went into windows through parallels and thats about it. It was very laggy all night. When I opened programs the icon at the bottom would bounce about 15 times. My 2009 mbp does maybe 2 bounces. Then i would click on things, nothing would happen for like 30 seconds then all my actions i was clicking would happen at once. It seems like the ram is hanging or freezing. Or is it just slow because of my parallels? It did also freeze with the beachball again to the point i had to hard power off. What do you think?
noobinator is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2013, 03:10 AM   #8
Gogol
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: The Netherlands
Show us your Virtual Memory use with Activity Monitor. Do you have Page-outs?
Gogol is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2013, 07:36 AM   #9
noobinator
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Pasadena, CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gogol View Post
Show us your Virtual Memory use with Activity Monitor. Do you have Page-outs?
I'll screenshot my activity monitor when I get home after work today. What are page-outs? Is this something that will show in activity monitor?
noobinator is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2013, 05:04 PM   #10
noobinator
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Pasadena, CA
During parallels:
Page in: 372.4mb
Page out: 7.6mb

Parallels suspended (and running painfully slow):
Page in: 788.9mb
Page out: 217.2mb

So you can see it is when parallels is suspended that I'm having issues.
What can I do?

Last edited by noobinator; Feb 5, 2013 at 05:21 PM.
noobinator is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 6, 2013, 02:19 AM   #11
Gogol
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: The Netherlands
You can add more memory or let parallels use less.
Gogol is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 6, 2013, 06:01 AM   #12
Serban
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Or forget about parallels and use boot camp
Serban is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 6, 2013, 10:20 AM   #13
noobinator
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Pasadena, CA
So really the base 21" imac is not strong enough to run parallels and be smooth?

My 2009 MBP does a better job and it has 4gb ram and 2 core cpu and crappy graphics processor.

And why does it run fine while using parallels but not so good when I suspend it?
noobinator is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 6, 2013, 05:52 PM   #14
Gogol
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: The Netherlands
Quote:
Originally Posted by noobinator View Post
So really the base 21" imac is not strong enough to run parallels and be smooth?

My 2009 MBP does a better job and it has 4gb ram and 2 core cpu and crappy graphics processor.

And why does it run fine while using parallels but not so good when I suspend it?
Are you using exactly the same settings on both computers for the virtual machine?
Try to give the VM less RAM in the settings and see what happens. Just for testing. When the VM is suspended it can need more RAM for this action and thus needs more virtual memory (=page outs). When the blocks that are paged to disk are needed again your Mac will be slow and show a beach ball..
Gogol is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 2013, 02:58 PM   #15
hummer28
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by noobinator View Post
I am hoping it's not the HDD but I'll keep an eye on it.
My new 27-inch iMac continues to freeze on me as well. I have had to power it off at least 5-7 times now and haven't owned it a week. I have a genius appointment scheduled in a couple of hours. I'm wondering if it isn't the aftermarket RAM I placed in it at this point.
hummer28 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New skill-base but not luck-base Candy game (Candizzle) gspsy iPad Apps 1 Mar 26, 2013 11:26 AM
Help decide: 2012 Mini (base or mid) vs. 2011 iMac base refurb k.alexander iMac 6 Oct 25, 2012 09:26 AM
Help decide: 2012 Mini (base or mid) vs. 2011 iMac base refurb k.alexander Mac mini 7 Oct 25, 2012 09:25 AM
Help decide: 2012 Mini (base or mid) vs. 2011 iMac base refurb k.alexander Buying Tips and Advice 6 Oct 25, 2012 09:25 AM
Base 15" or top spec 13 MBA vs Base 13MBP? for videos/photos/games Highlander- MacBook Pro 6 Jun 26, 2012 05:28 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:41 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC