Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Mac Peripherals

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 19, 2013, 01:51 PM   #1
woozone
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Does client mode shut off ethernet port on Airport Express 1st gen?

I want my desktop computer to connect to the internet by ethernet in a room that doesn't have an ethernet jack. I am planning on buying an Airport Express 1st gen, and having it connect wireless in "client mode" to my Airport Extreme 2nd gen.
Will wireless "client mode" disable the ethernet port on the Express?
woozone is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2013, 02:06 PM   #2
Giuly
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: That depends whether you ask for timezone, state of mind or GPS coordinates.
Yes.

But even if you connect the desktop via Ethernet to the AirPort Express, it won't be faster than 54MBit/s, so you might as well connect the computer directly to the WiFi.
Giuly is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2013, 02:49 PM   #3
woozone
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Follow up question:
Another option I'm considering is just buying a new Airport Extreme 5th gen and using that as my base station, and then use my old Airport Extreme 2nd gen in client mode.
1) Does the 2nd gen Extreme work in client mode (to access its usb port)?
2) Does client mode also shut off the gigabit ethernet ports of the 2nd gen Extreme as it does for the 1st gen Express?
woozone is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2013, 04:06 PM   #4
Giuly
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: That depends whether you ask for timezone, state of mind or GPS coordinates.
Wait - First-gen AirPort Express that was 802.11n compatible (model MB321LL/A)? Then the ethernet port works in client mode.
First-gen AirPort Express as in the actual first one that came out with 802.11g (model M9470LL/A)? Then the Ethernet port will be disabled.


If you have the first-gen with 802.11n, then you could use this until the AirPort Extreme gets updated with 802.11ac.
Giuly is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2013, 04:21 PM   #5
woozone
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
I'm assuming then that the Airport Extreme 2nd gen does not have a client mode function with working ethernet ports... Is that accurate?
woozone is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Mac Peripherals

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Airport Express in client mode loses internet connection sjdigital Mac Peripherals 0 Mar 8, 2014 08:48 PM
1st Gen Apple tv 2nd Gen Airplay/AirTunes AirPort Express not working Bryank Apple TV and Home Theater 0 May 1, 2013 04:16 AM
Connect an AirPort Express to an ethernet port to share internet... possible? vodkaPT Mac Peripherals 4 Mar 7, 2013 03:17 PM
Airport Express, WAN port in client mode ScottMN Mac Peripherals 0 Dec 18, 2012 09:47 PM
Airport Express over ethernet WAN port? kwk1 Mac Peripherals 4 Sep 9, 2012 05:41 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:55 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC