Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Programming > iPhone/iPad Programming

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 7, 2013, 05:02 AM   #1
Mvkoe
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Belgium
Annotation in Plist

Hey!

I'm making a map application with annotations, and but i'm a bit confused when using plists and then choosing between dictionaries and arrays in a plist. I'm not sure when I need to use a dict and then array?

I would have a sorted list from A to Z. and in the A to Z comes my Annotations with name, and then within the name an Description, subtitle, picture, title, aso.

So i would try someting like this ?

Code:
<dict>
- <array>(for the A to Z)
-- ??? 
- </array>
</dict>
Could somebody help me out of this ?

Grz
Mvkoe is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 7, 2013, 05:53 AM   #2
robbieduncan
Moderator
 
robbieduncan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: London
No. A dictionary consists of keys and values. You have no key.
robbieduncan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 7, 2013, 09:29 AM   #3
Mvkoe
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Belgium
Quote:
Originally Posted by robbieduncan View Post
No. A dictionary consists of keys and values. You have no key.
Could you help me further then ? how i should approach this ?
Mvkoe is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 7, 2013, 09:38 AM   #4
robbieduncan
Moderator
 
robbieduncan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: London
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mvkoe View Post
Could you help me further then ? how i should approach this ?
If you want an array use an array. If you want a key/value pair set use a dictionary. You say you want an array representing A-Z and then some sort of dictionary structure for each element. So you would have an array containing 26 dictionaries.
robbieduncan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 7, 2013, 11:06 AM   #5
chown33
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mvkoe View Post
I'm making a map application with annotations, and but i'm a bit confused when using plists and then choosing between dictionaries and arrays in a plist. I'm not sure when I need to use a dict and then array?
Collections Programming Topics.

Cocoa Core Competencies: Property list.
chown33 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 7, 2013, 05:28 PM   #6
Mvkoe
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Belgium
Oke i have someting like this now!

Would this be the right way?

Code:
<dict>
	<key>A</key>
	<array>
		<dict>
			<key>description</key>
			<string>Bla</string>
			<key>lat</key>
			<string></string>
			<key>long</key>
			<string></string>
			<key>picture</key>
			<string></string>
			<key>subtitle</key>
			<string></string>
			<key>title</key>
			<string>First Annotation</string>
		</dict>
	</array>
	<key>B</key>
	<array/>
	<key>C</key>
	<array/>
	<key>D</key>
	<array/>
	<key>E</key>
	<array/>
	<key>F</key>
	<array/>
	<key>G</key>
	<array/>
	<key>H</key>
	<array/>
	<key>I</key>
	<array/>
	<key>J</key>
	<array/>
	<key>K</key>
	<array/>
	<key>L</key>
	<array/>
	<key>M</key>
	<array/>
	<key>N</key>
	<array/>
	<key>O</key>
	<array/>
	<key>P</key>
	<array/>
	<key>Q</key>
	<array/>
	<key>R</key>
	<array/>
	<key>S</key>
	<array/>
	<key>T</key>
	<array/>
	<key>U</key>
	<array/>
	<key>V</key>
	<array/>
	<key>W</key>
	<array/>
	<key>X</key>
	<array/>
	<key>Y</key>
	<array/>
	<key>Z</key>
	<array/>
</dict>
Mvkoe is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 8, 2013, 04:44 AM   #7
robbieduncan
Moderator
 
robbieduncan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: London
It's a way. This will not give you an array representing A-Z, rather a dictionary indexes A-Z. This may or may not be better, depends in your usage.
robbieduncan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 8, 2013, 06:02 AM   #8
Mvkoe
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Belgium
Quote:
Originally Posted by robbieduncan View Post
It's a way. This will not give you an array representing A-Z, rather a dictionary indexes A-Z. This may or may not be better, depends in your usage.
I've made my alfabet array like this:

Code:
self.alfabet = [[AnnotationsData allKeys] sortedArrayUsingSelector:@selector(compare:)];
So when i do NSLog, i have an array of A-Z
Mvkoe is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 8, 2013, 06:04 AM   #9
robbieduncan
Moderator
 
robbieduncan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: London
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mvkoe View Post
I've made my alfabet array like this:

Code:
self.alfabet = [[AnnotationsData allKeys] sortedArrayUsingSelector:@selector(compare:)];
So when i do NSLog, i have an array of A-Z
Which is fine, although potentially unnecessary. You could just do:

Code:
<array>
 <!-- A -->
 <array>
  <dict>...</dict>
  ....
 </array>
 ...
 <!-- Z -->
 <array>
  <dict>...</dict>
 </array>
</array>
which would just load as an array of arrays. As I said: it depends on your desired usage as to which structure makes most sense. There is no right or wrong and only you can decide which is best/easiest for your app
robbieduncan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 8, 2013, 06:12 AM   #10
Mvkoe
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Belgium
Quote:
Originally Posted by robbieduncan View Post
Which is fine, although potentially unnecessary. You could just do:

Code:
<array>
 <!-- A -->
 <array>
  <dict>...</dict>
  ....
 </array>
 ...
 <!-- Z -->
 <array>
  <dict>...</dict>
 </array>
</array>
which would just load as an array of arrays. As I said: it depends on your desired usage as to which structure makes most sense. There is no right or wrong and only you can decide which is best/easiest for your app
Okay! Thanks for the heads up! I'll try using mine first, and if that doesn't do what I want or it gets a mess, I'll use your way!
Mvkoe is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Programming > iPhone/iPad Programming

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help with XCode Mapview Annotation Ruoz iPhone/iPad Programming 1 Mar 13, 2014 02:36 PM
What app is best for PDF annotation? red321red321 iPad Apps 3 Nov 3, 2013 10:13 PM
PDF Annotation App? DramaLLama Mac Applications and Mac App Store 2 Jul 26, 2013 02:29 AM
PDF Annotation App? Dannynite Mac Applications and Mac App Store 2 Apr 4, 2013 05:12 AM
Preview 6 (ML): Annotation colors svdwoude Mac Applications and Mac App Store 0 Aug 2, 2012 02:32 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:03 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC