Go Back   MacRumors Forums > News and Article Discussion > MacRumors.com News Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 18, 2013, 10:57 PM   #101
blackhand1001
macrumors 68030
 
blackhand1001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by KPOM View Post
You are comparing list prices. Anyway, Apple doesn't need to buy a separate GPU for the Mac Mini. They would with your hypothetical Pro Mac. And they don't want to cannibalize iMac sales.

Apple's Mac Mini line was a response to the demand for a "cheaper" Mac. Clearly they decided that a desktop device made from mobile parts was the way to go.

The bottom line is that Apple quite correctly predicted about a decade ago that the future of personal computing was in mobile devices. They made a huge bet on the MacBook and MacBook Pro lines over the years, and it paid off.
Thats the problem. Not everyone wants an imac or a mac mini. Some people don't see the tradeoffs of those designs as worth it for the extra cost and performance penalty. There are a ton of people that will refuse to buy an apple desktop unless they offered something that didn't have so many compromises.
__________________
Macbook 2008
HP Dv7t - 2.53 ghz, 9600m GT, WSXGA+, 120gb ssd, 250 gb 7200rpm
Core i7 3770k, 8gb ram, 2x 120gb sdd raid0, 500gb hdd, GTX 460
Moto X Dev Edition (VZW) Nexus 7
blackhand1001 is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2013, 11:07 PM   #102
KPOM
macrumors G3
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackhand1001 View Post
Thats the problem. Not everyone wants an imac or a mac mini. Some people don't see the tradeoffs of those designs as worth it for the extra cost and performance penalty. There are a ton of people that will refuse to buy an apple desktop unless they offered something that didn't have so many compromises.
My guess is that there aren't enough for Apple to care about. Mac is only about 20% of their revenues now.
KPOM is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2013, 11:13 PM   #103
12dylan34
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raftysworld View Post
Why would anyone ever need a Mac Pro? An iMac does everything a Mac Pro does, but in a smaller, sleeker, more portable case.
You obviously don't understand the market that the Mac Pro is catered to. When your computer is for work, and not to look good, it needs to be upgradable, it needs to have proper cooling, and it needs to be reliable.

Not getting the job done on deadline because your machine is still rendering, or it's throttling down because of heat, could mean losing the job and thus a $40,000 check, as well as a damaged reputation.

The fact of the matter is that the iMac is not as capable as a (future) Mac Pro, nor does it replace the place in the Market for the Mac Pro (FYI, I'm typing this from my fully blown 2012 iMac).
12dylan34 is offline   8 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2013, 11:18 PM   #104
DisMyMac
macrumors 65816
 
DisMyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Renzatic View Post
I love it when people tell me what I need or don't need. Like I could actually do something like this on a piddly ass Mac Mini.
That's the old Standard Service Station! It's about time somebody modeled one.
DisMyMac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2013, 11:20 PM   #105
Renzatic
macrumors 604
 
Renzatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Who puts the washers in the woods?
Quote:
Originally Posted by KPOM View Post
My guess is that there aren't enough for Apple to care about. Mac is only about 20% of their revenues now.
But what a 20%. Just because they don't account for nearly as much money as the iDevices doesn't change the fact that the line still nets them at least a couple billion a year easily.

Remember. It's not only about how much you sell, but about how much you make. If the Mac Pro nets Apple 100 million dollars a year in profits, that's still money made. Sure, it's only a small amount in the grand scheme of things, but why cut a line and lose that extra line of profit?

Just because the market isn't as large relatively? Because it only accounts for a small percentage? I guess it's true Apple doesn't "need" the pro market, but continuing to support them isn't causing them any pain.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by DisMyMac View Post
That's the old Standard Service Station! It's about time somebody modeled one.
Whoa. You know where that's at? You got any pictures of it?
Renzatic is offline   4 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2013, 11:25 PM   #106
Rampage Dev
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raftysworld View Post
Why would anyone ever need a Mac Pro? An iMac does everything a Mac Pro does, but in a smaller, sleeker, more portable case.
You have no idea how important a Mac Pro is to Developers, Editors, Video Production, Music Production. Just because you are obtuse in why users need a Mac Pro is not justification for there not to be a need to have the Mac Pro. Understand what it is meant to be used for before posting.
Rampage Dev is offline   7 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2013, 11:30 PM   #107
DisMyMac
macrumors 65816
 
DisMyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Renzatic View Post
Whoa. You know where that's at? You got any pictures of it?
Never seen it before! I recognize the tires though, and the shape of that sign....
DisMyMac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2013, 11:43 PM   #108
Renzatic
macrumors 604
 
Renzatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Who puts the washers in the woods?
Quote:
Originally Posted by DisMyMac View Post
Never seen it before! I recognize the tires though, and the shape of that sign....
Ah, shame. I've been digging all over the internet for more shots of that building, but haven't found any besides that one I've got posted. If it was some place near you, I was gonna beg you to go out and take some pictures for me. :P
Renzatic is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2013, 11:43 PM   #109
NOV
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: The Netherlands
When I saw the small preview from my Safari top sites I thought, yes! New Mac Pro's.

Should have known better.
__________________
Personal website

Music website
NOV is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2013, 11:47 PM   #110
flat five
macrumors 68000
 
flat five's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: newyorkcity
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raftysworld View Post
Why would anyone [...]imac-> more portable case.
nah.. the mac pros have handles and they're boxed shaped.. way better for transporting..
flat five is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2013, 11:58 PM   #111
Arcady
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Louisville, KY
Send a message via AIM to Arcady
Why can't I just have a Mac with a few PCI slots? I don't need some giant tower with XEON processors, and the Mac mini is stupid.

Time to build another Hackintosh I guess.
__________________
"The Macintosh uses an experimental pointing device called a 'mouse.' There is no evidence that people want to use these things."
-John C. Dvorak, SF Examiner, Feb. 1984.
Arcady is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2013, 11:59 PM   #112
xSinghx
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Whatever happened to apple marketing themselves on the creative community that does all kinds of fantastic things on their souped-up macs.

It was the that same community that kept them alive in the lean years...

Apple needs the mac pro maybe as much for it's image as it does for its actual sales.
xSinghx is offline   5 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2013, 12:06 AM   #113
ConCat
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: In an ethereal plane of existence.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Renzatic View Post
Ah, shame. I've been digging all over the internet for more shots of that building, but haven't found any besides that one I've got posted. If it was some place near you, I was gonna beg you to go out and take some pictures for me. :P
Apparently that gas station is in Pelham Valley, Grundy County, Tennessee.
ConCat is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2013, 12:09 AM   #114
flat five
macrumors 68000
 
flat five's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: newyorkcity
Quote:
Originally Posted by xSinghx View Post
the creative community that does all kinds of fantastic things on their souped-up macs.

It was the that same community that kept them alive in the lean years...
pay more attention..
they're still out there.. and in bigger numbers than the 'glory years' youre referring to.. ; )

plus the computers are way way more souped up nowadays..
flat five is online now   2 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2013, 12:19 AM   #115
iMeanIt
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Temporarily in Michigan
iMac vs. MacPro for Editing

I've been a professional editor for over 25 years, and have set-up and/or owned numerous iMac and MacPro editing systems. While I'm sure that most editors (like myself) would prefer to have a big-a-- MacPro with 12-cores, >32GB RAM, three-32" monitors and lots of PCI card accessories, there are TONS of jobs that could easily be edited with an iMac.

As some have suggested, NAB would be a fantastic opportunity for Apple to roll-out new MacPros and iMacs to broadcasters. News editors don't need a MacPro to cut news stories, and a TV Station could save a lot of money by networking a half-dozen (or more) 27" iMac based edit booths and a couple of MacPro systems for longer documentary and special programs. And any number of businesses that need in-house production might also be very well served with iMac based systems, Thunderbolt drives and BOBs (Breakout Boxes).

Let's also not forget that FCPX is seeing new updates, including a major revision in the last year, and is an impressive editing system that can easily run on an iMac and handle most (at least 6-broadcast cameras) of the "multi-cam" shoots (that everybody "freaked" about loosing from FCP7), has an outstanding chroma-keyer, excellent audio enhancement and noise reduction, color correction, multiple formats (in one timeline) and excellent news graphics. Some are also speculating that Apple will add a matching 27" monitor to the product lineup - 'a two-monitor iMac set-up would KILL in a broadcast news setting.

It may be just a gut feeling, but I think Tim has big plans to bring broadcasters back into the fold with both iMacs and MacPros running a soon to be (again) updated version of FCPX where jobs get "turned over" sometimes in a matter of 15-minutes, but rarely more than 90.

So, in the big picture, there's plenty of room for iMacs to do professional broadcast and lower-end industrial/training work, while the new MacPros will still make the room-lights dim and flicker when the machines are turned on and rendering multiple layers of composited and motion-graphics.

And as a side-note, from my experience - I get seasick and whiplash with more than two large (27' or 32") monitors plus SD-CRT and HD-LCD monitors. Two 27" screens (one easily selectable between clip-bins and pixel for pixel 1920x1080 monitoring) would be a sweet system that could easily be run as a professional editor's "home" workstation" that he/she could enhance their ongoing projects after-hours, and transfer them into the "office suite" MacPro systems at any time. I often prefer to edit at home - and could add many billable hours with a reasonably-priced iMac based editing system there.

So, as Chauncey Gardiner said in the film "Being There:" "Look for new growth in the spring."
iMeanIt is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2013, 12:19 AM   #116
Renzatic
macrumors 604
 
Renzatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Who puts the washers in the woods?
Quote:
Originally Posted by ConCat View Post
Apparently that gas station is in Pelham Valley, Grundy County, Tennessee.
That's only a little over an hour away from me. I guess I'll be going on a road trip this weekend.

How'd you find out where it was, by the way?
Renzatic is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2013, 12:35 AM   #117
scottrichardson
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Ulladulla, NSW Australia
As a Mac Pro user, and someone who has always used Apple's towers for work, I can safely say that the Mac Pro form factor is not easily replaced by an iMac.

Speaking purely anecdotally, my Mac Pro has housed various configurations of 4 hard disks, mixing SSDs and Spinning Disks, had two graphics cards simultaneously to power multiple monitors, and now has an OWC Accelsior PCI SSD RAID card along with USB3 and eSATA ports.

I have easily been able to personally make all the upgrades I need for RAM, Storage, GPU, PCI Cards, and even got in and detached the bluetooth chip so I could use a 3rd party solution. I couldn't do any of this on an iMac 2012, aside from the RAM, without plugging in external devices.

Don't get me wrong, I think the 2012 iMacs, especially the topped-up 27" model is a fantastic mid-weight workstation. I have two of them here for my two other designers/developers in my design/web studio. But they are basically stuck with 32GB RAM, and their 1.1TB fusion drives, unless I send them in to be pulled apart - and no true pro in a work environment could pause their workflow for such a long time just to stick in a new drive.

Food for thought. But if you use logic and reasoning, as much as it is true that Apple's focus is consumer products, you would know that Apple is smart enough to keep the Mac Pro moving forward.
__________________
Mac Pro 8 Core 2.93Ghz 32GB RAM, 2 X SSD 840 PRO 512GB RAID 0, 2 x 24" LED, GTX660 2GB GPU. MacBook Air 13" 2012 i7 2GHz, 256GB SSD, 8GB RAM.
scottrichardson is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2013, 12:39 AM   #118
ConCat
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: In an ethereal plane of existence.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Renzatic View Post
That's only a little over an hour away from me. I guess I'll be going on a road trip this weekend.

How'd you find out where it was, by the way?
I cropped out the gas station's image from your photo and did a google images search using it. It directed me to this site: Gas Station

Apparently it's from the 1930s. Pretty rare!
ConCat is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2013, 12:52 AM   #119
LogicRumours
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
I'm sure Apple will bring out a solution for the Pro market which depends on powerful/configurable hardware.

The possible reasons for an iMac Pro is Thunderbolt - having an external drive is no problem for the video market as you can work of them with some good speeds... Audio cards for studios are all USB/FW these days with TB ones popping up. Nevertheless, a Mac Pro revision in a very hip and new form factor could really be a hit...
__________________
Logic X http://logicrumours.com
Audio, Video and Image http://proappusers.com
LogicRumours is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2013, 12:57 AM   #120
JesterJJZ
macrumors 68000
 
JesterJJZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raftysworld View Post
You guys have actually convinced yourselves that you need 12 cores?
I need 16.
__________________
jesterpictures.com theoryiseverything.com jarek.com
Shoot for the Impossible...Then do it
MacPro 12core, 64GB, GTX680, 30" ACD, 23" ACD -- 15" MBP 2.6 i7, Anti-Glare, 16GB, 240GB SSD + 1TB
JesterJJZ is offline   4 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2013, 12:57 AM   #121
iGrouch
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Off Ramp M50
Still a couple on the refurb store. Maybe they are just not available because the last ones were snapped up.

It's in the lap of the gods now.
iGrouch is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2013, 01:01 AM   #122
SeaFox
macrumors 68000
 
SeaFox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Somewhere Else
Thank God this machine is off the market. I can't count the number of bandaids I've had to buy due to small mishaps with the unprotected fan blades when my small children are playing inside the spacious case of my Mac Pro while I'm running it.

SeaFox is offline   4 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2013, 01:04 AM   #123
strausd
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Texas
I got rid of my 2010 Mac Pro last month. I built my own Windows station with an i7 3970X and a Quadro K5000. Couldn't be happier. Dexpot makes the transition easier. Snow Leopard Expose and Spaces were the only things I would have missed.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raftysworld View Post
You guys have actually convinced yourselves that you need 12 cores?
Go back to your iPhoto and iMovie.
strausd is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2013, 01:10 AM   #124
markfc
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Prestatyn, Wales, UK
Send a message via ICQ to markfc Send a message via AIM to markfc Send a message via MSN to markfc Send a message via Skype™ to markfc
We're not allowed to purchase lawnmowers in the EU anymore either...
markfc is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2013, 01:15 AM   #125
iLilana
macrumors 6502a
 
iLilana's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Alberta, Canada
i concur

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ryth View Post
No a iMac does not do everything a Mac Pro can do.

Trust us professionals that use them.

I would love tot see a new pro tower. Looking for a reason to replace the iMac (although I could just keep it for a monitor)
__________________
maxed bto 2013 27 inch iMac, iPad2 16gb, dual i7 11 inch late 2012 Macbook Air. iPad mini 32GB with LTE, iPad4 32gb.
iLilana is offline   1 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > News and Article Discussion > MacRumors.com News Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Does anyone know when the apple stores will have mac pro 2013? The Doctor11 Mac Pro 8 Dec 31, 2013 06:51 PM
Apple Offering 32-Inch 4K Sharp Displays in European Online Apple Stores [Updated] MacRumors MacRumors.com News Discussion 178 Dec 29, 2013 03:27 PM
Mac Mini Shipping Times Slip to 5-7 Days on Apple Online Stores, Possible Refresh Ahead? MacRumors MacRumors.com News Discussion 191 Nov 1, 2013 11:15 AM
Mac Pro Unavailable in UK englishman Mac Pro 25 Mar 2, 2013 02:33 PM
Apple Online Stores Nearing Immediate Availability of Retina MacBook Pro Models MacRumors Mac Blog Discussion 38 Aug 27, 2012 09:20 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:52 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC