|
|
#1 |
|
Red Malware Google Page
tried to login into facebook and one of those google page "this site could harm your computer" etc. appeared. i clicked the back button. could that damage my computer? does it have a virus??? :/
|
|
|
|
0
|
|
|
#2 | |
|
Quote:
Read the What security steps should I take? section of the Mac Virus/Malware FAQ for tips on practicing safe computing. |
||
|
|
0
|
|
|
#3 |
|
Sounds like a phishing attempt. If you entered any credentials when trying to login I would change your password immediately.
|
|
|
|
0
|
|
|
#4 | |
|
Quote:
|
||
|
|
0
|
|
|
#5 | |
|
Quote:
__________________
MacBook Air 2010, 1.4ghz, 4gb, 128GB <3 my baby MacBook Pro Retina 2.3ghz, 8gb, 256gb. iPhone 5 16GB AT&T iPad 3 16GB. |
||
|
|
0
|
|
|
#6 |
|
Read my earlier posts. It's not a phishing attempt. It's simply a warning. There is nothing in the warning that asks for personal information, as a phishing attempt would. It's likely that the page was perfectly legitimate, but was mis-flagged by Google. This is a common occurrence. It has happened frequently when people are clicking on links in Google search results. While the site in question might have been a phishing site, the OP never visited it, instead clicking the back button. The only thing the OP saw was Google's warning page.
|
|
|
|
0
|
|
|
#7 | |
|
Quote:
|
||
|
|
1
|
|
|
#8 |
|
|
0
|
|
|
#9 |
|
You are correct. Its just a matter of semantics at this point.
__________________
MacBook Air 2010, 1.4ghz, 4gb, 128GB <3 my baby MacBook Pro Retina 2.3ghz, 8gb, 256gb. iPhone 5 16GB AT&T iPad 3 16GB. |
|
|
|
1
|
|
|
#10 |
|
I get this rather frequently on Chrome on my iPhone when the phone is in the process of connecting to WiFi from 3g/LTE. Going back and then returning to the page seems to solve the issue.
|
|
|
|
0
|
|
|
#11 |
|
It's not just semantics. Different courses of action are called for based on whether the OP only saw the warning page and went back, or proceeded past that to the blocked page and entered personal information.
|
|
|
|
1
|
|
|
#12 | |||
|
Quote:
Quote:
As per google's article about what the warning OP got indicates: Quote:
It looks like OP tried to visit facebook which was probably hijacked and redirected to a phishing site that tricks users into logging into facebook, but just steals their information. This isn't hard to do if OP already has malware or via a proxy/vpn, or altered DNS entry. Yes it is a phishing attempt. And yes it is semantics.
__________________
MacBook Air 2010, 1.4ghz, 4gb, 128GB <3 my baby MacBook Pro Retina 2.3ghz, 8gb, 256gb. iPhone 5 16GB AT&T iPad 3 16GB. |
||||
|
|
2
|
|
|
#13 |
|
I know exactly what phishing is. There are more reasons for that Google warning to appear beyond just phishing sites. You're making an assumption with no facts to back it up. All that is known is the OP encountered the Google warning, which could be blocking a phishing site, a site with other malware, or a perfectly safe site. Since the OP never went past the warning to discover what was on the site, there is no way you can accurately claim that it was a phishing site.
|
|
|
|
0
|
|
|
#14 |
|
Okay, so it happened again.
It happens when I'm on my university network. Before I can go online on my Mac I need to login with my student credentials to access their wifi. I enter my details into "https://securelogin.arubanetworks.com/cgi-bin/login" Then after so much time it logs out and I have to login again. So today, whilst I was on Facebook, I was browsing and the red Google page appeared telling me to be careful before I carried on with the site. It said I was trying to access Facebook and it I was being re-directed towards the link I posted above. I came off and tried to access Google and it asked me to login to the universities network again. So I'm guessing I'm safe and my Facebook account isn't compromised? It was just Google getting confused by the fact I needed to re-login? Or should I change my password, just in case? Thanks! |
|
|
|
0
|
|
|
#15 |
|
It sounds like it. You won't hurt anything by changing your password (it's not a bad idea to periodically change them), but I doubt your account has been compromised.
|
|
|
|
0
|
![]() |
|
«
Previous Thread
|
Next Thread
»
| Thread Tools | Search this Thread |
| Display Modes | |
|
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:24 PM.







Linear Mode
