Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > iPhone and iPod touch Apps

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 11, 2013, 10:43 AM   #251
Subu
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Viber View Post
Hi,
This is a member of the Viber Development Team.

1. Are you using Viber on WiFi or 3G?
2. What country are you located in? which cellular network?

New post = Jan 2013

Same problem as original poster

from UAE

tried both wifi and 2 g

provider Eitsalat

regards
__________________
Regards, Subu;
iPhone 5 16GB iOS 8, iPad 2G, iTunes 11.3,
Subu is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 2013, 10:34 AM   #252
yeashani
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Hi! I'm currently living in Phils.I just would like to know what if you are in active viber call with another viber user and suddenly you received another call,either GSM or another viber call,would the first automatically drops or cuts or your caller will get a notification that you are in another call or like a call waiting? Pls i need an answer bcoz i always have this argument with my husband..Thanks!
yeashani is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 2013, 10:48 AM   #253
yeashani
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
This is just a follow up info on my previous message..it just so happens that i was talking to my husband thru viber when suddenly the call was cut. I thought it was only the connection so i tried to call him again but i was getting a busy line,meaning his line was busy so I knew that he might be on another call..when i was able to reach him and asked him he told me that he received a call..I was so annoyed that i told him why he didnt inform me first before he answered,he told me the second call was received automatically and the first call will be dropped automatically,that's why i want to know if that is true with your viber settings..Pls enlighten me because i really gets upset if someone drops my call without saying something like "wait" or "hold on"...thanks! i'd really appreciate it..
yeashani is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2013, 01:51 PM   #254
Viber
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
 
@Subu -

The authorities in the UAE have decided to block Viber in the whole country, and that is why you are experiencing this issue. Unfortunately there is not much we can do to help
You may try contacting the authorities and ask for the reason for this block.

@yeashani -

During a Viber call, if a GSM (cellular) call comes in, it will automatically put the Viber call on Hold, because by default cellular calls get priority over any 3rd-party application.
__________________
A member of the Viber R&D Team (Viber application).
Viber is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2013, 02:30 PM   #255
Scnschoolbag
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
i have made no change to my viber but all today i couldnt get in to the messages . every time i went into viber it freezes amd takes me back to the home screen . it i very frustrating . if i delete the application and get it back will i have all my conversations and contacts ?? thank you
Scnschoolbag is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2013, 05:38 PM   #256
Viber
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scnschoolbag View Post
i have made no change to my viber but all today i couldnt get in to the messages . every time i went into viber it freezes amd takes me back to the home screen . it i very frustrating . if i delete the application and get it back will i have all my conversations and contacts ?? thank you
Unfortunately deleting Viber will result in deletion of all of your message history. However, you may export your entire message history through Viber's "Export" option (found in the "More" tab, under settings).
__________________
A member of the Viber R&D Team (Viber application).
Viber is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2013, 10:05 PM   #257
Subu
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Viber View Post
@Subu -

The authorities in the UAE have decided to block Viber in the whole country, and that is why you are experiencing this issue. Unfortunately there is not much we can do to help

You may try contacting the authorities and ask for the reason for this block.

.
why not provide a secure ...HTTPS connection which the authorities cannot block ?

you have a multi billion dollar industry waiting


regards
__________________
Regards, Subu;
iPhone 5 16GB iOS 8, iPad 2G, iTunes 11.3,
Subu is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2013, 05:51 AM   #258
Viber
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Subu View Post
why not provide a secure ...HTTPS connection which the authorities cannot block ?

you have a multi billion dollar industry waiting


regards
Technologically, such traffic can still be blocked, should the UAE authorities use very clever methods.
And so, at this stage we wish not to enter this "game". If a country wishes to ban Viber, for their own reasons, then we will unfortunately not be able to guarantee Viber's functionality there. If anything changes in the future, we'll let you know.
__________________
A member of the Viber R&D Team (Viber application).
Viber is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 2013, 12:59 AM   #259
Subu
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Viber View Post
Technologically, such traffic can still be blocked, should the UAE authorities use very clever methods.
And so, at this stage we wish not to enter this "game". If a country wishes to ban Viber, for their own reasons, then we will unfortunately not be able to guarantee Viber's functionality there. If anything changes in the future, we'll let you know.
Thanks

How about activating a VPN on the iPhone ?

have you thought on that direction ?

or ?


regards
__________________
Regards, Subu;
iPhone 5 16GB iOS 8, iPad 2G, iTunes 11.3,
Subu is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 2013, 07:40 AM   #260
Ugoz
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Joining VIBER, who get notification?

Hello, I am user A.
On my phone I have contact of user B and user C
Both B and C are Viber user.

B HAVE my number in his agenda
C DO NOT HAVE my number in his agenda.

Questions:
1) B will get notified that I have joined Viber? (Yes/No)
2) C, who DO NOT HAVE MY NUMBER IN HIS AGENDA, will be notified that I joined Viber? (YES/NO)
3) In case C will be notified, which info he will get? My number? My Full name and number?

Please, answer in a clear way (yes/no)
Many thanks
Ugoz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 19, 2013, 07:53 AM   #261
Viber
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
 
@Subu -

Using a VPN on your iPhone is a user's own decision. Again, we (Viber) cannot officially recommend this method in order to pass a block legislated by the authorities of a country.

@Ugoz -

1. Yes.
2. No.
3. Irrelevant.

Best regards,
the Viber Team.
__________________
A member of the Viber R&D Team (Viber application).
Viber is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 19, 2013, 12:30 PM   #262
Subu
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Viber View Post
@Subu -

Using a VPN on your iPhone is a user's own decision. Again, we (Viber) cannot officially recommend this method in order to pass a block legislated by the authorities of a country.

!!! :-)

without suggesting methods, could you please suggest some VPN servers or apps :-)
__________________
Regards, Subu;
iPhone 5 16GB iOS 8, iPad 2G, iTunes 11.3,
Subu is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 19, 2013, 08:45 PM   #263
builtex
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Does this problem occur only when you are connected to iphone 4s?
builtex is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2013, 02:38 AM   #264
Viber
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
 
@Subu -

You have Google and local forums in your country for that
We would wish not to refer to this issue any further.

@builtex -

Which problem exactly? Please elaborate.
__________________
A member of the Viber R&D Team (Viber application).
Viber is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 22, 2013, 05:35 PM   #265
kinga.s
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Hi. When I want to call using a viber from sony ericsson experia arc s to nokia e52 I get a messege "cannot be called .. Send message". I dont know if I can do something to fix this?
kinga.s is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 23, 2013, 09:46 AM   #266
Viber
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by kinga.s View Post
Hi. When I want to call using a viber from sony ericsson experia arc s to nokia e52 I get a messege "cannot be called .. Send message". I dont know if I can do something to fix this?
Hi,

That is because the Nokia device you are trying to call does not contain Viber's calling service yet. We might introduce a calling feature to Viber for Nokias in the future, but we are still not sure when exactly this would happen.
__________________
A member of the Viber R&D Team (Viber application).
Viber is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 28, 2013, 06:45 PM   #267
Shazfromclare
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
My boyfriend was using viber without having to have his Internet connected now it says he has to connect to wi if to send mgs r make a call wats going on can anyone help
Shazfromclare is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 29, 2013, 09:08 AM   #268
Viber
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
 
@Shazfromclare -

Viber has always required some kind of internet connection in order to work - it could be either 3G (cellular network) or WiFi. It could never have worked without internet.
__________________
A member of the Viber R&D Team (Viber application).
Viber is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2013, 05:29 PM   #269
Suzib
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Hi,
I have a regular problem on Viber. I'm in France, boyfriend in UK. I can send a text and then the next text i send will come up with ' this contact no longer has Viber', and ' not sent'. He has not disabled his account. Why does this keep happening?
Suzib is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2013, 05:36 PM   #270
mymilkshake
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
I'm not alone, I see that a lot of people have problems with this app.
mymilkshake is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 1, 2013, 01:20 AM   #271
jhe24
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Hi,
please i need answer for this, i had changed my viber picture last night, then suddenly when my boyfriend message me he saw that my picture is an old man, how does this happen? Why does my picture did not appear correctly I need feedback please thank you.
jhe24 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 3, 2013, 04:32 AM   #272
Viber
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
 
@Suzib -

The source of this issue could greatly vary. Please read this short page in our HelpDesk, outlining some possible workarounds that will help reboot synchronization of the contact list: http://bit.ly/rRtPqk

(The instructions refer to iPhone, but are relevant to all phones nevertheless).

@jhe24 -

We have not encountered similar complaints from users in the past. Please try to reboot your Viber, then change your profile picture again. Is it working fine now?
__________________
A member of the Viber R&D Team (Viber application).
Viber is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2013, 09:59 AM   #273
sepideabolfathi
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
hi.I am from Iran.my viber was working very good.from yesterday Ive faced this error:no service,there seems to be a problem connecting to vibers service.please check your connection and try again.
its funny because I can see my notifications of viber but cant open my messages.I can answer the in coming calls but I ,by myself cant call any one because of that problem.help me....I have 14 msg and I cant open them!
and I checked it with diffrent Wifi !the same error.my other freinds in Iran doesnt have this problem so I think its not blocked yet!!!!!

Last edited by sepideabolfathi; Feb 4, 2013 at 10:05 AM.
sepideabolfathi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2013, 01:52 AM   #274
Roya123
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Hi, my viber was working properly till last night when my internet connection suddenly failed. I got connected to the internet but viber gives me a notice that there is no conectivity, I deleted the app and installed it again on my iphone 5, but when I enter my phone number to recieve the pass code, it shows the same notice that there is no conectivity, but I am connected. PLEASE help me . How can I fix it?
Roya123 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2013, 02:51 AM   #275
Viber
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
 
@sepideabolfathi -

We are suspecting that the authorities in Iran have decided to block Viber in the whole country, and that is why you are experiencing this issue. Unfortunately there is not much we can do to help
You may try contacting the authorities and ask for the reason for this block.

@Roya123 -

What country are you located in? Which cellular network?
__________________
A member of the Viber R&D Team (Viber application).
Viber is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > iPhone and iPod touch Apps

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Viber help! Please! JenSop iPhone and iPod touch Apps 5 Dec 3, 2014 11:01 PM
Viber Lily58 iPhone and iPod touch Apps 11 Nov 10, 2014 11:15 AM
Viber help :( chloe007 iPhone and iPod touch Apps 1 Aug 20, 2013 04:35 AM
Viber problems brianclark4 iPhone and iPod touch Apps 0 Mar 30, 2013 09:49 AM
Viber HELP. pHeNom iPhone and iPod touch Apps 0 Sep 30, 2012 09:30 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:09 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC