Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 5, 2013, 03:40 PM   #1
wakuman
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
I got Conned. Please help with About This Mac.

I recently got mugged and lost my macbook air.

Bought a 2nd hand 13-inch macbook air from a friend's friend's friend. Everything was fine.

"About This Mac" shows 1.8GHz Intel Core i7 with 4 GB 1333 MHz DDR3 Ram and 256 GB SSD.

After purchase, and after I online. About This Mac show 11-inch, Mid 2011.



I am very sure the info here is incorrect because this is a 13-inch. The serial Number is also false. even the processor turns out to be inaccurate. I have opened up the macbook air myself and I am sure of it.

I don't really mind all that now. But I want to correct the info on About This Mac. I've clean format the mac using external thumb drive, but all the info is still inaccurate. can anyone teach me how to correct it?

I know how to change the About This Mac by editing AboutThisMac.strings but this is not what i want to achieve as it is not real. Can anyone help me to reset the Info back to its REAL Info?

Please and thanks in advance.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2013-02-06 at 4.44.26 AM.png
Views:	61
Size:	98.6 KB
ID:	394701  

Last edited by wakuman; Feb 5, 2013 at 03:46 PM.
wakuman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2013, 03:44 PM   #2
Brian Y
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by wakuman View Post
I recently got mugged and lost my macbook air.

Bought a 2nd hand 13-inch macbook air from a friend's friend's friend. Everything was fine.

"About This Mac" shows 1.8GHz Intel Core i7 with 4 GB 1333 MHz DDR3 Ram and 256 GB SSD.

After purchase, and after I online. About This Mac show 11-inch, Mid 2011.

Image

I am very sure the info here is incorrect because this is a 13-inch. The serial Number is also false. even the processor turns out to be inaccurate. I have opened up the macbook air myself and I am sure of it.

I don't really mind all that now. But I want to correct the info on About This Mac. I've clean format the mac using external thumb drive, but all the info is still inaccurate. can anyone teach me how to correct it?

I know how to change the About This Mac by editing AboutThisMac.strings but this is not what i want to achieve as it is not real. Can anyone help me to reset the Info back to its REAL Info?

Please and thanks in advance.
If the spec is OK, it may have just had the wrong serial number put in during a repair. It can happen.
Brian Y is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2013, 03:46 PM   #3
phr0ze
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Columbia, MD
Hold apple-R at boot and restore the system. You never know what bad stuff can be lurking inside.
__________________
2012 11" MBA i7/8/256
2011 Mac Mini
Black iPad Air 64GB Verizon
Black iPhone 5S 32GB ATT
phr0ze is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2013, 03:50 PM   #4
wakuman
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by phr0ze View Post
Hold apple-R at boot and restore the system. You never know what bad stuff can be lurking inside.
I've already formatted the Mac twice using my own thumb drive Mountain Lion. Is this different? or the same?
wakuman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2013, 03:51 PM   #5
chrfr
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by wakuman View Post
I've already formatted the Mac twice using my own thumb drive Mountain Lion. Is this different? or the same?
Well, is it an 11 inch or 13 inch computer?

What do you see in System Report?
chrfr is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2013, 03:54 PM   #6
Peace
macrumors P6
 
Peace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Space--The ONLY Frontier
Pull out a ruler and measure the darn thing.
Peace is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2013, 03:56 PM   #7
wakuman
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian Y View Post
If the spec is OK, it may have just had the wrong serial number put in during a repair. It can happen.
The spec is not right. This macbook air is actually a 1.7GHz i5. not 1.8ghz i7. I did consider the serial number scenario as you suspected but I am not sure if that will effect the information on the following information
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2013-02-06 at 4.54.59 AM.png
Views:	35
Size:	76.5 KB
ID:	394706  
wakuman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2013, 03:57 PM   #8
wakuman
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrfr View Post
Well, is it an 11 inch or 13 inch computer?

What do you see in System Report?
Its a 13inch.

System report says 11 inch.
wakuman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2013, 04:00 PM   #9
Peace
macrumors P6
 
Peace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Space--The ONLY Frontier
Quote:
Originally Posted by wakuman View Post
Its a 13inch.

System report says 11 inch.
If you did indeed reinstall the OS via thumbdrive and the system profiler says 11 In. then you have an 11 In. MBA.

Have you tried to measure it like I suggested ?
Peace is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2013, 04:02 PM   #10
wakuman
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Actual Spec: 13inch, 1.7GHz i5, 4GB Ram, 256GB SSD.

System profiler shows: 11inch, 1.8GHz i7, 4GB Ram, 256GB SSD. system profiler also shows wrong serial number.
wakuman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2013, 04:04 PM   #11
Brian Y
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
It's detecting the resolution correctly for a 13".

It uses the serial number to determine which model to show. The last 3 digits of that serial will be of an 11" air - hence why it thinks it's an 11". That can happen during repair, and there's nothing to worry about. As for the specs - no idea why they're incorrect - are you *sure* you have an i5 - how did you check?

The specs are picked up from the hardware itself.
Brian Y is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2013, 04:04 PM   #12
wakuman
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peace View Post
If you did indeed reinstall the OS via thumbdrive and the system profiler says 11 In. then you have an 11 In. MBA.

Have you tried to measure it like I suggested ?
my wife is using a 11 inch macbook air. she is with me now.
wakuman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2013, 04:04 PM   #13
chrfr
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by wakuman View Post
Actual Spec: 13inch, 1.7GHz i5, 4GB Ram, 256GB SSD.

System profiler shows: 11inch, 1.8GHz i7, 4GB Ram, 256GB SSD. system profiler also shows wrong serial number.
It sounds like the logic board got replaced at some point with the board from an 11 inch, though I would not expect that was possible.
chrfr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2013, 04:05 PM   #14
Peace
macrumors P6
 
Peace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Space--The ONLY Frontier
Quote:
Originally Posted by wakuman View Post
my wife is using a 11 inch macbook air. she is with me now.
Sorry man but until you physically measure it I'm going to have to conclude this is a trolling thread.
Peace is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2013, 04:09 PM   #15
Brian Y
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrfr View Post
It sounds like the logic board got replaced at some point with the board from an 11 inch, though I would not expect that was possible.
It's not, somebody just put the wrong serial number in.

Paste this into terminal, and show us what it says:

system_profiler | grep "Processor"

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Peace View Post
Sorry man but until you physically measure it I'm going to have to conclude this is a trolling thread.
It's 13" - you can see from the resolution. I think he has an i7 and not an i5 though.

He thinks he has an i5 13". What he has is an i7 13" with the serial number (from a repair) of a 13".
Brian Y is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2013, 04:09 PM   #16
wakuman
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian Y View Post
It's detecting the resolution correctly for a 13".

It uses the serial number to determine which model to show. The last 3 digits of that serial will be of an 11" air - hence why it thinks it's an 11". That can happen during repair, and there's nothing to worry about. As for the specs - no idea why they're incorrect - are you *sure* you have an i5 - how did you check?

The specs are picked up from the hardware itself.
My tech friend opened the laptop and saw the processor to be i5.

The serial at the bottom and inside this mac is totally different.

is there any way i can change the serial to try?
wakuman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2013, 04:12 PM   #17
Brian Y
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by wakuman View Post
My tech friend opened the laptop and saw the processor to be i5.

The serial at the bottom and inside this mac is totally different.

is there any way i can change the serial to try?
So he took the heatsink off? Your friend is BS'ing. That command I posted will tell you what's in there.

You can't change the serial number.
Brian Y is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2013, 04:13 PM   #18
Peace
macrumors P6
 
Peace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Space--The ONLY Frontier
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian Y View Post
It's not, somebody just put the wrong serial number in.

Paste this into terminal, and show us what it says:

system_profiler | grep "Processor"

----------



It's 13" - you can see from the resolution. I think he has an i7 and not an i5 though.

He thinks he has an i5 13". What he has is an i7 13" with the serial number (from a repair) of a 13".
Ok. Thanks. I was wrong.

Perhaps the display was replaced ?
Peace is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2013, 04:17 PM   #19
wakuman
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Please help ~
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2013-02-06 at 5.11.38 AM.png
Views:	70
Size:	67.5 KB
ID:	394712  
wakuman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2013, 04:23 PM   #20
wakuman
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian Y View Post
You can't change the serial number.
I'm not sure about this. I did find ways to put it serial number if that field is null.
wakuman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2013, 04:24 PM   #21
Peace
macrumors P6
 
Peace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Space--The ONLY Frontier
Quote:
Originally Posted by wakuman View Post
Please help ~
That's the processor for the 13" MBA.


http://support.apple.com/kb/SP631
Peace is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2013, 04:24 PM   #22
Brian Y
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by wakuman View Post
I'm not sure about this. I did find ways to put it serial number if that field is null.
You can only change the serial number of a blank board - one that hasn't had a serial number before.

You used to be able to, but it's no longer possible.
Brian Y is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2013, 04:28 PM   #23
wakuman
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian Y View Post
You can only change the serial number of a blank board - one that hasn't had a serial number before.

You used to be able to, but it's no longer possible.
Can authorised Apple technician change it?
wakuman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2013, 04:29 PM   #24
blueroom
macrumors 603
 
blueroom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto, Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by wakuman View Post
Can authorised Apple technician change it?
Yes. I'd take it in.
__________________
My iOS devices are not jailbroken.
Bill
My Blog
blueroom is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2013, 04:30 PM   #25
Brian Y
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by wakuman View Post
Can authorised Apple technician change it?
They can change the MLB, but not the serial.
Brian Y is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
mac to windows and ten years later back to Mac, need some alternative app suggestions debudebu Mac Applications and Mac App Store 1 Apr 5, 2014 03:53 PM
Apple.co.uk I'm annoyed and feel conned! marlman iPhone 11 Sep 24, 2013 10:45 AM
Migration assistant (Mac - Mac). New mac has mutiple drives, can't pick the right one Daftones MacBook Pro 4 Aug 29, 2013 10:32 AM
Linux and mac shared Data partition. (paragon extFS-mac, ntfs-mac, ntfs-3G ?) HiDeHo OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 15 Jul 17, 2013 06:09 PM
I always feel conned with OS X upgrades bulldoze OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 24 Sep 9, 2012 09:49 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:34 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC