Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 19, 2013, 11:21 AM   #1
Navare
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Stoke on Trent
PowerMac G5 boot issues?

Update time.....

Still not playing ball....graphics card in and more RAM (2.5GB) she will boot and "Bong" go to apple logo and then spinning wheel and the furthest it's got is a few seconds into the "Welcome" video then she locks up.....on other boots she just stays at the Apple logo and no further.....and on other boots just a black screen.....

I've reset PRAM and VRAM and reset button under the RAM bank.....I've pulled and changed the on board battery as well...

Any ideas fellas?....I'm waiting on more RAM and have swapped and reseated what I have in other configurations.....the OS is a clean install on a pre formatted and blank HDD....

Help as always is appreciated

Regards

N.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk snizzle
Navare is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2013, 12:56 PM   #2
Navare
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Stoke on Trent
Still no joy....no safe mode response and on single user this is all I get:

Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByTapatalk1361296556.603163.jpg
Views:	35
Size:	236.1 KB
ID:	398077

But no command prompt to type and no power to keyboard and mouse

Regards

N.
Navare is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2013, 01:37 PM   #3
jbarley
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Vancouver Island
Have you tried starting in 'Verbose' mode. (Command-V)
This just might show you where it is hanging.
__________________
If a man speaks out while in the forest, and there is no woman there to hear him, is he still wrong?
jbarley is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2013, 02:22 PM   #4
Navare
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Stoke on Trent
Thanks jbarley I will give it a try

Regards

N.
Navare is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2013, 03:42 PM   #5
Navare
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Stoke on Trent
It didn't help.....it's like it has a mind of its own....it chooses to bong or not too bong....it chooses to display the Apple logo or not....this is starting to hack me off....

N.
Navare is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2013, 04:39 PM   #6
666sheep
macrumors 68040
 
666sheep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Poland
Does power LED flash when it does not chime?
Try with only one pair of RAM sticks, if you already didn't.

What else you can try:
*remove bottom CPU and run on only one, if it won't help, swap CPUs (ignore fans blast) and try again
get a copy of ASD 2.5.8 and run all tests
666sheep is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2013, 04:50 PM   #7
Navare
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Stoke on Trent
Quote:
Originally Posted by 666sheep View Post
Does power LED flash when it does not chime?
Try with only one pair of RAM sticks, if you already didn't.

What else you can try:
–*remove bottom CPU and run on only one, if it won't help, swap CPUs (ignore fans blast) and try again
– get a copy of ASD 2.5.8 and run all tests

I have a constantly light LED clean no flashes or beeps....I've tried RAM swaps in different slots (always matched pairs) all 3GB and 1GB and 2GB pairs no change (I've some more RAM on the way in the next few days to eliminate fully any RAM issues.

I can try the CPU's next and let you know....wasn't it you that said I'd know if they were the wrong way round?... When I had them the other way around I got noting no power no fans nada....

Regards

N.
Navare is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2013, 04:53 PM   #8
MisterKeeks
macrumors 68000
 
MisterKeeks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Any red lights on MOBO?
MisterKeeks is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2013, 04:57 PM   #9
666sheep
macrumors 68040
 
666sheep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Poland
Quote:
Originally Posted by Navare View Post
I can try the CPU's next and let you know....wasn't it you that said I'd know if they were the wrong way round?... When I had them the other way around I got noting no power no fans nada....
Yep. I meant that if you'll put them back in wrong order, fans will run like a jet engine. So you'd notice that If they didn't, you may have nailed the source of your problems by the accident. Try one CPU at the time in upper slot. One that won't work is most likely a culprit.
666sheep is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2013, 05:00 PM   #10
Navare
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Stoke on Trent
Quote:
Originally Posted by 666sheep View Post
Yep. I meant that if you'll put them back in wrong order, fans will run like a jet engine. So you'd notice that If they didn't, you may have nailed the source of your problems by the accident. Try one CPU at the time in upper slot. One that won't work is most likely a culprit.
Thanks I shall give it a whirl

N.
Navare is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2013, 05:25 PM   #11
Navare
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Stoke on Trent
Okay 666sheep

Bottom processor pulled out now we get power LED flashing on then off when mains power turned on other than that completely dead....I shall now try the bottom processor singularly in the top socket and then if the same result I shall reverse them....

Regards

N.
Navare is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2013, 05:56 PM   #12
Navare
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Stoke on Trent
Okay 666sheep (part two)
I've returned the processors to original configuration and she's now completely dead....I get a single pulse on the front LED when I turn on mains power but other than that she's a doorstop.....

Regards

N.
Navare is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2013, 06:32 PM   #13
Navare
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Stoke on Trent
More playing around and reseating of CPU's and I'm back to where I started.....either this:

Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByTapatalk1361316551.819589.jpg
Views:	27
Size:	113.8 KB
ID:	398166

But with no command prompt line to input anything or response from keyboard or this:

Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByTapatalk1361316598.787819.jpg
Views:	26
Size:	34.2 KB
ID:	398168

No spinning wheel at all, where as yesterday we had spinning wheel and short excerpt of welcome video before hanging....

I'm assured by seller the video card was fully bench tested and games played with no issues prior to dispatch.....Hard drive had been formatted and Clean OS installed on a friends G5

I'm running out of ideas here

Regards

N.
Navare is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2013, 09:12 PM   #14
Navare
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Stoke on Trent
Burnt a CD on my Windows laptop of a download of ASD 2.5.8 but can't get my Mac to do anything holding down the "C" on boot up....just ends up as this:


What can I do next?

N.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk snizzle
Navare is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 2013, 10:13 AM   #15
Navare
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Stoke on Trent
Well TDM works via FireWire on my iMac G5 it can see and look through the PowerMac's HDD and can even read the ASD 2.5.8 disc in the DVD drive.....hmm

N.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk snizzle
Navare is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 2013, 10:17 AM   #16
666sheep
macrumors 68040
 
666sheep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Poland
Burn ASD on a Mac using DU. It's hard to burn bootable disc from .dmg on Win. You do have G4 and iMac G5 IIRC.
666sheep is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 2013, 10:35 AM   #17
Navare
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Stoke on Trent
Thanks PowerPCMacMan I'm burning in now on my iMac G5

Regards

N
Navare is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 2013, 10:59 AM   #18
Navare
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Stoke on Trent
Well...we rebooted and got all the way through the welcome video and setting up user details....got to time and date zone and locked up on me completely restarted and nothing back to blank screen....so back to TDM on my iMac and its setup my user profile on the HDD....so that's a start....will keep playing....

N.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk snizzle
Navare is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2013, 11:56 AM   #19
Navare
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Stoke on Trent
Update.....

Waiting for hardware testing CD's to turn up....but have bought a DP 2.5GHz with a blown PSU as another project donor machine as its board and CPU's are matched and working....

Cheers

N.
Navare is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2013, 02:36 PM   #20
Navare
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Stoke on Trent
Tired her again today...

She booted...allowed me to reset the system clock and installed some software.....looked around the system for a bit then ran a DVD after resting graphics to a decent resolution.....after playing about two minuets the system hung and needed restarting, just boots to a black screen again now....I think system board BGA failure?

Regards

N.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk snizzle
Navare is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Powermac G5 1.8 DP Won't Boot - Help? OChrisJonesO PowerPC Macs 3 Mar 27, 2014 01:59 AM
PowerMac G3 Boot problems ChrisFerri Apple Collectors 7 Mar 6, 2014 09:40 PM
Plz help. I screwed up the boot, powermac g4 2poniorb PowerPC Macs 5 Nov 22, 2013 10:21 AM
Powermac G5 Issues r6mile PowerPC Macs 4 Apr 27, 2013 11:08 AM
Powermac G4 PCI Gfx will not boot... Nameci PowerPC Macs 0 Feb 10, 2013 10:07 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:40 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC