Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 17, 2013, 06:21 PM   #1
Thatguy120191
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Need help

I have a sprint iPhone 5 if I get it unlock will I be able to use it on Verizon and if so will the LTE work for Verizon
Thatguy120191 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2013, 07:37 PM   #2
bohbot16
macrumors 6502a
 
bohbot16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Verizon only lets you use their iPhone on their network, so it won't work, even though its physically the same model. You could use an the unlocked phone on AT&T or T-Mobile, but wouldn't be able to se LTE on either.
bohbot16 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2013, 07:40 PM   #3
jamesjingyi
macrumors 6502a
 
jamesjingyi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: UK
Send a message via Skype™ to jamesjingyi
Pretty sure (but dont quote me) that all iPhone 5s are unlocked as standard, wherever you get them from....
__________________
11" MacBook Air 2012, iPhone 5S 32GB Space Grey, iPad Mini 32GB,
20GB free storage here
My blog which is updated... Sometimes... Twitter: @jamesjingyi Tumblr
jamesjingyi is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2013, 07:43 PM   #4
bohbot16
macrumors 6502a
 
bohbot16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by jamesjingyi View Post
Pretty sure (but dont quote me) that all iPhone 5s are unlocked as standard, wherever you get them from....
Not true. The Verizon iPhone comes unlocked and the Unlocked iPhone 5 does. The AT&T and Sprint ones are carrier locked. In addition, there are some added complexities of switching between carriers even with an unlocked iPhone 5.
bohbot16 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2013, 07:44 PM   #5
jamesjingyi
macrumors 6502a
 
jamesjingyi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: UK
Send a message via Skype™ to jamesjingyi
Ahh thats because I live in the UK soz
__________________
11" MacBook Air 2012, iPhone 5S 32GB Space Grey, iPad Mini 32GB,
20GB free storage here
My blog which is updated... Sometimes... Twitter: @jamesjingyi Tumblr
jamesjingyi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2013, 07:51 PM   #6
bohbot16
macrumors 6502a
 
bohbot16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by jamesjingyi View Post
Ahh thats because I live in the UK soz
Yeah, things in the US are complicated because we have 2 of the big networks still using CDMA for their 3G voice and data combined with GSM 4G LTE. On top of that the LTE runs on different frequencies for different networks so the iPhone 5 comes in 2 different antenna configurations.
bohbot16 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2013, 08:02 PM   #7
jamesjingyi
macrumors 6502a
 
jamesjingyi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: UK
Send a message via Skype™ to jamesjingyi
Gosh! Complex lol And u cant unlock phones legally anymore
__________________
11" MacBook Air 2012, iPhone 5S 32GB Space Grey, iPad Mini 32GB,
20GB free storage here
My blog which is updated... Sometimes... Twitter: @jamesjingyi Tumblr
jamesjingyi is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2013, 08:06 PM   #8
bohbot16
macrumors 6502a
 
bohbot16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by jamesjingyi View Post
Gosh! Complex lol And u cant unlock phones legally anymore
We just can't unlock them on our own anymore. When my contract ends AT&T will still unlock my iPhone 5.
bohbot16 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2013, 08:18 PM   #9
Thatguy120191
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
So if sprint unlocks it will it work on Verizon ?
Thatguy120191 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2013, 08:19 PM   #10
bohbot16
macrumors 6502a
 
bohbot16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thatguy120191 View Post
So if sprint unlocks it will it work on Verizon ?
Verizon only lets you use their iPhone on their network, so it won't work, even though its physically the same model. You could use an unlocked Sprint iPhone on AT&T or T-Mobile, but wouldn't be able to use LTE on either.
bohbot16 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2013, 09:31 PM   #11
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
Quote:
Originally Posted by jamesjingyi View Post
Pretty sure (but dont quote me) that all iPhone 5s are unlocked as standard, wherever you get them from....
That is very false.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thatguy120191 View Post
So if sprint unlocks it will it work on Verizon ?
No.
If sprint unlocks it you can use it on any gsm carrier outside the US only.
It will not work with any other us carrier even if unlocked.

Quote:
Originally Posted by bohbot16 View Post
You could use an unlocked Sprint iPhone on AT&T or T-Mobile, but wouldn't be able to use LTE on either.
That is also false.
This thread is full of false assumptions
Applejuiced is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2013, 09:42 PM   #12
bohbot16
macrumors 6502a
 
bohbot16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
I think Sprint's nomenclature messed me up. If they allow international SIMs but block US GSM SIMs then that should have a different name like International. Unlocked really means that no SIM is blocked.
bohbot16 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2013, 09:47 PM   #13
milesjohnson
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
i need help to but didnt want to make a new thread. totally off topic but if someone could help it would be nice.

someone offered to trade me their black iphone 5 for my white iphone. they said that the volume down button does not work but it is under warranty. how can i confirm this? if i were to take it into the apple store could i have it replaced right there? what information would need to be given
milesjohnson is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2013, 10:31 PM   #14
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
Quote:
Originally Posted by milesjohnson View Post
i need help to but didnt want to make a new thread. totally off topic but if someone could help it would be nice.

someone offered to trade me their black iphone 5 for my white iphone. they said that the volume down button does not work but it is under warranty. how can i confirm this? if i were to take it into the apple store could i have it replaced right there? what information would need to be given
If its still under warranty why wouldn't he have swapped it already?
I'd be careful. It might have liquid damage or other issues.

Last edited by Applejuiced; Feb 18, 2013 at 01:51 PM.
Applejuiced is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2013, 07:33 AM   #15
jamesjingyi
macrumors 6502a
 
jamesjingyi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: UK
Send a message via Skype™ to jamesjingyi
Quote:
Originally Posted by Applejuiced View Post
That is very false.
In the uk, they're all unlocked... Sorry for the confusion....
__________________
11" MacBook Air 2012, iPhone 5S 32GB Space Grey, iPad Mini 32GB,
20GB free storage here
My blog which is updated... Sometimes... Twitter: @jamesjingyi Tumblr
jamesjingyi is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:54 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC