Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Mac Peripherals

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 8, 2013, 09:13 AM   #1
jcmendes
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Airport Extreme- Very disappointed! Low range and buzz noise

I'm very disappointed with this airpor, bought to match everything in my house APPLE (ipad..ATV, MBP...etc). Simply the range of this router is quite inferior from my IPS router that provides my internet.

My house has 3 floors, the IPS router reaches the top floor with no problem, this EXTREME does not pass the second floor...very very poor range!!!

I will return, first product that disappointed me from apple . An expensive product

Last edited by jcmendes; Feb 19, 2013 at 09:31 AM.
jcmendes is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 8, 2013, 09:15 AM   #2
SandboxGeneral
Moderator
 
SandboxGeneral's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Great Lakes State
Is it at least a second generation AEBS with wireless N and is it enabled?
__________________
Magnificent Seventh
SandboxGeneral is online now   1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 8, 2013, 09:24 AM   #3
jcmendes
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
I am from Portugal the router IPS INTERNET provider is here: In portugueses, but maybe you undestand same universal especifications:

http://pplware.sapo.pt/truques-dicas...uter-da-zon/4/

I did several configurations in the airpor..mas nothing results, i think the range is simple lower!

The airport EXTREME is the last 5 generation
jcmendes is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 8, 2013, 11:23 AM   #4
davidoloan
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
It was no more powerful than our ISP router, but it is infinitely easier to configure, extremely easy to extend with airport expresses (which is a much nicer solution than trying to use one router in a large house), you can now update the firmware from your iPad with one click (did that last night on four of them which are connected together) and it works much better for homesharing than many higher spec other brands.

I think it is a great router.

Oh, and it's very reliable; hardware and software.
davidoloan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 8, 2013, 12:22 PM   #5
Enzedder
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Stand it on its edge?

Try standing the Extreme on its side and see if the coverage upstairs improves?
I often mount these on a wall and the range seems to improve at this angle.
YMMV.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jcmendes View Post
I'm very disappointed with this airpor, bought to match everything in my house APPLE (ipad..ATV, MBP...etc). Simply the range of this router is quite inferior from my IPS router that provides my internet.

My house has 3 floors, the IPS router reaches the top floor with no problem, this EXTREME does not pass the second floor...very very poor range!!!

I will return, first product that disappointed me from apple . An expensive product
Enzedder is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 8, 2013, 12:59 PM   #6
brentsg
macrumors 68020
 
brentsg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
I've never had any issues with the AEBS in my home. The unit is in my finished basement and it easily provides coverage to the 2 floors above that.

They're a dream of dependability compared to most of the wireless devices that I've used over the years.
brentsg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 2013, 10:20 AM   #7
jcmendes
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Well, before sending back, today ordered a airport EXPRESS, is much more expensive this package (extreme+ express), but we'll see if it gets really good signal..op so!!


see if everything is paired this time and how it should be!
jcmendes is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 2013, 10:23 AM   #8
blueroom
macrumors 603
 
blueroom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto, Canada
Different countries have different WiFi regulations, so one countries power output isn't necessarily the same as another.

Also 5GHz will have slightly less range than 2.4GHz
__________________
My iOS devices are not jailbroken.
Bill
My Blog
blueroom is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 12, 2013, 10:53 AM   #9
davidoloan
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcmendes View Post
Well, before sending back, today ordered a airport EXPRESS, is much more expensive this package (extreme+ express), but we'll see if it gets really good signal..op so!!


see if everything is paired this time and how it should be!
If you do extend your network wirelessly, you will have to experiment on positioning both the Extreme and Express to get the best result. You have to position the Express at the outer reach of the Extreme but where it can still get a good strong signal from the Extreme, then it will extend that signal further.

Ideally,if you can run an ethernet cable between the two you will get no loss of performance with the the Express.

Here are the two guides :

http://support.apple.com/kb/HT4260
http://support.apple.com/kb/HT4259
davidoloan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 12, 2013, 11:04 AM   #10
MonkeySee....
macrumors 68040
 
MonkeySee....'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by SandboxGeneral View Post
Is it at least a second generation AEBS with wireless N and is it enabled?
I have an AEBS only got it last year. How would I "Enable" this feature?

I live in a flat and my iPad buffers all the time when using home sharing and i'm wondering if there is something wrong.

I have 51mb connection.

Thanks for the advice.
__________________
If you’re busy making everything, how can you perfect anything? - Apple

Always keep the rhythm in your feet and a little party in your shoulders. - Phil Dunphy
MonkeySee.... is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 12, 2013, 11:42 AM   #11
SandboxGeneral
Moderator
 
SandboxGeneral's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Great Lakes State
Quote:
Originally Posted by MonkeySee.... View Post
I have an AEBS only got it last year. How would I "Enable" this feature?

I live in a flat and my iPad buffers all the time when using home sharing and i'm wondering if there is something wrong.

I have 51mb connection.

Thanks for the advice.
Using AirPort Utility 5.6, browse to the Wireless section and ensure the Radio Mode is selected with what you want, likely automatic mode.

Here are the options:

Quote:
5Ghz a/n + 2.4Ghz b/g/n (automatic mode)
5Ghz a/n + 2.4Ghz b/g
5Ghz a + 2.4Ghz b/g
__________________
Magnificent Seventh
SandboxGeneral is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 12, 2013, 01:25 PM   #12
MonkeySee....
macrumors 68040
 
MonkeySee....'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by SandboxGeneral View Post
Using AirPort Utility 5.6, browse to the Wireless section and ensure the Radio Mode is selected with what you want, likely automatic mode.

Here are the options:
Thats cool. Thanks.
__________________
If you’re busy making everything, how can you perfect anything? - Apple

Always keep the rhythm in your feet and a little party in your shoulders. - Phil Dunphy
MonkeySee.... is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 15, 2013, 05:30 PM   #13
whosnut
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Riverside, CA
Doesn't match the look of Apple products, but I'm considering this wireless router: http://www.engadget.com/2013/02/14/s...uter-repeater/. It's 300Mbps and is smaller and lighter than the Airport Extreme, so I plan to primarily use it when I travel.
whosnut is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 15, 2013, 07:12 PM   #14
cocacolakid
macrumors 6502a
 
cocacolakid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Chicago
Quote:
Originally Posted by whosnut View Post
Doesn't match the look of Apple products, but I'm considering this wireless router: http://www.engadget.com/2013/02/14/s...uter-repeater/. It's 300Mbps and is smaller and lighter than the Airport Extreme, so I plan to primarily use it when I travel.
That looks like a handy little device.
__________________
2012 Mini 2.3 i7 Samsung 840 250 GB SSD 16GB RAM
2012 13" MBP Samsung SSD, 16GB RAM
TBD, iPad 4, iPhone 4S
cocacolakid is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2013, 03:37 AM   #15
jcmendes
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Recently I noticed a noise electronic type tsss tsss when we use the net. Is it normal?

In the extreme.
jcmendes is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2013, 06:08 AM   #16
SandboxGeneral
Moderator
 
SandboxGeneral's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Great Lakes State
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcmendes View Post
Recently I noticed a noise electronic type tsss tsss when we use the net. Is it normal?

In the extreme.
Normal, not exactly. I recall seeing reports of the AEBS making noise before. Here are a few links that may help provide some insight into the issue.

AirPort Extreme Dual Audible Noise

Is there actually a FIX to the airport extreme buzzing noise?

Buzzing noise during wireless data transfers from new (model 1408) AirPort Extreme.
__________________
Magnificent Seventh
SandboxGeneral is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2013, 06:48 AM   #17
jcmendes
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Thanks sandbox, tomorrow I'll call the Apple store here in Portugal and how I'm still within the 15 days exchange, I'll ask to send me another. So this is not typical noise
jcmendes is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2013, 11:20 AM   #18
davidoloan
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcmendes View Post
Thanks sandbox, tomorrow I'll call the Apple store here in Portugal and how I'm still within the 15 days exchange, I'll ask to send me another. So this is not typical noise
It is normal.

I have 2. They both do it but not all the time.

I have never noticed the Express doing it.
davidoloan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2013, 12:32 PM   #19
SandboxGeneral
Moderator
 
SandboxGeneral's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Great Lakes State
Quote:
Originally Posted by davidoloan View Post
It is normal.

I have 2. They both do it but not all the time.

I have never noticed the Express doing it.
I don't consider it normal. Normal to me would be that it makes the noise by design; it being intended to produce it. I have an AEBS and it doesn't do this. Additionally, with Apple's knack for trying to make their products as quiet as possible, this would seem counter-productive to one of their goals.
__________________
Magnificent Seventh
SandboxGeneral is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2013, 05:27 PM   #20
davidoloan
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
OK but I have heard plenty of others doing it and mine have operated perfectly since they came out while making the sound.
davidoloan is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2013, 09:21 AM   #21
jcmendes
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
ok, tomorrow's replacement arrives, I ordered came today.

then i give feedback
jcmendes is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 2013, 04:09 PM   #22
jcmendes
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
already reached the new. seems also makes the same noise .... maybe a little less .. but it does. apparently is not defective but temper.

what a shame! But I'll stay with him, since I have 2 more express
jcmendes is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Mac Peripherals

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:27 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC