Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Buying Tips and Advice

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 12, 2013, 10:44 PM   #1
zacnoo
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Cyberspace
Send a message via Skype™ to zacnoo
16GB(2x8GB) DDR3-1666 RAM in Macbook White mid-2010

Hi. I currently have 4GB of RAM in my Macbook White Unibody (mid-2010). I am in need of an upgrade to 8GB or preferably 16GB, has anybody tested it?. Also, I am wondering about the speeds, it says that the RAM is 1067 (1066Mhz), If I got some DDR3-1666 or DDR3-1333 RAM, would it actually have an effect on performance? (Or work at all for that matter.)
I am also aware that 8GB or 16GB is over Apples official limit (4GB) but I've heard that it has been tested to 16GB on Mountain Lion (I have ML.)

Thank you for reading,
zacnoo
zacnoo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 12, 2013, 11:16 PM   #2
RedCroissant
macrumors 68000
 
RedCroissant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Arizona
Quote:
Originally Posted by zacnoo View Post
Hi. I currently have 4GB of RAM in my Macbook White Unibody (mid-2010). I am in need of an upgrade to 8GB or preferably 16GB, has anybody tested it?. Also, I am wondering about the speeds, it says that the RAM is 1067 (1066Mhz), If I got some DDR3-1666 or DDR3-1333 RAM, would it actually have an effect on performance? (Or work at all for that matter.)
I am also aware that 8GB or 16GB is over Apples official limit (4GB) but I've heard that it has been tested to 16GB on Mountain Lion (I have ML.)

Thank you for reading,
zacnoo
I don't know if the RAM frequency will cause problems for you, but it hasn't for me. I have an early 2009 20" iMac that's supposed to take 1066MHz and I have 8GB of 1333MHz installed.

I would assume that everymac.com specs are correct and the 16GB on ML is correct. Just be sure to update the EFI and the OS BEFORE buying and installing the RAM.
__________________
Welcome to the Grid, Program.

27" iMac, 3.2GHz i5, 16GB RAM, 3TB HDD; 32GB iPad 1 WiFi+3G; 30GB iPod Video 5G
RedCroissant is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 12, 2013, 11:37 PM   #3
zacnoo
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Cyberspace
Send a message via Skype™ to zacnoo
Quote:
Originally Posted by RedCroissant View Post
I don't know if the RAM frequency will cause problems for you, but it hasn't for me. I have an early 2009 20" iMac that's supposed to take 1066MHz and I have 8GB of 1333MHz installed.

I would assume that everymac.com specs are correct and the 16GB on ML is correct. Just be sure to update the EFI and the OS BEFORE buying and installing the RAM.
Did it propose a performance increase? (Having 1333MHz instead of 1067MHz.)
The reason I'm asking about the speed is whether it will actually be worth paying extra for 1333/1666MHz or if it doesn't have any advantage over 1067MHz.

Thanks for the speedy response,
zacnoo
__________________
MacBook
13-inch, Mid 2010
Processor 2.4 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo Graphics nVidia GeForce 320m 256 MB
Memory 4 GB 1067 MHz DDR3 Software OS X 10.8.2
zacnoo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2013, 12:55 AM   #4
RedCroissant
macrumors 68000
 
RedCroissant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Arizona
Quote:
Originally Posted by zacnoo View Post
Did it propose a performance increase? (Having 1333MHz instead of 1067MHz.)
The reason I'm asking about the speed is whether it will actually be worth paying extra for 1333/1666MHz or if it doesn't have any advantage over 1067MHz.

Thanks for the speedy response,
zacnoo
Your computer will recognize that it is a different frequency, but I don't think you'll gain anything because the computer itself is rated for a specific RAM frequency. This was just cheaper than the 1066MHz, so I bought it.
__________________
Welcome to the Grid, Program.

27" iMac, 3.2GHz i5, 16GB RAM, 3TB HDD; 32GB iPad 1 WiFi+3G; 30GB iPod Video 5G
RedCroissant is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2013, 02:36 AM   #5
zacnoo
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Cyberspace
Send a message via Skype™ to zacnoo
Quote:
Originally Posted by RedCroissant View Post
Your computer will recognize that it is a different frequency, but I don't think you'll gain anything because the computer itself is rated for a specific RAM frequency. This was just cheaper than the 1066MHz, so I bought it.
Okay, thanks So, I guess I'm stuck with 1066Mhz then

To-buy list:
2x8GB DDR3-1066

Thanks for the info,
zacnoo
__________________
MacBook
13-inch, Mid 2010
Processor 2.4 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo Graphics nVidia GeForce 320m 256 MB
Memory 4 GB 1067 MHz DDR3 Software OS X 10.8.2
zacnoo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2013, 06:42 AM   #6
dreadnort
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Your Mid 2010 macbook wont see 16gb i beleive the max you can get in one is 8GB. have higher speed memory wont make a difference either it will be clocked down to 1066
__________________
MacBook Pro 15" none retina 16gb ram, 32GB Ipad2 3g, Samsung Galaxy S3
dreadnort is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2013, 11:34 AM   #7
Giuly
macrumors 68040
 
Giuly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: That depends whether you ask for timezone, state of mind or GPS coordinates.
The CPU is connected to the MCP79 via a 1066MHz FSB, so you won't see a difference in CPU performance.

But as the MCP79 houses the GPU and the memory controller, the graphics will perform slightly better with 1333MHz RAM.
Giuly is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 15, 2013, 01:38 AM   #8
zacnoo
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Cyberspace
Send a message via Skype™ to zacnoo
Quote:
Originally Posted by Giuly View Post
The CPU is connected to the MCP79 via a 1066MHz FSB, so you won't see a difference in CPU performance.

But as the MCP79 houses the GPU and the memory controller, the graphics will perform slightly better with 1333MHz RAM.
How slightly? 5% or less? If so, I think just getting the 1066 RAM will be easier and cheaper.

Thanks for the reply,
zacnoo
__________________
MacBook
13-inch, Mid 2010
Processor 2.4 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo Graphics nVidia GeForce 320m 256 MB
Memory 4 GB 1067 MHz DDR3 Software OS X 10.8.2
zacnoo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 15, 2013, 02:45 AM   #9
zacnoo
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Cyberspace
Send a message via Skype™ to zacnoo
Quote:
Originally Posted by dreadnort View Post
Your Mid 2010 macbook wont see 16gb i beleive the max you can get in one is 8GB. have higher speed memory wont make a difference either it will be clocked down to 1066
http://www.everymac.com/systems/appl...010-specs.html It says that it's 16 with Lion and up.
__________________
MacBook
13-inch, Mid 2010
Processor 2.4 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo Graphics nVidia GeForce 320m 256 MB
Memory 4 GB 1067 MHz DDR3 Software OS X 10.8.2
zacnoo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 15, 2013, 05:56 AM   #10
Giuly
macrumors 68040
 
Giuly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: That depends whether you ask for timezone, state of mind or GPS coordinates.
Quote:
Originally Posted by zacnoo View Post
How slightly? 5% or less? If so, I think just getting the 1066 RAM will be easier and cheaper.

Thanks for the reply,
zacnoo
Actually, they cost about the same, and 8GB 1066MHz DIMMs are pretty rare so they might even cost more.

Last edited by Giuly; Feb 15, 2013 at 06:01 AM.
Giuly is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 15, 2013, 11:13 AM   #11
rodedwards
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Ram on Ebay

I've upgraded to 32Gb 1033mhz but can't tell a hell of a lot of difference. Doubt 1066 will be noticeable either.

Last edited by rodedwards; Feb 15, 2013 at 03:50 PM.
rodedwards is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 17, 2013, 03:34 PM   #12
samov
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Watch out... using higher spec ram will cause your gpu to overclock and crash in graphics intensive games. You won't notice it since the 320m actually takes overclocking quite well...

The older 9400m in the late 2008 model was much more sensitive about memory.

Always use the required spec ram of 1066 mhz...

----------

What kind of mac do you have?

Quote:
Originally Posted by rodedwards View Post
I've upgraded to 32Gb 1033mhz but can't tell a hell of a lot of difference. Doubt 1066 will be noticeable either.
samov is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 17, 2013, 04:33 PM   #13
calaverasgrande
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: ?
I think it is a good rule of thumb not to exceed the standard ram speed by more than bump. For instance, if it came with 666mhz ram, 800 is a safe bet. if it came with 10333 than 10666 should be fine.
Also be aware that some types of ram that fit are not compatible at all. For instance there are DDR2 and DDR3 ram modules that are physically identical and will both fit the same slot, but only one type will function.
As far as buying higher speed ram, I have never seen a Mac sold with one speed of ram, suddenly accept a higher speed ram AND switch to that higher speed. Instead it will just underclock the faster ram.
calaverasgrande is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 17, 2013, 05:11 PM   #14
fortysomegeek
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
What you need to do is see if your CPU supports 16GB. Some older intel chips simply don't.

You'll need to find the CPU name and make and then google "intel ark " and your model number.
Once you get to the Intel ARK site, it will tell you your maximum ram you can run (if your bios supports it). If your bios has no limit (macs usually don't have any limits), that is the max ram you can upgrade to.

Here is an example.
If I wanted to know the max ram for an i5 found in some Airs, I google: "ark Core i5-2467M" and it returns
http://ark.intel.com/products/56858
which tells me the maximum ram is 8GB.


To get your CPU model and make, find your cpu by typing this in the terminal:

sysctl -n machdep.cpu.brand_string

To get full CPU info, run in command:

sysctl -a | grep machdep.cpu

Once you get your make and model, simply "ark it"

Intel's ark site will give you the definitive answer over what any manufacture or anonymous internet poster tells you.
fortysomegeek is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 18, 2013, 09:13 AM   #15
Giuly
macrumors 68040
 
Giuly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: That depends whether you ask for timezone, state of mind or GPS coordinates.
Quote:
Originally Posted by calaverasgrande View Post
I think it is a good rule of thumb not to exceed the standard ram speed by more than bump. For instance, if it came with 666mhz ram, 800 is a safe bet. if it came with 10333 than 10666 should be fine.
Also be aware that some types of ram that fit are not compatible at all. For instance there are DDR2 and DDR3 ram modules that are physically identical and will both fit the same slot, but only one type will function.
As far as buying higher speed ram, I have never seen a Mac sold with one speed of ram, suddenly accept a higher speed ram AND switch to that higher speed. Instead it will just underclock the faster ram.
The notches on DDR2 and DDR3 are different, so it won't physically fit.

Mid-2010 machines came with 1066MHz, but work with 1333MHz just fine. And no, they don't underclock but show 1333MHz in 'About this Mac'.
Giuly is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Buying Tips and Advice

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Should I upgrade my MacBook Unibody Mid-2010 to 8gb or 16gb RAM? Mitchi3boi MacBook 4 Apr 12, 2014 09:12 AM
16GB of RAM in a Mid 2010 MacBook. mwhities MacBook 94 Mar 2, 2014 08:56 PM
16GB RAM in a Mid 2010 MacBook Pro Hexley MacBook Pro 43 Oct 18, 2013 05:27 AM
2009 27" iMac Core i7 can take (2x8GB) 16GB DDR3 1600Mhz RAM? Hexley iMac 7 Feb 25, 2013 10:45 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:43 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC