Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 12, 2013, 03:46 AM   #1
craisin
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: New Zealand
So whats the limit on later G4 Emac hdds

I have a 1.25ghz G4 my friend has 2 G4s with 1.42ghz cpu
He has 2x200 gig Seagate Hdds to put in his Emacs the 200 gigs is really 186.3 gigs.
I have a 160 gig WD hdd
Is there any issues we skould expect?
craisin is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 12, 2013, 03:48 PM   #2
Intell
macrumors P6
 
Intell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Inside
Your eMac will be able to use the full drive and it is not limited to only the first 128GB.
__________________
Last edited by Intell; Yesterday at 3:16 AM.
Intell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 12, 2013, 03:50 PM   #3
zackkmac
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Tulsa
I installed a 320GB in a 1.42GHz with no issues. The only machine that I personally know of that limits to 128GB is the iMac G3.
__________________
27" iMac 3.5GHz i7, 780M 4GB, 32GB RAM, 3TB FD
13" MacBook Pro Retina 2.6GHz i5, 8GB RAM, 512GB SSD
13" MacBook Pro 2.5GHz i5, 16GB RAM, 256GB SSD
17" iMac G4 1.25GHz, 2GB RAM, 80GB HD
zackkmac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 12, 2013, 03:52 PM   #4
ickystay
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
I had a 500gb ata drive in mine. No problems.
__________________
iMac 17" 2.0 Ghz C2D 3GB OSX 10.6.8
Powermac G5 2.0 Ghz DP 4GB OSX 10.4.11
iMac G5 1.6 Ghz 2GB OSX 10.4.11
PB G3 Pismo 400MHz 1GB OSX 10.3.9 OS 9.2.2
ickystay is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 12, 2013, 04:09 PM   #5
Intell
macrumors P6
 
Intell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Inside
Quote:
Originally Posted by zackkmac View Post
I installed a 320GB in a 1.42GHz with no issues. The only machine that I personally know of that limits to 128GB is the iMac G3.
All G3 and older Macs as well as some of the pre-1Ghz G4's have 128GB limits on their ATA bus.
__________________
Last edited by Intell; Yesterday at 3:16 AM.
Intell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2013, 12:44 AM   #6
craisin
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: New Zealand
thanks thats good to know
craisin is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iBook G3 with 2 HDDs? RedCroissant PowerPC Macs 10 Nov 19, 2013 12:52 PM
What are you doing with your HDDs? Michael73 Mac Pro 33 Nov 6, 2013 02:03 PM
Need help securely wiping eMac HDDs Stryker412 PowerPC Macs 9 Jul 4, 2013 06:29 AM
New HDDs jonproject iMac 2 Oct 23, 2012 03:09 PM
iTunes Match 25,000 limit/Amazon Cloud Player 250,000 limit kingledley Mac Applications and Mac App Store 1 Jul 31, 2012 04:03 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:27 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC