Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 7, 2013, 01:16 PM   #1
miknos
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Lightbulb Hacktivate iOS 6.1

I'm having problems hacktivating iOS 6.1 in my iPhone 4. In 5.1.1 I could use Redsn0w but it doesn't support 6.1. I tried redsn0w with 6.0 IPSW selected and I was able to activate (the 6.1) but most applications didn't work (Calendar, Maps, Mail...).

Is there any solution? Maybe waiting for a new Redsn0w release?
miknos is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 7, 2013, 01:35 PM   #2
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
You cant hactivate 6.1 yet.
Maybe redsnow will be able to do that when its updated.
Applejuiced is online now   1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 7, 2013, 01:56 PM   #3
mrkics
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
did you tried with sn0wbreeze ?? it has the option to hacktivate when you build the ipsw
mrkics is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 7, 2013, 02:39 PM   #4
menotiko
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
If youre on 6.1 then you can use Redsn0w. Just find a 6.0 IPSW for your device, load it then jailbreak. Youll be activated to 6.1. Worked for me. Search youtube "hacktivate 6.1" because thats what I did.
menotiko is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 7, 2013, 04:59 PM   #5
miknos
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrkics View Post
did you tried with sn0wbreeze ?? it has the option to hacktivate when you build the ipsw
I tried but iTunes didn't accept the custom IPSW (tried many times putting the iPhone in DFU mode without luck).

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by menotiko View Post
If youre on 6.1 then you can use Redsn0w. Just find a 6.0 IPSW for your device, load it then jailbreak. Youll be activated to 6.1. Worked for me. Search youtube "hacktivate 6.1" because thats what I did.
That's what I did first. I was able to hacktivate it but Apple apps didn't work (Calendar, Maps, Mail, etc). Apps I downloaded later worked (like Google Maps) and cydia wasn't installed.
miknos is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 8, 2013, 06:41 AM   #6
Kraosis
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Hi,

With the new snowbreeze (2.9.9) , by choosing simple or any other method want.
(btw all of those methods preserves baseband)

Simple mode ; jailbreaks+activates+preserves baseband.

Firstly choose your ipsw like 6.1 to be created via snowbreeze, then choose simple mode, and continue, the custom ipsw will be on your desktop.

Put your phone into dfu mode, then with iReb put your phone into Pwned dfu mode. (in addition to this, be sure that you don't have gs.apple.com on your host file, if so delete that line, else itunes will fail with error of 1600/2 etc)

Now go into itunes while your phone in pwned dfu mode,
shift+mouse click on "restore iphone..." ,
and choose the custom ipsw which is on your desktop.

you will be on 6.1 without any issues.
Kraosis is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 8, 2013, 06:49 AM   #7
miknos
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kraosis View Post
Hi,

With the new snowbreeze (2.9.9) , by choosing simple or any other method want.

Put your phone into dfu mode, then with iReb put your phone into Pwned dfu mode. (in addition to this, be sure that you don't have gs.apple.com on your host file, if so delete that line, else itunes will fail with error of 1600/2 etc)
Didn't knew I had to block a host file. I'll try that and the new sn0wbreeze.
miknos is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 8, 2013, 07:05 AM   #8
Kraosis
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
To install custom firmwares, it was used to be like that, recently it has changed, that's why i said it, you might have forgotten it there..
Kraosis is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 8, 2013, 08:02 AM   #9
miknos
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Something else,

I already upgraded my baseband to 4.12.05. Is that a problem?

And should I BLOCK or NOT gs.apple.com in my host file?

I'm trying to put the device in DFU mode and run iREB but when it finish, It says the screen should be blank but in my iPhone I see an icon to plug into iTunes. [Is that normal or maybe it's because of Parallels VM I'm using?]


Last edited by miknos; Feb 8, 2013 at 08:13 AM.
miknos is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 8, 2013, 08:39 AM   #10
Kraosis
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
you should not block, in other words that line (74.208.10.249 gs.apple.com) should not be there.

And if your iphone is simfree , you don't have to care about your baseband. It is only important for gevey users(simlocked devices).

Vmware might cause such problems, you better try without them.
For pwned dfu mode, your screen should be fully blank. Boot your iphone normally, when you reach the lockscreen, hold power button and turn it off. Later on put into dfu mode, and run iReb for pwned dfu mode.
Kraosis is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iPhone: Hacktivate iOS 7 iPhone 4 miknos Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 2 Jul 12, 2014 04:37 PM
iPhone: How to hacktivate iPhone 3GS ios 6.1.3 NO SIM maplesyzzurp Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 3 Apr 29, 2013 05:02 PM
iPhone: iPhone 4 won't activate or hacktivate LandonDonovan Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 14 Dec 29, 2012 01:38 PM
How to HACKTIVATE iPhone 3GS HakunaMatata123 Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 7 Jun 8, 2012 02:35 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:30 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC