Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 5, 2013, 02:26 PM   #1
jdag
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Office365Service Errors

Since the latest update to MS Office, about a week ago, I have been getting Office365Service Errors. Please see the attached.

I am on OS X 10.8.2 and MS Office 2011 14.3.0. I have not made any other system changes.

Anyone else seeing such an error? Any fixes? I did some web searching with no luck.

Thanks, John
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	error.jpg
Views:	32
Size:	49.1 KB
ID:	394698  
jdag is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2013, 05:33 PM   #2
jsharpe
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdag View Post
Since the latest update to MS Office, about a week ago, I have been getting Office365Service Errors. Please see the attached.

I am on OS X 10.8.2 and MS Office 2011 14.3.0. I have not made any other system changes.

Anyone else seeing such an error? Any fixes? I did some web searching with no luck.

Thanks, John
I'm getting the same error and found your post while searching for either a solution or a way to remove the Office365Service. I have a license for the standalone version of Office and have no interest in 365 or running any new services required to support it. Hopefully it can be removed and/or disabled without breaking the operation of the local programs.
jsharpe is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2013, 05:48 PM   #3
jdag
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by jsharpe View Post
I'm getting the same error and found your post while searching for either a solution or a way to remove the Office365Service. I have a license for the standalone version of Office and have no interest in 365 or running any new services required to support it. Hopefully it can be removed and/or disabled without breaking the operation of the local programs.
Same here...I should have mentioned that I have the stand-alone version installed.
jdag is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 2013, 12:19 AM   #4
rchristo10
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
I'm also getting the same error message. It's been going on for nearly two weeks now and it's annoying!
rchristo10 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 2013, 09:41 AM   #5
ScottNWDW
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Orlando, Florida
Send a message via MSN to ScottNWDW
It was my understanding that if you wanted to run Office 365 and had Office for Mac 2011 installed already, you would need to uninstall the standalone version and reinstall the version by downloading it from Office 365. They otherwise, do not work together.
__________________
Scott
iMac, MacBook Pro, iPhone 5, iPad Retina Mini WiFi+Cell, iPad 4 WiFi+Cell, iPod Classic, Apple TV
ScottNWDW is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 2013, 09:44 AM   #6
MacRumorUser
macrumors Demi-God
 
MacRumorUser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Ireland
Quote:
Originally Posted by ScottNWDW View Post
It was my understanding that if you wanted to run Office 365 and had Office for Mac 2011 installed already, you would need to uninstall the standalone version and reinstall the version by downloading it from Office 365. They otherwise, do not work together.
I believe so.
__________________
A gentleman is one who never hurts anyone's feelings unintentionally.
MacRumor:User
Microsoft MVP : Macintosh
MacRumorUser is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 2013, 09:46 AM   #7
jdag
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacRumorUser View Post
I believe so.
But I didn't do a thing...other than whatever update MS Office updated did automatically.
jdag is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 2013, 10:02 AM   #8
MacRumorUser
macrumors Demi-God
 
MacRumorUser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Ireland
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdag View Post
But I didn't do a thing...other than whatever update MS Office updated did automatically.
Can you post what is in the 'more information' section of the error ?
__________________
A gentleman is one who never hurts anyone's feelings unintentionally.
MacRumor:User
Microsoft MVP : Macintosh
MacRumorUser is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 2013, 10:09 AM   #9
jdag
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacRumorUser View Post
Can you post what is in the 'more information' section of the error ?
It is super long...I've had to attach as a text file as this board will not allow a post of 20,000+ characters. Here's the beginning of it. See attached for full details.



Microsoft Error Reporting log version: 2.0

Error Signature:
Exception: EXC_BAD_ACCESS
Date/Time: 2013-02-09 11:33:44 +0000
Application Name: Office365Service
Application Bundle ID: com.microsoft.Office365Service
Application Signature: O365
Application Version: 14.3.0.121105
Crashed Module Name: Security
Crashed Module Version: 55179.1
Crashed Module Offset: 0x00012d75
Blame Module Name: Office365Service
Blame Module Version: 14.3.0.121105
Blame Module Offset: 0x00011989
Application LCID: 0
Extra app info: Reg=English Loc=0x0000
Crashed thread: 8
Attached Files
File Type: txt Office365Error.txt (27.6 KB, 17 views)
jdag is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 2013, 10:19 AM   #10
MacRumorUser
macrumors Demi-God
 
MacRumorUser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Ireland
Thanks... I'll see if any of the other MVPS for Office For Mac might have a clue.

But seems security related

"Crashed Module Name: Security"...

Was the version of Office for Mac 2011 installed on the computer currently downloaded after you got Office 365 or was it downloaded prior and I have to ask is it legit. I ask because that error could indicate it see's a non valid version of Office 2011 installed.
__________________
A gentleman is one who never hurts anyone's feelings unintentionally.
MacRumor:User
Microsoft MVP : Macintosh
MacRumorUser is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 2013, 10:26 AM   #11
jdag
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacRumorUser View Post
Thanks... I'll see if any of the other MVPS for Office For Mac might have a clue.

But seems security related

"Crashed Module Name: Security"...

Was the version of Office for Mac 2011 installed on the computer currently downloaded after you got Office 365 or was it downloaded prior and I have to ask is it legit. I ask because that error could indicate it see's a non valid version of Office 2011 installed.
I really appreciate your help!

The version of Office has been on this Mac for 2 years or so. It is definitely legit. I bought a 3 pack and have a copy installed on my iMac, my wife's MBA, and my son's MBP.

All 3 installations have been in use for ~2 years and I just started receiving these errors on my iMac after the most recent MS update, which I believe was the day of their Office 365 announcement.
jdag is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 2013, 10:52 AM   #12
MacRumorUser
macrumors Demi-God
 
MacRumorUser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Ireland
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdag View Post
I really appreciate your help!

The version of Office has been on this Mac for 2 years or so. It is definitely legit. I bought a 3 pack and have a copy installed on my iMac, my wife's MBA, and my son's MBP.

All 3 installations have been in use for ~2 years and I just started receiving these errors on my iMac after the most recent MS update, which I believe was the day of their Office 365 announcement.
No problem I needed to check.

I've group messaged the Macintosh MVP's to see if anyone has come across the issue and included the error code to see if they can maybe decipher it.

I'll update you if they have any suggestions.


I assume you have done all the usual fixes - repaired permissions in Disk Utility and such.



edit__________

Have you actually activated your Office 365 on your mac with Office 2011 and your Microsoft account

https://login.live.com/login.srf?wa=...=1033&id=34134
__________________
A gentleman is one who never hurts anyone's feelings unintentionally.
MacRumor:User
Microsoft MVP : Macintosh

Last edited by MacRumorUser; Feb 9, 2013 at 11:05 AM.
MacRumorUser is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 2013, 11:16 AM   #13
jdag
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacRumorUser View Post
No problem I needed to check.

I've group messaged the Macintosh MVP's to see if anyone has come across the issue and included the error code to see if they can maybe decipher it.

I'll update you if they have any suggestions.


I assume you have done all the usual fixes - repaired permissions in Disk Utility and such.



edit__________

Have you actually activated your Office 365 on your mac with Office 2011 and your Microsoft account

https://login.live.com/login.srf?wa=...=1033&id=34134
I have verified/repaired disk permissions. Also, I just went to that URL and get this message: "It looks like you don’t have Office yet. Do you want to visit the Store to get a copy?"

That's simply not the case...I do have Office 2011. I don't have 365, and have no reason to upgrade to it.

This is pretty typical I suppose. I am not the only one with the problem (see link below) and honestly don't have the time to sort through it with MS. I hope it is corrected in the next update.

http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/m...4-12b76e77683d

http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/m...5-f7a4b319551e

http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/m...7-b42213ec4ef1

Last edited by jdag; Feb 9, 2013 at 11:31 AM.
jdag is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 2013, 11:34 AM   #14
MacRumorUser
macrumors Demi-God
 
MacRumorUser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Ireland
Oh right. Sorry I assumed you have Office 365 installed and you were having a problem with Office 365.

Ok well that dramatically changes things.



So just got response to the error log file and its definitely is a bug in the Office365 code.

One of the other MVP's suggest it appears "Office365Service has gone mad and tried to address something outside its permitted perimeter, or write to a read-only section. "

I've submitted a bug report for you.



Have you tried the temporary solution of disabling Office365service in Utilities>Activity Monitor ? Not ideal I know, if I get any other info in relation to this I'll keep you updated jdag...

MRU..
__________________
A gentleman is one who never hurts anyone's feelings unintentionally.
MacRumor:User
Microsoft MVP : Macintosh

Last edited by MacRumorUser; Feb 9, 2013 at 11:49 AM.
MacRumorUser is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 2013, 11:37 AM   #15
jdag
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacRumorUser View Post
Oh right. Sorry I assumed you have Office 365 installed and you were having a problem with Office 365.

Ok well that dramatically changes things.
I didn't think that there was actually an Office 365 for Mac yet. Just Office 2011, but with the ability to licence annually.

Anyhow, I am perfectly content with 2011...just hate the error messages!
jdag is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 2013, 04:29 PM   #16
Dakotakid
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Disabling causes Excel and Word to crash.
Dakotakid is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 2013, 11:39 PM   #17
liya1201
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dakotakid View Post
Disabling causes Excel and Word to crash.
Exactly, so that I reverted to previous version by Time Machine.
liya1201 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 12, 2013, 11:10 AM   #18
Amadeus71
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Not an isolated incident

I just want to give you guys the heads-up that the above doesn't seem to be an isolated incident. I have the same problem with a Office for Mac 2011 version that since the last Office Update seems to somehow incorporate Office365 bugs.

Same error dialogue as above, same content in the error reporting log. I have sent the error log to Microsoft about 15 times so far (each time it happens), very frustrated here.
Amadeus71 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 12, 2013, 01:31 PM   #19
MacRumorUser
macrumors Demi-God
 
MacRumorUser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Ireland
14.3.1 is out.

Please update

http://www.microsoft.com/mac/downloa...4156F2D#viewer
__________________
A gentleman is one who never hurts anyone's feelings unintentionally.
MacRumor:User
Microsoft MVP : Macintosh
MacRumorUser is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2013, 03:55 AM   #20
Amadeus71
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Thank you

I'll give it a shot; thanks a lot !
Amadeus71 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2013, 11:58 AM   #21
JonBean
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Thank you!

I spent half the night trying to figure out how to dump the 365 error, even to the extent that I located the hidden 365 app and deleted it. Guess I should have waited until MS fessed up to the crash. I just loaded the update and everything is wonderful.

Thanks again,
Jon


Quote:
Originally Posted by MacRumorUser View Post
JonBean is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2013, 01:14 PM   #22
jdag
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
The MS update does appear to have solved this problem.
jdag is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2013, 04:35 PM   #23
MacRumorUser
macrumors Demi-God
 
MacRumorUser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Ireland
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdag View Post
The MS update does appear to have solved this problem.
Have you tried removing office completely and re-installing ?
__________________
A gentleman is one who never hurts anyone's feelings unintentionally.
MacRumor:User
Microsoft MVP : Macintosh
MacRumorUser is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2013, 04:37 PM   #24
jdag
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacRumorUser View Post
Have you tried removing office completely and re-installing ?

You misread...the MS update APPEARS to have SOLVED the problem. I am all set I think.
jdag is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2013, 04:59 PM   #25
MacRumorUser
macrumors Demi-God
 
MacRumorUser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Ireland
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdag View Post
You misread...the MS update APPEARS to have SOLVED the problem. I am all set I think.
Lol. Your right I did misread it. Thank goodness ;-)
__________________
A gentleman is one who never hurts anyone's feelings unintentionally.
MacRumor:User
Microsoft MVP : Macintosh
MacRumorUser is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iPhone: 6.0.3 -> 6.1.4 (7.0) Errors ElZeus Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 10 Sep 19, 2013 01:12 AM
iPhone: q on errors in diagnostic mickehed Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 0 Feb 8, 2013 05:40 PM
iP5 Wi-fi Errors?? -BigMac- iPhone 0 Jan 29, 2013 11:39 AM
Do not disturb errors pauliewa iPhone 3 Jan 3, 2013 01:55 PM
Memtest errors? alksion iMac 6 Sep 10, 2012 02:42 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:33 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC