Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 11, 2013, 01:37 PM   #1
phearx
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
iPhone 5 unlocked with AT&T, will it work with Sprint?

Just as the title says, I've unlocked my iphone 5 with ATT does anyone have any idea if it will work with Sprint's 3g?
phearx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 2013, 02:01 PM   #2
Tallguy93
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by phearx View Post
Just as the title says, I've unlocked my iphone 5 with ATT does anyone have any idea if it will work with Sprint's 3g?
It won't work on sprint or verizon at all because it doesn't have the CDMA radio sprint requires.
Tallguy93 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 2013, 02:16 PM   #3
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
Nope.
Sprint will never activate it on their network.
They only allow Sprint iphones. Same with Verizon, they wont allow it on their network.
Your unlocked AT&T iphone 5 will work with any GSM carrier.
Key word here is GSM. NOT CDMA networks.
Applejuiced is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 2013, 02:24 PM   #4
CoMoMacUser
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
So it won't run on Sprint's LTE network?
CoMoMacUser is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 2013, 02:43 PM   #5
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
Quote:
Originally Posted by CoMoMacUser View Post
So it won't run on Sprint's LTE network?
It wont run on Sprint anything at all.
No LTE, no 3G, no text messages, no mms nothing, Zero, zip.
Applejuiced is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 2013, 02:55 PM   #6
bohbot16
macrumors 6502a
 
bohbot16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Your best bet is to use it with an AT&T MVNO like Straight Talk.
bohbot16 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 2013, 03:47 PM   #7
xraydoc
macrumors Demi-God
 
xraydoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Top left corner
There's nothing at all you can do to make a non-Sprint iPhone work on Sprint's network. Nothing.

Same goes for Verizon and non-Verizon iPhones. There's no way to make it work on Verizon's network. None.

In either of these two scenarios, your only real option is to sell the phone and purchase a new one.

An iPhone 5 from any carrier, if SIM-unlocked, will run on T-Mobile but only insofar as GSM 2G (and 3G/3.5G in select areas only). I do not believe it will run on T-Mobile's LTE network at all. Same goes for the various MVNOs.

All iPhone 5's have "world-compatible" GSM chips which will work on compatible 2G and 3G networks, though not all iPhone 5's are SIM-unlocked. Verizon's iPhone 5 is SIM-unlocked from the factory. Sprint's I'm not sure about - they may be locked to domestic carriers and unlocked to foreign carriers. AT&T iPhone 5's are locked and you'll need to get them to unlock it for you (requires your contract to be completed and account in good standing). You can buy factory-unlocked iPhones for full retail price.

Do not expect an iPhone 5 to work on any LTE network but it's "home" network. Each model is specifically set for certain LTE bands and if you don't have the proper band set on your phone, there's no way to get LTE service (or change bands for that matter).
__________________
3.5GHz i7 27" iMac 1.8GHz i7 11" MacBook Air 2.5GHz i5 Mac mini + 27" Thunderbolt display
4TB RAID 10 8TB RAID 0 6TB RAID 0 2TB Time Capsule ac White/silver iPhone 5S & iPad Air
xraydoc is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 12, 2013, 02:59 AM   #8
kevintech
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by xraydoc View Post
An iPhone 5 from any carrier, if SIM-unlocked, will run on T-Mobile but only insofar as GSM 2G (and 3G/3.5G in select areas only). I do not believe it will run on T-Mobile's LTE network at all. Same goes for the various MVNOs.

Do not expect an iPhone 5 to work on any LTE network but it's "home" network. Each model is specifically set for certain LTE bands and if you don't have the proper band set on your phone, there's no way to get LTE service (or change bands for that matter).
https://support.t-mobile.com/thread/...oredirect=true
kevintech is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 15, 2013, 11:53 AM   #9
mattoly
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Question

Phearx: I'm in the opposite boat. I've got a Sprint iPhone 5 I'm trying to make work on AT&T. would you consider a trade that would give us both what we want? feel free to private message me.
mattoly is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 15, 2013, 01:38 PM   #10
PsstGreek
macrumors 68040
 
PsstGreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Tampa Bay
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattoly View Post
Phearx: I'm in the opposite boat. I've got a Sprint iPhone 5 I'm trying to make work on AT&T. would you consider a trade that would give us both what we want? feel free to private message me.
A Sprint iPhone 5 will not work AT&T.
__________________
iMac + iPhone 5
PsstGreek is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 15, 2013, 01:42 PM   #11
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
Quote:
Originally Posted by PsstGreek View Post
A Sprint iPhone 5 will not work AT&T.
He wants to trade with the OP.
I'd also list it on CL for a trade to an iphone of whatever company you want to switch to.
People leave and switch from carrier to carrier so you might find someone that will find your sprint iphone usefull or viseversa.
Applejuiced is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 15, 2013, 01:44 PM   #12
PsstGreek
macrumors 68040
 
PsstGreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Tampa Bay
Quote:
Originally Posted by Applejuiced View Post
He wants to trade with the OP.
I'd also list it on CL for a trade to an iphone of whatever company you want to switch to.
People leave and switch from carrier to carrier so you might find someone that will find your sprint iphone usefull or viseversa.
Aha and it's all clear now
__________________
iMac + iPhone 5
PsstGreek is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 28, 2014, 07:41 PM   #13
GeniusLv
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
T-Mobile's LTE Accepts All GSM Unlocked IPhones
GeniusLv is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 28, 2014, 08:06 PM   #14
eyoungren
macrumors 601
 
eyoungren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Phoenix, AZ USA
Send a message via AIM to eyoungren Send a message via MSN to eyoungren Send a message via Yahoo to eyoungren Send a message via Skype™ to eyoungren
Quote:
Originally Posted by xraydoc View Post
…Verizon's iPhone 5 is SIM-unlocked from the factory. Sprint's I'm not sure about - they may be locked to domestic carriers and unlocked to foreign carriers.…
Sprints iPhones are NEVER unlocked. Before Sprint ditched contracts any full price Sprint iPhone was simply contract-free. Lots of people got tripped up by this and thought it was unlocked. Since Sprint iPhones tend to be cheaper precisely because Sprint will NOT unlock them the gullible person looking for an unlocked iPhone at a firesale price got screwed - and the seller got rid of a problem. Now, with contracts gone you are simply paying full price for a locked to Sprint, contract-free iPhone.

Sprint will unlock for International use only. You have to be a customer on a non-spending limit account for 90 days with your bill paid on time. Then and only then can you call Sprint and ask them for an international unlock.

Sprint, will never under any circumstances give you a domestic carrier unlock. The SIMs in the iPhone are paired with the phone and the phone will not work on the network if that paired SIM is missing - which it would be if you were trying to use a different SIM.

You will note that there are NO legitimate Sprint iPhone unlock vendors. That's because Sprint makes this impossible.
__________________
Erik Youngren PowerMac G4 2x1.73GHZ | iPhone 5 64GB Black, iOS 6.1-JB, Sprint
Sprint iPhone owners, THERE IS NO DOMESTIC UNLOCK!
eyoungren is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 28, 2014, 08:12 PM   #15
iamMacPerson
macrumors 6502a
 
iamMacPerson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: SoCal
Also worth noting for those thinking of buying a used iPhone 5 for Verizon, while it is fully unlocked for GSM, the LTE will only work on Verizon. The Verizon 5s (and 5c I believe) have most/all LTE bands, so while it is a Verizon iPhone LTE (along with everything else) will work on a GSM carrier such as TMO, ATT, and prepaid services as long as you have a 5s (and maybe a 5c, someone will have to confirm) thats a Verizon iPhone.

This will probably also make the Verizon iPhone 5s more desirable when buying second hand as it is the only version of the 5s that will work on GSM carriers and Verizon because it does have the CDMA radios.
iamMacPerson is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:57 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC