Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 6, 2013, 04:40 AM   #1
leviathan1
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
3G SBSettings toggle for iPhone 5 (at&t)

Does anybody know if the SBsettings 3G toggle can be used to force the iPhone 5 (at&t) onto the edge network? I work in a building with poor 3G coverage, but very good Edge coverage. This was useful for my iPhone 4 to save battery and it would be great if it can be used on the iPhone 5 as well.
leviathan1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 6, 2013, 08:02 AM   #2
leviathan1
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Anybody? Perhaps somebody with a jailbroken iPhone 5 on at&t can simply test this out? I would like to know if the 3G toggle in sbsettings can force your phone to use the Edge network.
leviathan1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 6, 2013, 05:56 PM   #3
leviathan1
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Bump
leviathan1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 8, 2013, 04:01 AM   #4
leviathan1
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Bump
leviathan1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 8, 2013, 05:15 AM   #5
tymaster50
macrumors 68030
 
tymaster50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: New Jersey
In those 2 days you could have just tested it out yourself, obviously no one knows.
__________________
iPhone 5, iPod Touch, Apple TV, iPad Mini, MacBook Pro.
tymaster50 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 8, 2013, 05:59 AM   #6
nwmtnbiker
macrumors 65816
 
nwmtnbiker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Fidalgo Island
No it doesn't. With the toggle on it still doesn't show up on SB.
nwmtnbiker is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 8, 2013, 06:04 AM   #7
eojrr1
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
I JB for just this reason and from what I can tell, it doesn't work.. You can enable the toggle fine in sbsettings, but when you respring it doesn't actually show up.
eojrr1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 8, 2013, 07:01 AM   #8
leviathan1
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by eojrr1 View Post
I JB for just this reason and from what I can tell, it doesn't work.. You can enable the toggle fine in sbsettings, but when you respring it doesn't actually show up.
Thanks for the helpful replies. (eojrr1, nwmtnbiker)

Tymatser50... I have been waiting to get the iPhone 5 until I knew whether I could turn off 3G and force Edge. Your response was definitely useful though. Thank you for taking the time to post it.
leviathan1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 8, 2013, 12:35 PM   #9
eojrr1
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
I sent a note into the developers of sbsettings but who knows of it will do any good.
eojrr1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 8, 2013, 01:15 PM   #10
apollo1444
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: mexico
it actually works for me in mx with a carrier in mexico it forces EDGE use

dunno why it doesn't work for US att

iPhone 5 here with latest sbsettings
apollo1444 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 10, 2013, 08:40 AM   #11
leviathan1
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
GREAT NEWS... an app on cydia called BatteryDoctorPro (it has some Chinese Characters in the name on Cydia but the app is in English) allows you to use the 3G toggle to force the iPhone 5 onto the Edge network. Once you install the app, you can use it just like you would SBSettings. Even better, the 3G toggle actually appears on SBSettings so you can use that if you like.
leviathan1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 10, 2013, 07:54 PM   #12
richardc1983
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Leeds, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by leviathan1 View Post
GREAT NEWS... an app on cydia called BatteryDoctorPro (it has some Chinese Characters in the name on Cydia but the app is in English) allows you to use the 3G toggle to force the iPhone 5 onto the Edge network. Once you install the app, you can use it just like you would SBSettings. Even better, the 3G toggle actually appears on SBSettings so you can use that if you like.
Worked great thank you
richardc1983 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 2013, 05:56 AM   #13
Cyb3rfr3ak
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Just noticed today, that NCSettings is also able to disable 3G and force 2G on LTE iPhone 5. Somehow after 5x on/off it stopped toggling so I had to reboot. But then it works again
Cyb3rfr3ak is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 2013, 06:33 AM   #14
eojrr1
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Ncsettings doesn't seem to work on AT&T, the 3G toggle is there but doesn't seem to actually do anything. I do like nc setup better than sb.

I tried the Chinese battery app, I think it worked but it was just not the interface I was looking for, I may have to try again and just get used to it.
eojrr1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 2013, 09:41 AM   #15
leviathan1
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
I actually use Batterydoctorpro in addition to Sbsettings. You can set it to have toggles in the notification center just like Sbsettings. Also, once installed, Sbsettings should display the working 3G toggle.
leviathan1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 12, 2013, 01:13 PM   #16
tartooob
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by leviathan1 View Post
GREAT NEWS... an app on cydia called BatteryDoctorPro (it has some Chinese Characters in the name on Cydia but the app is in English) allows you to use the 3G toggle to force the iPhone 5 onto the Edge network. Once you install the app, you can use it just like you would SBSettings. Even better, the 3G toggle actually appears on SBSettings so you can use that if you like.
Thank you a lot, you are a genius !
tartooob is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 25, 2013, 03:57 PM   #17
leviathan1
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Just a heads up to stay away from the latest update (version 3.6.5-224) as one of the "fixes" changes the 4G toggle to LTE on the iPhone 5. While some people might like this change, it removes the ability to toggle between 4G and Edge... something that I found much more useful. People wanting to keep the ability to toggle to Edge should stay with version 3.6.1-224.
leviathan1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iPhone: Sbsettings data toggle jdaniel Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 10 Sep 16, 2013 03:21 PM
iPhone: iPhone 5 3G toggle doesnt work in NCSettings or SBsettings richardc1983 Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 13 Feb 14, 2013 10:54 AM
iPhone: Any way to get SBSETTINGS Airplane Mode toggle? shenan1982 Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 20 Feb 5, 2013 12:42 PM
iPhone: Script needed for sbsettings toggle Beyondthedearth Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 0 Nov 23, 2012 08:28 PM
General: How to make a sbsettings smtp toggle Dakrikke Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 1 Sep 8, 2012 04:37 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:18 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC