Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 17, 2013, 08:11 PM   #1
Chiguyjp
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Sprint 4S unlock

Hey all,

Just made a bad purchase choice and was wondering if there is an unlock for a 4s running 6.1.1 yet. Or is there anyway to get a sprint 4s unlocked(again running 6.1.1)? any information would be great.
Chiguyjp is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2013, 11:03 PM   #2
emoore
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Are you looking to use it on another network? Because I've been researching this for a few months. I have a sprint 4s and I have yet to find a reliable way to use it on another network, i.e. tmobile. There are a few SIM cards (Gevey, Rim-7) but looking at the reviews they don't seem to work reliably. When my contract is up I'm probably just going to sell the sprint 4s and get an unlocked AT&T model so I can use it on tmobile or wait for the tmobile iphone.
emoore is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2013, 04:16 PM   #3
okwhatev
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
just bought the "New GPP" sim card for my Sprint iPhone 4S and can confirm it does work with ios 6.1.1 with my att/straight talk GSM 4G HSPA service... although (like all interposer sims) it takes some patience and experience with carrier preference settings to get everything working perfectly. although it does work... i cant for the life of me figure out why i cannot PLACE outgoing FaceTime calls. I can recieve them just fine. when i EJECT the sim i can make outgoing FaceTime calls instantly. weird huh?
okwhatev is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2013, 04:20 PM   #4
emoore
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
That's good news. I'll have to research the GPP sim. Does FaceTime work over wifi both directions?
emoore is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2013, 07:25 PM   #5
Demonface
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Jersey/Miami
I also have the GPP Sim and it works perfectly . If you want I can tel you where mine was purchased . I didn't test Facetime so I wouldn't know if it works sorry.
Demonface is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2013, 08:42 PM   #6
Dominicanyor
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
I went to AT&T and tried to swap my services from sprint. My 4s that I have with spring could not be done because AT&T SIM card will not would not work on my sprint. So to make a long story short I'm still with sprint.
Dominicanyor is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2013, 08:45 PM   #7
Chiguyjp
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
That would be great... anythig is better than trying to flash it and resell.
Chiguyjp is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sprint iPhone 5S Unlock sicdeath iPhone 16 Dec 18, 2013 06:57 AM
Is there an unlock for the Sprint iPhone 5 on 6.1.4? h4lp m3 iOS 6 1 Sep 20, 2013 06:56 PM
Called Sprint to unlock, reset phone, but didn't receive unlock message. mds iPhone 3 Feb 14, 2013 10:28 AM
Need help to unlock iPhone 4s from sprint jatt123 iPhone 1 Aug 1, 2012 02:19 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:49 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC