Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 7, 2013, 11:58 AM   #1
AnorexicPig
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Winnipeg,Canada/New Delhi India
WiFi doesn't ask for password :/

Hello, I just was trying to reset my wifi password,pressed the reset button on my modem,and now it just connects without asking for password .

How am I supposed to feed a password into it ? I set it up with windows7 last time,and now am on an Air,and it just doesn't show the place to enter the PIN and set a password,just connects
__________________
MacBook Pro 13" with Retina Display- Late 2013 2.4/8/256, iPhone 5 16GB
AnorexicPig is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 7, 2013, 12:04 PM   #2
Weaselboy
macrumors G5
 
Weaselboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
With most routers when you do a hard reset like that it resets to open wifi (no password). What brand router is it and maybe someone here can walk you through setting a PW.

Most routers can be accessed via an internal web address.For example Linksys routers are accessed via http://192.168.1.1/
Weaselboy is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 7, 2013, 02:23 PM   #3
AnorexicPig
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Winnipeg,Canada/New Delhi India
Quote:
Originally Posted by Weaselboy View Post
With most routers when you do a hard reset like that it resets to open wifi (no password). What brand router is it and maybe someone here can walk you through setting a PW.

Most routers can be accessed via an internal web address.For example Linksys routers are accessed via http://192.168.1.1/
It is D-Link,when I used this method with Win7,it just used to ask me to set it up,no such options this time-doesn't OSX has anything like this ?

EDIT : Thanks,going into the internal web address helped me set the password-thanks
__________________
MacBook Pro 13" with Retina Display- Late 2013 2.4/8/256, iPhone 5 16GB

Last edited by AnorexicPig; Feb 7, 2013 at 02:29 PM.
AnorexicPig is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 7, 2013, 10:05 PM   #4
kjmff5
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by AnorexicPig View Post
It is D-Link,when I used this method with Win7,it just used to ask me to set it up,no such options this time-doesn't OSX has anything like this ?

EDIT : Thanks,going into the internal web address helped me set the password-thanks
-another happy customer lol
__________________
I use a computer and a phone.
kjmff5 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 7, 2013, 10:33 PM   #5
AnorexicPig
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Winnipeg,Canada/New Delhi India
Quote:
Originally Posted by kjmff5 View Post
-another happy customer lol
Ah,I Love my mac to the core and my iPhone too
__________________
MacBook Pro 13" with Retina Display- Late 2013 2.4/8/256, iPhone 5 16GB
AnorexicPig is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Password Protected Partition Doesn't Prompt for Password tesla735 MacBook Air 1 Dec 23, 2013 12:16 PM
WiFi prompts password first time, but how to get the prompt again if wrong password? James717 MacBook Air 5 Aug 16, 2013 12:11 PM
safari doesn't update my wifi login information, not the wifi password dingalpha iPhone 1 Feb 8, 2013 11:43 AM
new ipad doesn't remember wifi password after update to ios 6 studmule iPad 1 Feb 2, 2013 09:20 PM
Iphone 4s doesn't remember my wifi password Docbg89 iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 2 Oct 2, 2012 07:53 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:42 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC