Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 29, 2013, 12:39 AM   #1
GunZi
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
680MX with Starcraft 2, How many FPS do you get?

i want to know how much fps some of you with the 680MX are getting? with Starcraft 2 on ultra.
GunZi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 29, 2013, 02:42 AM   #2
pukingpixels
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Sweden
I just installed SC2 and played a couple of quick games against the AI with everything at max and I got about 30-40 fps on average and it drops to about 20 fps in big fights. This was in OSX.

Playable, yes but not good at all.

When playing as I used to do when I played it "hardcore" on the ladder, in tournaments etc with everything on the lowest possible settings I get over 300 fps on average.
pukingpixels is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 29, 2013, 02:51 AM   #3
torana355
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Sydney, Australia
I have it installed in windows and get 60fps locked using adaptive Vsync.
__________________
2012 27" iMac with 680mx | 2011 13" MBA 128gb | iPhone 4 32gb | Nexus 7 16gb | Nexus 4 on Carbon and Trinity.
torana355 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 29, 2013, 02:56 AM   #4
pukingpixels
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Sweden
Yeah, I figure it should be able to keep it at 60 fps in windows.

OSX sucks for games, it's just a fact.
pukingpixels is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 29, 2013, 03:13 AM   #5
GunZi
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
hmm under 60 fps on OSX is a bit disappointing to be honest. would you recommend me to do a clean install of Windows 7 or just use a program so that i can use both OSX and Windows at the same time? like parallels
GunZi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 29, 2013, 03:17 AM   #6
Serban
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
i think if you go for 1920*1080 on ultra every imac late 2012 should work very well above 35fps
Serban is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 29, 2013, 03:48 AM   #7
pukingpixels
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Sweden
Quote:
Originally Posted by Serban View Post
i think if you go for 1920*1080 on ultra every imac late 2012 should work very well above 35fps
"Well above 35 fps" is not the same as locked at 60 fps. It's in fact a huge difference.


Imagine you're in a 50/50 fight where the player with the best micro wins the fight and gets a big advantage for the rest of the game and you're getting handicapped by 10-20 fps frame drops which makes it super hard to micro anything. You'll lose the fight and probably the game just because of the frame drops.

Sure you can cap the fps to about 30 and probably get used to playing the game at 30 fps but I doubt anyone really wants to do that considering they just dumped a lot of money on a new 27" iMac.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by GunZi View Post
hmm under 60 fps on OSX is a bit disappointing to be honest. would you recommend me to do a clean install of Windows 7 or just use a program so that i can use both OSX and Windows at the same time? like parallels
If you really want to play it on ultra just get a copy of windows 7 and run SC2 in windows. Parallels would probably be even worse than native OSX.
pukingpixels is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 29, 2013, 03:53 AM   #8
GunZi
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by pukingpixels View Post
"Well above 35 fps" is not the same as locked at 60 fps. It's in fact a huge difference.


Imagine you're in a 50/50 fight where the player with the best micro wins the fight and gets a big advantage for the rest of the game and you're getting handicapped by 10-20 fps frame drops which makes it super hard to micro anything. You'll lose the fight and probably the game just because of the frame drops.

Sure you can cap the fps to about 30 and probably get used to playing the game at 30 fps but I doubt anyone really wants to do that considering they just dumped a lot of money on a new 27" iMac.

----------



If you really want to play it on ultra just get a copy windows 7 and run it SC2 in windows. Parallels would probably be even worse than native OSX.
At the moment i can only play on low settings, because i got such an outdated/crappy GPU (AMD 6630m). Anything from Medium to Ultra will work for me hehe i'm new to the mac system, so i dont know which program to run windows is the best. but i dont mind just playing on High or Medium Settings just as long as i get 50+ fps But it would be awesome if i could play on ultra with good fps, since im investing so much money into this computer.

I'm not a pro gamer in SC2, but im in silver league at the moment.
GunZi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 29, 2013, 03:56 AM   #9
81Steven
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
I suggest wait 10.8.3 it should be graphic driver related reading around beta build...
81Steven is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 29, 2013, 04:21 AM   #10
Serban
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Trust me you can have micro on min 30 fps.. 30 is the minimal of a smooth gameplay..so

----------

in bootcamp i think you get an extra 10-15 more fps
Serban is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 29, 2013, 05:08 AM   #11
pukingpixels
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Sweden
Quote:
Originally Posted by Serban View Post
Trust me you can have micro on min 30 fps.. 30 is the minimal of a smooth gameplay..so[COLOR="#808080"]
You're misunderstanding me. Of course you can micro on 30 fps (I use to play the original starcraft for years) but when the fps jumps up and down it makes it a lot more difficult than if you're on a locked fps. If that's 30 or 60 locked fps doesn't really matter but I'd rather play the game with lower settings and 60 fps than on ultra with 30 fps. 30 fps isn't smooth once you've been playing in 60 fps for some time.

But that's my opinion.
pukingpixels is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 29, 2013, 05:29 AM   #12
pukingpixels
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Sweden
Quote:
Originally Posted by GunZi View Post
At the moment i can only play on low settings, because i got such an outdated/crappy GPU (AMD 6630m). Anything from Medium to Ultra will work for me hehe i'm new to the mac system, so i dont know which program to run windows is the best. but i dont mind just playing on High or Medium Settings just as long as i get 50+ fps But it would be awesome if i could play on ultra with good fps, since im investing so much money into this computer.

I'm not a pro gamer in SC2, but im in silver league at the moment.
Yeah I know what you mean, I come from an old early 2008 24" iMac, 4GB ram, Geforce 8800 GS 512 MB. I managed to get 60 fps locked on that machine with everything on the lowest settings and that's pretty much how I play the game on my new 27" iMac.

You can customize the settings so that it still looks good but if you want a constant high fps it's not possible right now (might change when the new update comes from Apple) with all settings to Ultra.

It's either wait for the update and hope it will increase the performance or go windows.
pukingpixels is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 29, 2013, 05:38 AM   #13
Serban
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Ok, in baseline imac 21.5" fusion drive 640M Geforce 8 GRAM- 1920*1080 Ultra settings with bootcamp win 7 Starcraft 2 runs between 72fps and in big battles 39-40-41 fps.
Serban is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2013, 08:56 PM   #14
nestafaria
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
I get 100 in windows 7 and 60 in OS X at ultra everything.
nestafaria is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2013, 04:18 AM   #15
pukingpixels
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Sweden
Quote:
Originally Posted by nestafaria View Post
I get 100 in windows 7 and 60 in OS X at ultra everything.

Post a video or anything that proves it cause it's impossible to get a constant 60 fps on mine in OSX.
pukingpixels is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2013, 08:22 AM   #16
heinzgruber
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
i'm playing with everything maxed out and 2560 x 1440 pixel at constant 60 fps. im using bootcamp windows 7 64 bit and overlocked the 680mx stable with 200Mhz/300Mhz. it's amazing!!!
heinzgruber is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2013, 11:07 AM   #17
bflowers
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
I have everything set to Ultra full screen, and I was averaging 80-90 during most play with rates over 100 in some situations. Even in the biggest battles, the lowest I saw it drop to was 45, but it was typically in the 50-60 range for most of the battle. I'd say the 45 was at the initial onset of battle, and as soon as units started dying, it jumped right back up. It was perfectly playable to me.
bflowers is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2013, 04:16 PM   #18
zonesey
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Finland
I'm thinking about installing boot camp Windows 8 on my new 27 inch iMac as soon as I get it (hopefully in like 3 weeks). Do you know if Heart of the Swarm is going to run better on Windows 8 than on Windows 7?
__________________
2012 iMac 27" 3.4 i7 32GB Crucial RAM 680MX 1TB Fusion, 2013 MBP 13" 8GB RAM w/ external USB3 256GB OCZ Vector, 2009 MBP 13" 8GB RAM, blue iPhone 4S 32GB
zonesey is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2013, 04:46 PM   #19
heinzgruber
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
i think no game runs faster with windows 8
heinzgruber is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2013, 05:11 PM   #20
leman
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
The bottomline is that Apple should really get their act together with the graphics performance.

However, there are some practical problems to achieving Windows-like graphics performance on OS X... modern Windows GPU drivers are basically a bunch of hacks and and specific optimisations to make certain games work faster. Sometimes they do not follow the API specification precisely, sometimes they do some things extra. Both Nvidia and ATI work closely with game developing studios in order to make sure that their drivers will offer as high performance as possible. I doubt that much of these 'optimisations' are easily portable to OS X. Nevertheless, I believe that Apple could improve the graphics performance by a good margin, and above all - make it consistent, if they invest more time into it. Let's see what 10.8.3 will bring...
leman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2013, 05:45 PM   #21
jmpage2
macrumors 68030
 
jmpage2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
My understanding is that the major reason that OS X does not have as good of performance as Windows is that OS X is lacking the equivalent of "Direct X" for the Mac platform.
jmpage2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2013, 09:47 PM   #22
Kashsystems
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by heinzgruber View Post
i think no game runs faster with windows 8
Actually when comparing the same pc with Windows 7 vs Windows 8, there is about a 7-10 percent performance in all games.
Kashsystems is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 6, 2013, 01:54 AM   #23
MacFro
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Trying out Starcraft 2 is one of the things i am really looking forward to when i eventually receive my new iMac.

I'm used to playing at 15 to 25 fps with all settings on low or medium on my Macbook Pro from 2007, so either way it will be an huge improvement

Could the performance in windows be because the windows version simply is better? That it is made for windows to begin with and then transferred to OSX?
MacFro is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 6, 2013, 02:57 AM   #24
Serban
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kashsystems View Post
Actually when comparing the same pc with Windows 7 vs Windows 8, there is about a 7-10 percent performance in all games.
7-10% percent less or high ?

----------

@Macfro plz provide us your feedback after you play it or upload a video with gameplay
Serban is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 6, 2013, 03:07 AM   #25
MacFro
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
I'll make sure to post my SC2 fps results in OSX when my machine arrives.

I ordered from a reseller 4 weeks ago. So should arrive any month now
MacFro is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
mixing 24 fps clips with 25 fps 2ms Digital Video 1 Feb 6, 2014 09:26 AM
OS-neutral: i5 and 680MX Chargrave Mac and PC Games 11 Mar 15, 2013 04:14 PM
Windows: StarCraft 1 Campaign Remade with StarCraft 2 Graphics ReanimationN Mac and PC Games 5 Jan 27, 2013 07:10 AM
OS-neutral: "If Quake was done today" (modern FPS vs classic FPS) Idgit Mac and PC Games 32 Jan 12, 2013 09:23 PM
Starcraft 2 Capped at 30 FPS Cassadian MacBook Pro 0 Sep 9, 2012 04:27 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:58 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC