Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Mac and PC Games

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 17, 2013, 01:38 PM   #101
peskaa
macrumors 68020
 
peskaa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: London, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cougarcat View Post
Yes, but you can't directly control whether its high/low/medium density anymore.
Yes you can. Zoning is controlled via the road you put down - so a high density area needs a bigger road.
__________________
rMBP 15"(2012) 2.3 i7 | 16GB | 256GB | 650M
iMac 27"(2011) 3.1 i5 | 8GB | 1TB | 6970M
DS211j 2x2TB
peskaa is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2013, 01:42 PM   #102
Schtumple
macrumors 601
 
Schtumple's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: benkadams.com
 
Send a message via Skype™ to Schtumple
Quote:
Originally Posted by peskaa View Post
Yes you can. Zoning is controlled via the road you put down - so a high density area needs a bigger road.
That seems damn smart, always bugged me that after a while you would spend the a sizeable chunk of time just fixing old roads and expanding them out.
__________________
Schtumple is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2013, 02:36 PM   #103
jlmcclellan
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Schtumple View Post
That seems damn smart, always bugged me that after a while you would spend the a sizeable chunk of time just fixing old roads and expanding them out.
I got in a few hours of playtime on the beta they just did this past weekend... let me just say that the roads are a delight. You can easily plop down straight roads, curvy roads, perfect circle roads, square roads. As mentioned previously the size of the road will affect the zoning density. Oh, also you can click to upgrade your roads... no more demolishing and putting down larger roads (the only exception to this is if you are going from a road to an avenue -- still need to demolish and place for this).
jlmcclellan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 2013, 12:31 PM   #104
Schtumple
macrumors 601
 
Schtumple's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: benkadams.com
 
Send a message via Skype™ to Schtumple
Quote:
Originally Posted by jlmcclellan View Post
I got in a few hours of playtime on the beta they just did this past weekend... let me just say that the roads are a delight. You can easily plop down straight roads, curvy roads, perfect circle roads, square roads. As mentioned previously the size of the road will affect the zoning density. Oh, also you can click to upgrade your roads... no more demolishing and putting down larger roads (the only exception to this is if you are going from a road to an avenue -- still need to demolish and place for this).
Sounds good, looking forward to getting this onto my system, I've been playing Cities XL in the mean time (SC4 was always too buggy on the mac for me), it's not the same.
__________________
Schtumple is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 2013, 02:23 PM   #105
anshuvorty
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Konoha
Quote:
Originally Posted by peskaa View Post
Wait, you're asking if it's okay to buy if you're above the minimum? Surely any form of logic indicates yes? However why are you buying an old series card? Look at the current 600 series.
thanks for the advice! I decided to go ahead and buy the GTX 650 series card. Playing Crysis 2 on Extreme settings, looks great! Now to see what the SimCity can do with this card....gotta wait cuz the Beta is over and the real game isn't coming out for another 2 weeks.

This is killing me!!!
__________________
2nd Generation iPod Touch (8GB), 6th Generation iPod Classic (80GB), 2nd Generation iPod Shuffle (Silver, 1 GB), 5th Generation iPod Touch (Black/Slate, 32 GB)
anshuvorty is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 2013, 09:49 PM   #106
Foxer
macrumors 65816
 
Foxer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Washington, DC
Since there is no word on when SC2013 will be available for Mac. And since my machine is not bootcamp compatible. Does anyone know of a way to get the last Simcity installed on a new Mac? My DVD-ROM is from the PowerPC era, so it isn't even recognized by OS X. Is there somewhere that offers a download? All this anticipation has really given me the SimCity bug and I need to scratch...
__________________
Luck is the residue of design. - Branch Rickey

"I'll buy almost anything if it is shiny and made by Apple."
Foxer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2013, 11:13 AM   #107
Schtumple
macrumors 601
 
Schtumple's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: benkadams.com
 
Send a message via Skype™ to Schtumple
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foxer View Post
Since there is no word on when SC2013 will be available for Mac. And since my machine is not bootcamp compatible. Does anyone know of a way to get the last Simcity installed on a new Mac? My DVD-ROM is from the PowerPC era, so it isn't even recognized by OS X. Is there somewhere that offers a download? All this anticipation has really given me the SimCity bug and I need to scratch...
There is an intel patch, but it's pretty awful and not even remotely optimised, it crashes a ton too.

Just curious, how is your machine not bootcamp compatible? As far as I was aware all Macs are bootcamp compatible, unless you have a RAID 0 setup?
__________________
Schtumple is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2013, 11:55 AM   #108
Foxer
macrumors 65816
 
Foxer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Washington, DC
Quote:
Originally Posted by Schtumple View Post
There is an intel patch, but it's pretty awful and not even remotely optimised, it crashes a ton too.

Just curious, how is your machine not bootcamp compatible? As far as I was aware all Macs are bootcamp compatible, unless you have a RAID 0 setup?
Not the 3TB fusion drive iMac. Not yet, at least.

I knew about that patch, and that it is not very good, but I can't even get OSX to let me install the PowerPC version. Oh well, I wait (not so patiently) for the new one.
__________________
Luck is the residue of design. - Branch Rickey

"I'll buy almost anything if it is shiny and made by Apple."
Foxer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 23, 2013, 04:24 PM   #109
Rockoar
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Paris (France)
Do you guys think that the current generation MBP 13'' (late 2012) will be able to run this? I'd really like to buy it when it gets out but I don't know if my machine will be able to run it decently.
__________________
(10 August 2012)
Rockoar is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2013, 08:11 AM   #110
Huntn
macrumors 604
 
Huntn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: The Misty Mountains
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rockoar View Post
Do you guys think that the current generation MBP 13'' (late 2012) will be able to run this? I'd really like to buy it when it gets out but I don't know if my machine will be able to run it decently.
Maybe this page will help: Ea.com. If your machine meets the requirements I assume it will run fine. It may even run it your machine does not quite meet the specs. My wife's 2010 Macbook plays Spore fine although it does not meet the official system requirements.
__________________
The modern business ethos: "I'm worth it, you're not, and I'm a glutton!"
MBP, 2.2 GHz intel i7, Radeon HD 6750M, Bootcamp: W7.
PC: i5 4670k, 8GB RAM, Asus GTX670 (2GB VRAM), W7.
Huntn is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 1, 2013, 02:13 PM   #111
guzhogi
macrumors 68020
 
guzhogi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Wherever my feet take me…
I've played the closed betas, seems like it'll be pretty fun. A few caveats I found:

-When going from the 1st Beta to the 2nd to 3rd, you had to do the tutorial every time. Kind of annoying as it was pretty much exactly the same every time.

-The first few betas were fine, although most items are not available (which sucked)

-The last beta (Wednesday, I want to say?), you got all the tools and choose which city in the region to build, but after a while, you couldn't edit any buildings or build new ones. Nothing would pop up. Very buggy. However, I was using an external cheat utility to get more money. Not sure if that's related or not.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Rockoar View Post
Do you guys think that the current generation MBP 13'' (late 2012) will be able to run this? I'd really like to buy it when it gets out but I don't know if my machine will be able to run it decently.
I have a 2008 MBP w/ a Geforce 8600m card. It ran ok, but the graphics detail not that great. I don't have a 2012 MBP so I don't know how it compares. The integrated graphics shouldn't be too much worse than mine.
guzhogi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 2, 2013, 07:29 AM   #112
UKPoliticsGuy
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Mid 2011 Macbook Air, any good?

Hi,

Can't wait for the 2013 Sim City to be released but I was wondering if my Mid 2011 Macbook Air would be able to handle it?

It has the following spec:

Processor: 1.7Ghz Intel Core i5
Memory: 4GB 1333 MHz DDR3
Graphics: Intel HD Graphics 3000 384Mb
UKPoliticsGuy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 2, 2013, 03:34 PM   #113
Cougarcat
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by UKPoliticsGuy View Post
Hi,

Can't wait for the 2013 Sim City to be released but I was wondering if my Mid 2011 Macbook Air would be able to handle it?

It has the following spec:

Processor: 1.7Ghz Intel Core i5
Memory: 4GB 1333 MHz DDR3
Graphics: Intel HD Graphics 3000 384Mb
Should be fine on low settings.
Cougarcat is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 2, 2013, 04:01 PM   #114
chrf097
macrumors 68030
 
chrf097's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Earth
Quote:
Originally Posted by UKPoliticsGuy View Post
Hi,

Can't wait for the 2013 Sim City to be released but I was wondering if my Mid 2011 Macbook Air would be able to handle it?

It has the following spec:

Processor: 1.7Ghz Intel Core i5
Memory: 4GB 1333 MHz DDR3
Graphics: Intel HD Graphics 3000 384Mb
The Minimum requirements to run the game on Mac is Snow Leopard, Intel Core 2 Duo, Intel HD3000, and 4GB, so you should be able to run it just fine.

The only thing that upsets me is that you have to wait for the Mac version (and it's download only) Hopefully the release will at least be close to the March 5th release for the Windows version.
__________________
13" Macbook Pro | Mac OS 10.10 | 2.4GHz Core i5 | 8 GB RAM | 500 GB
iPhone 6 | Gold | 16GB | iOS 8.1 | Verizon | Jailbroken
iPad mini Retina | Space Gray | 16 GB WiFi | iOS 8.1

chrf097 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 2, 2013, 05:52 PM   #115
Cougarcat
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrf097 View Post

The only thing that upsets me is that you have to wait for the Mac version (and it's download only) Hopefully the release will at least be close to the March 5th release for the Windows version.
If you have Bootcamp, you can buy the PC version and then you will get access to the Mac version when it arrives.
Cougarcat is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 2, 2013, 11:08 PM   #116
chrf097
macrumors 68030
 
chrf097's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Earth
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cougarcat View Post
If you have Bootcamp, you can buy the PC version and then you will get access to the Mac version when it arrives.
Absolutely sure buying the PC version gives you the Mac version for free? If so, I probably will....
__________________
13" Macbook Pro | Mac OS 10.10 | 2.4GHz Core i5 | 8 GB RAM | 500 GB
iPhone 6 | Gold | 16GB | iOS 8.1 | Verizon | Jailbroken
iPad mini Retina | Space Gray | 16 GB WiFi | iOS 8.1

chrf097 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 3, 2013, 03:41 AM   #117
Cougarcat
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrf097 View Post
Absolutely sure buying the PC version gives you the Mac version for free? If so, I probably will....
Yes, I contacted them and asked.
Cougarcat is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 3, 2013, 08:18 AM   #118
Bhunt
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by stujmac26 View Post
Nope - EA confirmed today at Gamescon that the Mac version will also be out in February, and that Origin is launching for Mac this year

http://www.ign.com/articles/2012/08/...-coming-to-mac
February has come and gone...
Bhunt is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 3, 2013, 08:30 AM   #119
SandboxGeneral
Moderator
 
SandboxGeneral's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: The New World
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bhunt View Post
February has come and gone...
Looks like it's supposed to be released Tuesday for PC and they're still saying "Spring" for the Mac.

__________________
SandboxGeneral is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 3, 2013, 07:36 PM   #120
Chris.L
macrumors 6502a
 
Chris.L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bhunt View Post
February has come and gone...
Why quote from August last year?!

It's being advertised on T.V. for the 5th March for PC. This has been known for a little while.
__________________
New to forums?
Chris.L is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 3, 2013, 08:21 PM   #121
cerote
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cougarcat View Post
If you have Bootcamp, you can buy the PC version and then you will get access to the Mac version when it arrives.
If this is true than I will suffer some bootcamp till MAc version comes then.
cerote is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 4, 2013, 09:17 AM   #122
PBP
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by cerote View Post
If this is true than I will suffer some bootcamp till MAc version comes then.
EA singapore facebook:
Electronic Arts (EA) Singapore Hi guys, please note that the Mac version will be sold separately.
PBP is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 4, 2013, 12:25 PM   #123
Cougarcat
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by PBP View Post
EA singapore facebook:
Electronic Arts (EA) Singapore Hi guys, please note that the Mac version will be sold separately.
I have logs and screencaps of reps saying the opposite, (and the opposite is how most of their games work now) so I'm not worried. Still somewhat of a risk, though.
Cougarcat is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 4, 2013, 07:04 PM   #124
Chaggi
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Seoul, South Korea
Anyone know how well it'd run on a MBP 15" Retina?
__________________
2011 Macbook Pro Lion | iPhone 4S | Samsung Group
Chaggi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 4, 2013, 07:47 PM   #125
sdsvtdriver
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Southern California
What would run this game better?

MBP mid 2010, 2.53 core i5 8GB 330M/256

or

MBA mid 2011 1.8 core i7 4GB Intel 3000/384

I'm guessing the MBP.

I'd have to install bootcamp on either one. I don't think it'd run in a VM well.
sdsvtdriver is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Mac and PC Games

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Apple Store is down [5th Apr 2013 - MERGED] lewdvig Apple, Industry and Internet Discussion 16 Apr 5, 2013 07:09 AM
SimCity 2013 will it work on my MacBook Pro 2009 in Windows 7? melman101 MacBook Pro 22 Apr 4, 2013 07:38 AM
First Look at the New SimCity, Coming February 2013 MacRumors Mac Blog Discussion 129 Mar 17, 2013 10:16 AM
New SimCity Coming to Mac in February 2013 MacRumors Mac Blog Discussion 157 Mar 14, 2013 07:20 AM
Apple Store Down - 27 Feb 2013 [Merged] carl0sian Apple, Industry and Internet Discussion 39 Feb 28, 2013 06:44 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:54 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC