Go Back   MacRumors Forums > News and Article Discussion > MacRumors.com News Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 30, 2013, 02:08 PM   #251
MrXiro
macrumors 68020
 
MrXiro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Quote:
Originally Posted by apple-win View Post
Remote App is fixed
Just saw the app update!
__________________
Whole lotta Apples, very little $.
MrXiro is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2013, 02:19 PM   #252
thleeal
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by nelmat View Post
And how would you browse pages, interact with roll down menus, follow links in text? This would be a horrible experience...
oh no, sorry i had not made myself clear.
to use this feature one would connect a Keyboard and trackpad over bluetooth.
and enjoy a browsing experience from the couch.

you make a valid point in regards to using the browser with only the remote.
thank you for your input.
thleeal is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2013, 05:05 PM   #253
lja
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Airplay no longer works ?

Installed 5.2, now airplay doesn't work from my (or the GFs) iPhone/iPad.
lja is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2013, 07:54 PM   #254
Rumple
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Seems this update introduced a ton of bugs to my apple tv. Netflix errors, and hulu plus left and right.
Rumple is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2013, 05:16 PM   #255
Apple a Day
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Anyone else have the issue after updating where iTunes in the cloud doesn't show all of your music purchases? It only shows approx. half of mine.
Apple a Day is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 1, 2013, 11:27 AM   #256
whosnut
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Riverside, CA
The update took a long time for me, but I didn't have any remote problems. I use a Satechi remote (http://www.satechi.net/index.php/blu...-smart-pointer) and it's been working really well for me.
whosnut is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 3, 2013, 12:45 PM   #257
Stevamundo
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2008
The new Bluetooth doesn't work on my 3rd gen.

I already have my iMac's Bluetooth keyboard, I don't need another do I?

The Bluetooth section of my 3rd generation Apple TV says "Searching" with the circular spin lines after that. However it doesn't do anything after that.
__________________
Steve Harper-Webmaster: http://madentec.com/intro/
Get the latest and greatest in assistive technology.
Stevamundo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 3, 2013, 01:17 PM   #258
charlituna
macrumors 604
 
charlituna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stevamundo View Post
I already have my iMac's Bluetooth keyboard, I don't need another do I?

The Bluetooth section of my 3rd generation Apple TV says "Searching" with the circular spin lines after that. However it doesn't do anything after that.
Did you verify that the keyword isn't paired with the iMac. That can create issues using it with something else. If it is still connected, disconnect it and try again. See if that solves it

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by 840quadra View Post
I assume they want you to utilize iCloud as opposed to your local system for this. I know it doesn't fix the issue of ripped movies, since they don't yet match our own personal video content at this time.

Would be nice for Apple to at least offer that option too.
Studios would never allow it. And certainly not without requiring Apple to charge like $100 up a year (on top of the $25 for music). And would probably make them restrict matched videos to the SD versions. And that would be just for movies. Get the nets in this as well and it would be another $100 up a year for shows as well. Restricted to SD and geographies. No uploading either. If its not in local store, no go.
charlituna is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 3, 2013, 01:34 PM   #259
charlituna
macrumors 604
 
charlituna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by ck2875 View Post
Settings > iTunes Store > Accounts > Add New Account

Then when you want to switch accounts, you go back there and you'll see "Switch to Account" with the ones you've added listed.

It's a relatively new feature. I think it was added with the previous update.
It would be nice if you could see everything from all accounts on one list regardless of source (just divided by media type). So the only reason you might have to go there is to select which account to buy something from.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by bohbot16 View Post
Apple might need to be involved depending on how the TV app is written. For all we know Netflix provides the API and Apple writes the software.
It would be the other way around. That said there are ways in the SDK to create controller links between iOS devices so it is likely possible to do so with a device and Apple TV or could be if someone big like Netflix asked.

I say submit the idea to Netflix. If not within their main app, then perhaps a Netflix Remote app. If enough folks do it then perhaps it will happen. Submit the idea of a controller mode for Apple TV apps to the device copy to Apple as well, in case it isn't in the SDK.
charlituna is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 3, 2013, 01:57 PM   #260
charlituna
macrumors 604
 
charlituna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by BulkHedd View Post
Will we ever get the ability to play iTunes Extras on our Apple TV 2/3???
When the studios get their heads out of their butts. They don't want to allow this because they want to keep selling discs. It's moronic.

If they had a real clue they would allow it and also add more features to basically everything (TV shows included). Really let folks have a choice between digital or disc. Such things would make the same as disc prices not so insane. And if they want to something a little more indie like how Warners did their apps they need to make the movies appear independently for those that want to watch the movie on a device without the other stuff.

But the guys in charge of my industry are stupid and see everything as hurting the (insanely outdated) ratings or making it easier to pirate.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dingerz View Post
Can I ask a question. Do any of your with Apple TV have issues with the AirPlay default being stuck on OFF every time you turn on your TV?

It drives me nuts that I have to go into settings to turn it ON before it works each time. I am curious to know if it is only me, or a common issue. Thanks.
We had that happen a couple of months ago with the one that we have in the production trailer. I restored it off our laptop and it hasn't had any issues again

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigDukeSix View Post
Absolutely correct. If the media companies would be willing to work out some deals, I am sure Apple would be all over it.
I disagree. I don't think that Apple really wants iTunes Video Match at all. what they want is more likely to get folks off buying discs completely. And with a few tweaks like better quality, pricing etc they could reach it. Maybe at some point in the future they might work on some kind of match system but it is probably a second tier, even fifth tier, concern at this point.
charlituna is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2013, 10:43 PM   #261
CSpackler
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by IbisDoc View Post
Not sure what the advantage of this would be. Wouldn't any TV in a home entertainment setup already have connected speakers? Does anyone actually even make dual stereo speakers for airplay (not the single box that booms out "stereo")?

Please someone...explain.
My atv is connected directly to a preamp via optical, which in turn feeds a huge power amp. Never once does audio pass through a tv or hdmi cable. In fact, my tv is a plasma monitor without speakers.

Now I can finally play audio from YouTube movies without having my tv on.

Previously it wouldn't play without the hdmi video handshake.

Rejoice!!!
CSpackler is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 8, 2013, 11:58 PM   #262
Stevamundo
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by charlituna View Post
Did you verify that the keyword isn't paired with the iMac. That can create issues using it with something else. If it is still connected, disconnect it and try again. See if that solves it.
I tried to turn the Bluetooth off in my iMac but that didn't work. If you can unpair the keyboard, how do you do that? Thanks.
__________________
Steve Harper-Webmaster: http://madentec.com/intro/
Get the latest and greatest in assistive technology.

Last edited by Stevamundo; Feb 9, 2013 at 12:06 AM.
Stevamundo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 2013, 02:26 PM   #263
dXTC
macrumors 68000
 
dXTC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Up, up in my studio, studio
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stevamundo View Post
I tried to turn the Bluetooth off in my iMac but that didn't work. If you can unpair the keyboard, how do you do that? Thanks.
With the keyboard within range, click on the Bluetooth icon in the iMac's menu bar. In the menu list, you should find the keyboard (along with any other BT devices such as a mouse). Click it, and select Disconnect. This should "unpair" the keyboard, allowing you to pair it with the Apple TV.
__________________
dXTC
stuff: iMac 21.5" i3 MBP 17" Two 5g iPod nanos iMac G4 and more
...geeve to me LAAAHRGE keess!
dXTC is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 2013, 04:29 PM   #264
chrfr
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by dXTC View Post
Click it, and select Disconnect. This should "unpair" the keyboard, allowing you to pair it with the Apple TV.
That won't unpair the keyboard. You need to go into System Preferences, Bluetooth and remove it from that list to unpair it.
chrfr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 12, 2013, 10:07 PM   #265
dXTC
macrumors 68000
 
dXTC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Up, up in my studio, studio
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrfr View Post
That won't unpair the keyboard. You need to go into System Preferences, Bluetooth and remove it from that list to unpair it.
(sound of palm slapping forehead)
OP, nevermind my answer. I stand corrected.
__________________
dXTC
stuff: iMac 21.5" i3 MBP 17" Two 5g iPod nanos iMac G4 and more
...geeve to me LAAAHRGE keess!
dXTC is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2013, 12:10 PM   #266
SmileyBlast!
macrumors 6502a
 
SmileyBlast!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
They should put a safari app on the Apple TV.
SmileyBlast! is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2013, 07:37 PM   #267
MacSince'85
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stevamundo View Post
I already have my iMac's Bluetooth keyboard, I don't need another do I?

The Bluetooth section of my 3rd generation Apple TV says "Searching" with the circular spin lines after that. However it doesn't do anything after that.
If it is a white plastic BT Keyboard (A1016) and not the aluminum newer style it won't work with an iOS device.

http://support.apple.com/kb/HT4112

Last edited by MacSince'85; Feb 16, 2013 at 10:47 PM.
MacSince'85 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > News and Article Discussion > MacRumors.com News Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why does Apple Enable Bluetooth after Updates -BigMac- iOS 7 41 Apr 29, 2014 12:59 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:35 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps