Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 17, 2013, 11:58 AM   #1
RolledUp20s
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Wrexham, North Wales
How fast can my Air handle on WiFi?

i have the macbook air mid 2011 - its the 13'' model, 4GB, 1.7 Ghz i5.
i recently upgraded my broadband to fibre optic and i should be getting 66Meg Max, however..drop 10Mbps from the exchange...they guestimate around 56Mbps average download speeds for me. Now, when i run speedtest..the best i've seen is 31Mbps DL and 17 Upload. it tends to be more like 27Mbps DL though...so i'm getting half of what i should be. when the engineer was here with his ''ahem-windows laptop'' he was getting 56Mbps on my wifi..so, im curious as to what the macbook air can handle on wifi? or are there any other tests i can do? sadly having no ethernet port on the air..i can't try a cabled connection to see if i am actually getting 56bps.

cheers anyways.

Last edited by RolledUp20s; Feb 17, 2013 at 12:33 PM. Reason: Meg to Mbps ;)
RolledUp20s is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2013, 12:07 PM   #2
simsaladimbamba
Guest
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
Just to clarify, with "Meg" (short for "Mega") do you mean Mb/s (Megabit/s) or MB/s (MegaByte/s)? What is the shown Transmit Rate when you OPTION click the WiFi / AirPort icon in the Menu Bar?
simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2013, 12:13 PM   #3
Mrbobb
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by RolledUp20s View Post
sadly having no ethernet port on the air..i can't try a cabled connection to see if i am actually getting 56Meg.

This Apple adapter will give u a gigabit ethernet port.

WIFI should be sufficient for the test however, but the above adapter will confirm u have a less than optimal WIFI configuration.
__________________
Solution: FREE, Explanation: Is gonna cost ya.
Mrbobb is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2013, 12:29 PM   #4
RolledUp20s
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Wrexham, North Wales
Quote:
Originally Posted by simsaladimbamba View Post
Just to clarify, with "Meg" (short for "Mega") do you mean Mb/s (Megabit/s) or MB/s (MegaByte/s)? What is the shown Transmit Rate when you OPTION click the WiFi / AirPort icon in the Menu Bar?

sorry, ye it's Mbps...i was just typing as i was 'saying it' in my head. my bad
RolledUp20s is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2013, 12:56 PM   #5
RolledUp20s
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Wrexham, North Wales
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mrbobb View Post
This Apple adapter will give u a gigabit ethernet port.

WIFI should be sufficient for the test however, but the above adapter will confirm u have a less than optimal WIFI configuration.
ok, well...whats the wifi test i can do? i just did a wifi diagnostic report..but it doesn't meen much to me all the files it's generated
RolledUp20s is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2013, 01:10 PM   #6
RolledUp20s
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Wrexham, North Wales
just turned my wi-fi off on the mac, left it 10secs, turned back on and now i just got





although, ping is higher? ive seen that on 10 before..

----------

now we're talking...



thats on a server further away aswel? ..well, im in wrexham...40miles from liverpool...thats saying 150 & that im closer to london?? WTF?
RolledUp20s is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2013, 01:23 PM   #7
simsaladimbamba
Guest
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
Quote:
Originally Posted by RolledUp20s View Post
sorry, ye it's Mbps...i was just typing as i was 'saying it' in my head. my bad
And what is the Transmit Rate?

And 66 Mb/s is not that difficult to get with a proper 802.11n router, but which router do you actually have?
simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2013, 01:40 PM   #8
Chris.L
macrumors 6502a
 
Chris.L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by RolledUp20s View Post
just turned my wi-fi off on the mac, left it 10secs, turned back on and now i just got


Image


although, ping is higher? ive seen that on 10 before..

----------

now we're talking...
Image


thats on a server further away aswel? ..well, im in wrexham...40miles from liverpool...thats saying 150 & that im closer to london?? WTF?
Depends where your ISP breaks out. I'm on Virgin which breaks out in Basingstoke which is about 20 miles away from me.

Is your WiFi a, b, g or n?
__________________
New to forums?
Chris.L is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2013, 02:23 PM   #9
RolledUp20s
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Wrexham, North Wales
well, i have just used the new sky router that they sent out. i do have a netgear n300 but found 5Ghz not a good connection around the house and possibly interferes with the wiiU gamepad connection (but that's another story)

So, using sky's new router this is the following i get when OPTION on wifi :

PHY MODE: 802.11n
channel: 11 (2.4GHz)
RSSI: -46
TRANSMIT RATE: 130
MCS INDEX : 15

So, whats all that meen then?

cheers guys
RolledUp20s is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2013, 08:43 AM   #10
RolledUp20s
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Wrexham, North Wales
i notice the thread titled 'i dropped my macbook air on the floor and..'' (or something similar) has received more views and responses than my actual question.

now, if you tech guys could please concentrate on the real matters at problem here?

much appreciated
RolledUp20s is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2013, 11:45 AM   #11
KerryH
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
You can't trouble shoot your internal network going strictly off speedtests that are affected by things outside of your house.

You need to start with troubleshooting your network. Do you have another pc on the network that you can use to do a file transfer to, and record the speeds achieved there? This will tell you if your network is performing up to par as speed tests can give unstable results.
KerryH is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2013, 12:07 PM   #12
Skoopman
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Romania
It's certainly not a MBA issue. I have 120 Mbps over here and it's not a problem:



Your problem could be:

- the speedtest server is too slow
- your line does not offer more speed
- the router can not offer more speed (what model is it exactly, can you connect on 5 GHz?)

So you could try and download a heavily seeded (legal) torrent, a Linux distro for example, and see if you get more speed.
__________________
Macbook Air 13" | 1.8GHz | 4GB RAM | 128GB SSD
Time Capsule 2TB
Apple TV 3
Skoopman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2013, 06:15 PM   #13
Chris.L
macrumors 6502a
 
Chris.L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: UK
To be honest wi-fi is not an accurate way to do speed tests.

You really need to try it with a wired adaptor. I am on Virgin's 120Mbps fibre service and my wi-fi won't see speeds over ~40mbps DL and ~5Mbps upload.

If I connect an Ethernet cable I will get the full service.

Also, does your provider do any traffic throttling at the times you are trying to test?
__________________
New to forums?
Chris.L is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2013, 07:32 AM   #14
Jobsian
macrumors 6502a
 
Jobsian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
My MBA wifi easily hit 100Mb/s down and up.
Jobsian is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2013, 08:31 AM   #15
bolen
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Sweden
WiFI performance is very, I mean *very*, dependent on many things such as distance to the access point, walls in between, what types of wall, the tech hardware specs, channels, disturbance, the access point chipsets configuration, the computers chipsets, vendor specific optimizations etc. etc...

The Air still only have a 2x2x2 configuration (2 send and receive antennas with 2 spatial streams) which ideally gives 300 Mbps theoretical bandwidth. The Macbook Pro have the newer 3x3x3 configuration which theoretically gives up to 450 Mbps. This is of course requiring the access point to support 3x3x3 also.

What kind of access point/router do you have to serve the WiFi-network? What's the setup? Do you have a lot of other wifi networks in the area? Do you have other devices on the same frequency in between your devices (such as a microwave oven, wireless phones, bluetooth devices etc)?
__________________
iMac 27" | i7 2.93GHz | 20GB DDR3 | HD5850 M | Samsung 830 256 GB
MacBook Pro 15" | i7 2.2 GHz | 8GB DDR3 | HD6750M | Samsung 840 500 GB
iPhone 5s | 64 GB
iPad Air | 32 GB | LTE
bolen is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2013, 09:35 AM   #16
BigYellow
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Make SURE that your router is properly configured for 802.11N. 802.11G has a theoretical capacity of 55Mbps if I'm not mistaken, and once you take into account the wireless "overhead", your results of 36-44Mbps would be about right.
BigYellow is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How much FCP can a Macbook Air handle? Andrew Ryan MacBook Air 2 Jan 23, 2014 08:40 AM
iPad: Wifi on the iPad air is crazy fast bobright iPad 31 Nov 4, 2013 11:40 AM
Can base 13'' Air handle windows? mushroomzx MacBook Air 24 Jul 1, 2012 01:16 PM
Can base 13'' Air handle CAD? iannella MacBook Air 2 Jun 14, 2012 09:12 AM
New (2012) Air Handle... theDH MacBook Air 0 Jun 11, 2012 04:54 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:04 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC