Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Digital Audio

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 3, 2013, 11:38 AM   #1
fastlanephil
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Buying a Cheap PC DAW Slave Question

What's the best route for acquiring a cheap PC box for use as a DAW slave. I see cheap ones online but I want at least three 3.5 HD bays, a reliable power supply and it needs to be quiet. Quiet is very important but just minimum onboard graphics.

Should I drive to a FRYS and have a sales person help me with choosing the components?

Maybe have a shop construct one if they are competitive with costs?

Find a PC geek that will tell me what component to order?

Any thought on this?
fastlanephil is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 3, 2013, 01:08 PM   #2
spoonie1972
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Toronto
i did this for awhile running a hackintosh - worked great until i needed more cpu (of course, now those amazing i7 chips are out now, cheap by comparison!)

i'm with you on the noise though - i could not get the thing quiet. it's possible if you deal with the expensive specialty fans, but otherwise - since it's a slave and all - why not just have it in another room and screenshare/vlc it?
__________________
2012 MPB 15, 16GB, 512SSD, Geek 11941 - Logic Audio
2009 Mac Pro, 64GB, 5,1 Firmware, X5570 swap x2, EVGA GTX570, VEP5, Kontakt, and AE
spoonie1972 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 3, 2013, 08:04 PM   #3
fastlanephil
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
I've researched this and it look like if you want t cheap PC it will be noisy.

There's a room next to me but I gave it to my lady friend use it for her own space but she's not in there much.

I also have a high crawl space under the house. Maybe I could stick it down there if it's legal.
fastlanephil is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2013, 08:44 AM   #4
spoonie1972
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Toronto
http://www.quietpc.ca/

that might help.

i have my mac pro in another room - the only time i access it is when i'm tweaking a vep5 template. as quiet as they are, i'm happy to never hear it.

i'm curious about your crawl space having a legal issue?
__________________
2012 MPB 15, 16GB, 512SSD, Geek 11941 - Logic Audio
2009 Mac Pro, 64GB, 5,1 Firmware, X5570 swap x2, EVGA GTX570, VEP5, Kontakt, and AE
spoonie1972 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2013, 03:15 PM   #5
fastlanephil
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Quote:
i'm curious about your crawl space having a legal issue?
I probably could have a PC down there. I have seen houses with furnaces in their crawl space.

The issue might be installing an electrical outlet that would be code or just running an electrical cord down there. I do have a dead 220 volt line down there which I had put in during construction for a hot tube option. I think I could have an electrician install an outlet with a 220 to 110 converter and after running the cat cable down there and something stable to set the PC on with lighting, I would be good to go. With the moister barrier it seems to be dry and never very warm or very cold.
fastlanephil is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Digital Audio

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question About Daw's And Plugins Computer Resource Usage fastlanephil Digital Audio 2 Dec 7, 2013 01:20 PM
Worth Buying An iMac G5 On The Cheap? Goftrey PowerPC Macs 17 Feb 18, 2013 12:38 AM
Buying cheap then upgrading components 30secondstosam MacBook Pro 26 Feb 4, 2013 11:45 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:37 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC