Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Digital Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 7, 2013, 05:18 PM   #1
CyrusOz
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Transfer from Camera to iMovie

I haven't had to do any video transfer or editing on Imac before so I'm a little lost. I recently videoed a friends seminar (poor lighting and audio but acceptable) and she has asked me to put it on DVD for her.

I transferred it to Imovie via the standard cable that came with the camera which looks like this onehttp://www.ylmart.com/jvc-everio-gz-hm550-cable.html. The quality isn't as good as I had hoped for, despite the fact that it was on the highest qulity recording setting and it's supposed to be HD. The video is large in size and hen I view it, it's pretty much a full imac screen but the resolution and grain appearances is poor. The video camera is a JVC everio HDD gz-hm550 and it just dawned on me that perhaps there was another cable I could use to transfer the video at a higher quality.... perhaps this one http://www.ylmart.com/mini-hdmi-to-hdmi-cable.html but i can't really tell if my Imac has that kind of cable slot

Can anybody please tell me if i'm stuck with the quality of the video I have or if there is another way to transfer it at a higher quality?

Any assistance is greatly appreciated.

CyrusOz
CyrusOz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 8, 2013, 07:29 AM   #2
daybreak
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
What version of iMovie are you using???????? and what is the quality of your video in your camcorder.
Also what input sockets do you have with your iMac. Looking from your picture of the cables you could be using the wrong ones.
Can you be a bit more precise with your information
daybreak is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 8, 2013, 07:29 AM   #3
WestSt
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Norway
Have you tried pulling the files directly from the camera, and viewing them in the original format (Quicktime Player, VLC)?

If it looks the same, then it has nothing to do with iMovie exporting to AIC format, or real time play back not showing the best quality. With the lighting and surroundings you describe, using a consumer grade camera, I'll bet the quality is the same. HD or not has nothing to do with it - even the best cameras need good light to hit the lens, to get the best quality video.
__________________
MacBook Pro 17" i7 500GB+500GB OptiBay, WD MyBook 1 TB, PowerBook 15" G4 1.67
WestSt is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 8, 2013, 09:46 AM   #4
Stixx31
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Florida
A Handycam like that records in AVCHD, and while it records a full 1920x1080 picture, most of the image is what's known as "pixel shifted," it is not full HD but brought up to that resolution, mainly for marketing purposes. That USB cable you used is the correct cable, however, iMovie cannot take those native files, so they need to be converted with something like compressor or clipwrap
Stixx31 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 8, 2013, 03:45 PM   #5
CyrusOz
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Thats all great information people, thanks very much for your input and advice.

I just tried viewing them directly from the camera into VLC player and although it's not great FULL HD it's still much better than the quality I'm seeing when playing them through imovie so it would appear it's Imovie downgrading the quality rather than a transfer issue. Definitely the lighting and camera type have played a significant role in the quality level but i need to maintain the best quality I have.

I do actually like using Imovie because it's easy and produces a semi-professional product with the transitions etc ... ie it looks pretty with very little effort from me.

Does this mean that I have to use another video editing program to maintain the highest quality or can I save the file directly from my camera into a format to import into imovie without losing quality?

Sorry to ask such dumbass questions but I really need your help. I guess I need things spelled out to me so I don't screw up.

Thanks again people
CyrusOZ
CyrusOz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 8, 2013, 05:43 PM   #6
daybreak
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
WHAT version of iMovie are you using?.
daybreak is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 8, 2013, 06:29 PM   #7
WestSt
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Norway
Quote:
Originally Posted by daybreak View Post
WHAT version of iMovie are you using?.
Answering this will enable people in here to help you out much better!

In the mean time, her is a great(!) resource: http://www.kenstone.net/fcp_homepage/imovie_09_stone.html

When iMovie imports, it encodes your files to AIC (Apple Intermediate Codec). The built in compressor in iMovie may not be the best for the job. I've not used iMovie a lot, but tried it out as an import tool, with the intention of using the video in FCP projects. What I discovered, though, was that MPEG Streamclip does a much better job exporting files to AIC. MPEG Streamclip is free, but unless you have FCP or the latest OSX, you have to get a Mpeg2 component from Apple. All the info you need is available at http://www.squared5.com/. Strongly recommended!
WestSt is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 2013, 12:39 AM   #8
CyrusOz
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
thanks very much guys, i'll try and do what you suggested Westst.

I'm currently using Imovie 09 but below in that in the "What about Imovie' window it says V 8.0.6 (821)... hopefully that helps somehow.

Thanks again for all of your assistance.
CyrusOz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 2013, 04:20 PM   #9
CyrusOz
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
i just tried Mpeg Streamclip and it says that .mts files are not supported/recognised..... any other suggestions?

I also have access to a PC and old one but it still works with XP. Is there a program I can downaloed that will convert .mts files without loss of quality so that I can edit them in imovie or fcp?
CyrusOz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 2013, 04:22 PM   #10
simsaladimbamba
Guest
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
You could try the following two methods involving free applications to get editable or playable video files from .MTS files.
simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 2013, 05:03 PM   #11
CyrusOz
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
great suggestions thanks for that. Unfortunately neither of those programs work on my damn mac..... they either quit out or need a newer version of operating system than I currently have.


PLEEEEEESSSEEE help.
CyrusOz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 2013, 05:08 PM   #12
simsaladimbamba
Guest
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
Quote:
Originally Posted by CyrusOz View Post
great suggestions thanks for that. Unfortunately neither of those programs work on my damn mac..... they either quit out or need a newer version of operating system than I currently have.


PLEEEEEESSSEEE help.
What Mac OS X version do you have then?
Still Mac OS X 10.5 Leopard?

"How to maximise your MacRumors troubleshooting experience" created by mad jew in 2006
simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 2013, 05:29 PM   #13
CyrusOz
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
I'm still on 10.5.8.
CyrusOz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 2013, 06:02 PM   #14
simsaladimbamba
Guest
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
Quote:
Originally Posted by CyrusOz View Post
I'm still on 10.5.8.
Can you spend 19 USD to get the Mac OS X 10.6 Snow Leopard Upgrade DVD from the Apple Online Store, if you have an Intel Mac? That would solve a lot of problems.
simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 2013, 06:37 PM   #15
CyrusOz
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
I can, will I lose anything during the upgrade or is a simple install/upgrade?
CyrusOz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 2013, 06:40 PM   #16
simsaladimbamba
Guest
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
Quote:
Originally Posted by CyrusOz View Post
I can, will I lose anything during the upgrade or is a simple install/upgrade?
No, it only updates the system files and applications, but making a backup before doing so is advised, doing backups in general is advised.
simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 2013, 06:50 PM   #17
CyrusOz
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
cool i think i'll do that because I've been needing to for some time but been putting it off.

In relation to this issue of the video, how will the upgrade fix my problem? Does it have QT x that allows me to saved .mts files as whatever I want or something ??? or will it simply let me run the free applications listed above?
CyrusOz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 2013, 06:51 PM   #18
simsaladimbamba
Guest
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
Quote:
Originally Posted by CyrusOz View Post
cool i think i'll do that because I've been needing to for some time but been putting it off.

In relation to this issue of the video, how will the upgrade fix my problem? Does it have QT x that allows me to saved .mts files as whatever I want or something ??? or will it simply let me run the free applications listed above?
I use Mac OS X 10.6 Snow Leopard and can run those applications I linked to quite fine, though I do not know, if it has to do with QT X.
simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 2013, 07:10 PM   #19
CyrusOz
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
ok, ridiculously stupid question but I cannot find Snow Leopard on the Apple Online store.... i can only find mountain lion .... does Snow Leopard not exist on there any more... do I have to get it elsewhere through unofficial channels or something?

Sorry to ask that but the online store confuses the ***** out of me.
CyrusOz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 2013, 07:13 PM   #20
simsaladimbamba
Guest
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
Quote:
Originally Posted by CyrusOz View Post
ok, ridiculously stupid question but I cannot find Snow Leopard on the Apple Online store.... i can only find mountain lion .... does Snow Leopard not exist on there any more... do I have to get it elsewhere through unofficial channels or something?

Sorry to ask that but the online store confuses the ***** out of me.
Normally a search of the store gets you here.
simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 2013, 08:33 PM   #21
CyrusOz
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
now I'm super confused, I tried that several times but when I put anything in the search field and hit ENTER nothing ever happened. Whenever I went through their operating systems it only listed the last two. Thanks very much for that - i'll go and find it somehow now.
CyrusOz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 2013, 08:36 PM   #22
simsaladimbamba
Guest
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
Quote:
Originally Posted by CyrusOz View Post
now I'm super confused, I tried that several times but when I put anything in the search field and hit ENTER nothing ever happened. Whenever I went through their operating systems it only listed the last two. Thanks very much for that - i'll go and find it somehow now.
Do you use the Apple Online Store (accessible via Safari or any browser) or the Mac App Store (MAS)? What happens if you click the link I provided in my previous post?

If you do not see it, here it is again.
simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 2013, 09:30 PM   #23
CyrusOz
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
I changed my browser and that link worked fine thanks, it wasn't working properly in firefox but safari got me there via your link.

Thanks mate
CyrusOz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 2013, 10:10 PM   #24
CyrusOz
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
ok so i've updated to snow leopard, i'll install those other programs you suggested and see if they work now.

Thanks again for your support.
CyrusOz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 2013, 10:31 PM   #25
CyrusOz
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Ok the first option using the Clipgrab and rewrap was working well until I dragged the .mts file into the rewrap unzipped file and then it creates the .mkv file within 1-2 seconds but the .mkv doesn't contain anything, it's zero kb.

I'm not sure what is going on, can you help me with this too please?

Thanks again mate
CyrusOz is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Digital Video

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anyway to transfer photos from a camera to an iPhone 5? Still100 iPhone 6 Aug 17, 2013 05:31 PM
How can I transfer video from Mini DV camcorder to mac using firewire without imovie? hagop Mac Applications and Mac App Store 7 Jun 3, 2013 07:08 PM
New to Mac, new iMac - trying to transfer VHS thru Hauppauge via iMovie Randomizer OS X 4 Dec 28, 2012 03:16 PM
How to transfer NON CAMERA ROLL photos to PC? Gshox iPhone 7 Oct 9, 2012 09:51 PM
Need to transfer iMovie projects from Time Machine to new mac bbchick MacBook Air 1 Sep 10, 2012 06:58 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:49 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC