Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 12, 2013, 07:03 AM   #1
MythicFrost
macrumors 68040
 
MythicFrost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Australia
WiFi sort of dropping out periodically on iMac, doesn't happen in Windows 7 though

Hi,

I've got an AEBS (4th gen, I think) and an iMac -- they are quite far away, but the WiFi bar shows three signals, and I get good upload/download speeds.

Periodically the internet just stops working. This issue is the same on my iPad. It's not disconnected, as it still shows it's connected to my network but AirPort utility can't find the AEBS, and anything internet related just gets stuck (like loading a webpage).

Strangely enough, I have no problems with this under Windows 7.

I considered that it could be the AEBS (apparently the 4th gen was kind of faulty for long distances?) but I'm not sure. Doesn't make sense it works with Windows 7.
__________________
(Log Book Buddy) - (Quick Kana)
MythicFrost is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 12, 2013, 07:57 AM   #2
tersono
macrumors 68000
 
tersono's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: UK
Sounds to me that your problem isn't signal strength but something else entirely.

Is your AEBS allocating IPs via DHCP or is your gear picking up IPs from your primary router?

The reason why I ask is that the way some third-party routers deliver IP addresses via DHCP can cause drop-outs on certain computers - including Apple kit.

The way around this is to either use static IPs or to set your AEBS up to allocate your IPs via DHCP rather than the main router. Either method should fix the problem
__________________
11" MacBook air 2012 i5 4gb/ 128gb - 17" unibody MBP C2D 2.8Gz / 4gb / 500gb - 20" iMac 2ghz C2D / 4gb/ 2tb - iPad 3 32gb wifi/3G - iPhone 5 16gb
I also like it HERE
tersono is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 12, 2013, 04:22 PM   #3
MythicFrost
Thread Starter
macrumors 68040
 
MythicFrost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by tersono View Post
Sounds to me that your problem isn't signal strength but something else entirely.

Is your AEBS allocating IPs via DHCP or is your gear picking up IPs from your primary router?

The reason why I ask is that the way some third-party routers deliver IP addresses via DHCP can cause drop-outs on certain computers - including Apple kit.

The way around this is to either use static IPs or to set your AEBS up to allocate your IPs via DHCP rather than the main router. Either method should fix the problem
Thanks for your reply,

My AEBS is handling DHCP+NAT. The router (or gateway) is just giving the AEBS signal via the cable.
__________________
(Log Book Buddy) - (Quick Kana)
MythicFrost is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 12, 2013, 08:35 PM   #4
satcomer
macrumors 601
 
satcomer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Upstate NYS
Just remember in any home network it is best to have the router nearest to your ISP modem the one to do NAT & DHCP. Any router after that needs to have NAT turned off so in Apple routers it is called "Bridged Mode".
__________________
Mac Pro Dual 2.8 Quad(Rev B.), 16 G RAM, OS X 10.9, 23'' LCD
Mac Book Pro Core 2 Duo 2.16Ghz, SuperDrive, 2G RAM, OS X 10.7.5
iPad 3, 32 black
satcomer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2013, 05:21 AM   #5
MythicFrost
Thread Starter
macrumors 68040
 
MythicFrost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by satcomer View Post
Just remember in any home network it is best to have the router nearest to your ISP modem the one to do NAT & DHCP. Any router after that needs to have NAT turned off so in Apple routers it is called "Bridged Mode".
I believe that's how I have it setup. I have a gateway modem which is what the cable connects into, and I connect it to the AEBS via ethernet. The gateway has DHCP and NAT turned off, and the AEBS is configured to handle both of those.
__________________
(Log Book Buddy) - (Quick Kana)
MythicFrost is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2013, 06:41 PM   #6
MythicFrost
Thread Starter
macrumors 68040
 
MythicFrost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Australia
Bump. Anyone know?
__________________
(Log Book Buddy) - (Quick Kana)
MythicFrost is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 14, 2013, 09:53 AM   #7
satcomer
macrumors 601
 
satcomer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Upstate NYS
Get the free software iStumbler Beta and see what your router wireless channel is broadcasting on compared to other wireless points around you. This way you can change your yours to be different from the others.
__________________
Mac Pro Dual 2.8 Quad(Rev B.), 16 G RAM, OS X 10.9, 23'' LCD
Mac Book Pro Core 2 Duo 2.16Ghz, SuperDrive, 2G RAM, OS X 10.7.5
iPad 3, 32 black
satcomer is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My iPad Mini doesn't show up in iTunes with Windows 8 while on WIFI koesherbacon iPad Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 2 Jun 8, 2014 08:48 PM
Wifi dropping - Mid 2011 iMac CharlieBrandt09 iMac 9 May 16, 2014 09:15 AM
Limited WiFi connectivity in Windows 8 (Cold booting doesn't work) Brandon263 Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 4 Oct 11, 2013 06:22 PM
Imac 21.5" wifi constantly dropping out! jaketindell iMac 1 Sep 16, 2013 09:21 PM
27" iMac periodically locks up with 10.8.2 jmpage2 OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 4 Nov 25, 2012 08:12 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:22 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC