Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Mac Peripherals

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 3, 2013, 06:57 PM   #1
Zcev5454
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
WD MyBook Studio

Has anyone used this? How well does it work with time machine?
Zcev5454 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 3, 2013, 07:20 PM   #2
CWallace
macrumors Demi-God
 
CWallace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Seattle, WA
I used a 2GB model via FW800 for a time (I use a 2GB Time Capsule, now) and it worked fine.

I now have two 4GB models (via FW800) as my iTunes Media library (I mirror them).
CWallace is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 3, 2013, 09:48 PM   #3
Outrigger
macrumors 68000
 
Outrigger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by CWallace View Post
I used a 2GB model via FW800 for a time (I use a 2GB Time Capsule, now) and it worked fine.

I now have two 4GB models (via FW800) as my iTunes Media library (I mirror them).
you mean TB?
__________________
iMac | Intel i7 3.4GHz | 32GB RAM | 1TB Fusion | GTX 680MX
Mini | Intel i5 2.5GHz | 8GB RAM | 750GBSSD | AMD 6630M
rMBP 13 | Intel i5 2.6Ghz | 8GB RAM | 512GB SSD
Outrigger is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2013, 12:36 PM   #4
CWallace
macrumors Demi-God
 
CWallace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Seattle, WA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Outrigger View Post
you mean TB?
Yup.
CWallace is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2013, 04:18 PM   #5
Benhama
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Guernsey
I was thinking of purchasing the USB3 2TB version of the Western Digital Studio drive and wondered if anyone had any experiences to share?
Benhama is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2013, 05:10 PM   #6
marc11
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: NY USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zcev5454 View Post
Has anyone used this? How well does it work with time machine?
I'm using two of them, one wireless via USB and one via Firewire, they work great. Nice drives, very quiet and the auto standby feature works great.
__________________
Various Apple Products
marc11 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2013, 10:24 PM   #7
Zcev5454
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by marc11 View Post
I'm using two of them, one wireless via USB and one via Firewire, they work great. Nice drives, very quiet and the auto standby feature works great.
It's wireless with a USB? What's the auto standby feature?
Zcev5454 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2013, 10:39 PM   #8
marc11
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: NY USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zcev5454 View Post
It's wireless with a USB? What's the auto standby feature?
Sorry I mean USB connected to my then AEBS which STB recently. Auto stand by powers the drive down when not in use.
__________________
Various Apple Products
marc11 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2013, 06:56 AM   #9
Zcev5454
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by marc11 View Post
Sorry I mean USB connected to my then AEBS which STB recently. Auto stand by powers the drive down when not in use.
Thanks
Zcev5454 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 7, 2013, 09:47 AM   #10
davidra
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Has anyone used the USB 3.0 version of this unit with the new iMac? Does it stay connected?
davidra is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 7, 2013, 10:57 AM   #11
DayVe3000
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: England
I bought the 2TB USB3.0 WD My Book essentials after a nice spot on ukhotdeals - I grabbed the last one in my local Tesco for 44 and its been spot on with my Mac so far.

Has worked spot on with my rMBP for Time Machine.

I havent tested the read write speed - but I can confirm it destroys a USB2.0 pen drive used for moving a few files over.
DayVe3000 is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 7, 2013, 07:58 PM   #12
demosthenes80
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
I've had my share of WD Studios, never had a problem with them.
demosthenes80 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 14, 2013, 06:35 PM   #13
thepominlaw
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by CWallace View Post
I used a 2GB model via FW800 for a time (I use a 2GB Time Capsule, now) and it worked fine.

I now have two 4GB models (via FW800) as my iTunes Media library (I mirror them).
Can you mirror two separate drives, I thought I had to buys raid enclosure to do this
thepominlaw is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 14, 2013, 07:30 PM   #14
CWallace
macrumors Demi-God
 
CWallace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Seattle, WA
Quote:
Originally Posted by thepominlaw View Post
Can you mirror two separate drives, I thought I had to buys raid enclosure to do this
I should have been clearer. I do not mirror the data to each drive at the same time (like RAID 1). I mirror the content from the primary drive to the backup drive using a Carbon Copy Cloner task that runs nightly.
CWallace is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Mac Peripherals

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Western Digital MyBook Studio Edition II 2TB fanster Mac Peripherals 4 Nov 21, 2014 10:22 AM
MyBook Studio Will Not Mount Melodeath Mac Basics and Help 0 Dec 8, 2013 02:35 AM
WD Mybook Studio Edition II Support on Airport Extreme louij2 Mac Peripherals 2 Apr 23, 2013 03:40 PM
using a wd studio mybook studio 2 on 2 differnent macs by firewire ljonesj Mac Peripherals 2 Jun 14, 2012 08:53 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:35 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC