Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 19, 2013, 02:11 PM   #1
virginblue4
macrumors 65816
 
virginblue4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Which UPS?

I have found a few UPS that I will be using with my new 27" iMac. I simply want enough run time to shut the computer down (I.e. 5 minutes) and it needs to be sine wave. Here are a few that I have found. Best recommendations? Are they compatible with Mac?


http://www.criticalpowersupplies.co....PFC-1350VA-UPS

http://www.criticalpowersupplies.co....st1500-vst2000

http://www.criticalpowersupplies.co....ion-1100VA-UPS
__________________

iPhone 5S, gold, iOS 8b2
iPad mini with Retina display, silver, iOS 7.1.1
Late 2012 27" iMac - 3.4GHz i7, 1TB Fusion, 24GB RAM, 680MX 2GB
virginblue4 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2013, 02:24 PM   #2
kohlson
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
I have purchased a few UPSs over the years. Make sure you can live with it -- that the fan is not too noisy, it's not too big, and so on. I suspect you could get by with a 350VA for what you're trying to do. Smaller = quieter. Keep in mind the batteries don't last forever. In some of my APC units I've had to replace them after 3 years. Everything has needed a new battery (or 2) within 5 years.
kohlson is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2013, 02:55 PM   #3
virginblue4
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
virginblue4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Thanks. If anyone is able to recommend a decent one in the UK that has a UK link and is under 200, that'd be fantastic! It must be pure sine wave though.
__________________

iPhone 5S, gold, iOS 8b2
iPad mini with Retina display, silver, iOS 7.1.1
Late 2012 27" iMac - 3.4GHz i7, 1TB Fusion, 24GB RAM, 680MX 2GB
virginblue4 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2013, 03:00 PM   #4
chuckiehina
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Just make sure the UPS has:
  • Easy to replace battery
  • An on/off switch
  • A simlple way to mute alarms
chuckiehina is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2013, 03:21 PM   #5
jmpage2
macrumors 68030
 
jmpage2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by chuckiehina View Post
Just make sure the UPS has:
  • Easy to replace battery
  • An on/off switch
  • A simlple way to mute alarms
I agree with the OP, you want a high quality sine-wave UPS to protect against power spikes and brown-outs as well as completely loss of power.

Also, his entire point is that he wants one with a USB connection that is compatible with his Mac, so that if the Mac is unattended, it will shut off at the appropriate time when running on battery.
jmpage2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2013, 04:18 PM   #6
AppleInMyBlood
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
I'm also looking for a UPS for my on-order 27" maxed-out iMac. Only ever having bought surge protectors in the past, I was a little horrified by the prices of the pure sinewave units.

Any suggestions for the cheapest possible, yet adequate, pure sinewave UPS?
AppleInMyBlood is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2013, 04:24 PM   #7
virginblue4
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
virginblue4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: United Kingdom
So what do people think of the 3 that I have posted? Any advice?
__________________

iPhone 5S, gold, iOS 8b2
iPad mini with Retina display, silver, iOS 7.1.1
Late 2012 27" iMac - 3.4GHz i7, 1TB Fusion, 24GB RAM, 680MX 2GB
virginblue4 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2013, 04:45 PM   #8
jmpage2
macrumors 68030
 
jmpage2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by virginblue4 View Post
So what do people think of the 3 that I have posted? Any advice?
They all look fine, with the only real difference being run time. You should investigate to find out if there are any differences in standby power as far as how much power is wasted when the UPS is just filtering and not in battery.

From reading reviews at Amazon the Cyberpower UPSs are Mac compatible, you should simply plug it in to the USB of the Mac and it will work.
jmpage2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2013, 04:37 PM   #9
Jimmy.apple.fan
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: UK
Just a simple thought/question,,,,,,,

Given the price of these,..., exactly how necessary are they ?!?

Thanks
Jimmy.apple.fan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2013, 09:12 PM   #10
plasmaj
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jimmy.apple.fan View Post
Just a simple thought/question,,,,,,,

Given the price of these,..., exactly how necessary are they ?!?

Thanks
Same question. I have lived in the same apartment for the past 2+ years without any brownouts or blackouts even through Sandy. I can justify spending 150 to protect a 2500 piece of equipment, but don't know if I will ever need it. Plus they are fairly large and ugly and I have nowhere to hide it
plasmaj is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 22, 2013, 01:51 PM   #11
jmpage2
macrumors 68030
 
jmpage2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
I consider a ups with power filtering to be a requirement and not just for power failure. Dust/dirt and power issues are the two biggest reasons parts fail prematurely. If I can eliminate one I am happy to do so. You don't need to spend $250 either. There are plenty of sine wave ups's out there for well under $200.
jmpage2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 22, 2013, 02:23 PM   #12
callea
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Italy
I will buy this one:

http://store.apple.com/it/product/TR...box-ups-550-va
callea is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 22, 2013, 02:32 PM   #13
Acorn
macrumors 68020
 
Acorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Fangorn Forest
I am going to buy one of the cyberpower ones you linked. it gets rave reviews on amazon.

we had a bad power spike 10 years ago. They were working on the lines on our street. There was a huge power surge and it killed my desktop and the display. it also killed our tv. 4 days later I was driving down my street and there were 9 televisions out at the garbage.

The power company refuses to admit anything happened.
Acorn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 22, 2013, 02:38 PM   #14
WilliamG
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Seattle
So many of these UPSs are overkill for an iMac, even with another display/multiple hard drives attached.

I have this one:

http://www.amazon.com/CyberPower-CP8...ine+wave+850va

Gives me more than enough time to shut my system down etc etc. Something like 30 minutes, even with the display on. I use the automatic software to shut down the iMac after a few minutes if the power doesn't come back on.
__________________
iMac, MacBook Air, Mac mini, iPad, iPhone, 55-11
www.bighugenerd.com
WilliamG is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 22, 2013, 09:56 PM   #15
bordenkecher
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by WilliamG View Post
So many of these UPSs are overkill for an iMac, even with another display/multiple hard drives attached.

I have this one:

http://www.amazon.com/CyberPower-CP8...ine+wave+850va

Gives me more than enough time to shut my system down etc etc. Something like 30 minutes, even with the display on. I use the automatic software to shut down the iMac after a few minutes if the power doesn't come back on.


I have the 1000 version of this (CyberPower CP1000PFCLCD PFC Compatible 1000VA 600W Pure Sine Wave Tower UPS). I can'r remember what the battery time was the last time I had when it was with out power... I wanna say 40min. This thing is silent when on battery, pure sine, and not terribly big at all. I would definitely recommend Cyberpower. Mine easily handles the load of the new 27in iMac, 25.5 in monitor, and couple hard drives.
bordenkecher is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 23, 2013, 02:10 AM   #16
WilliamG
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Seattle
Quote:
Originally Posted by bordenkecher View Post
I have the 1000 version of this (CyberPower CP1000PFCLCD PFC Compatible 1000VA 600W Pure Sine Wave Tower UPS). I can'r remember what the battery time was the last time I had when it was with out power... I wanna say 40min. This thing is silent when on battery, pure sine, and not terribly big at all. I would definitely recommend Cyberpower. Mine easily handles the load of the new 27in iMac, 25.5 in monitor, and couple hard drives.
Mine's certainly not silent on battery. The fan inside that kicks on isn't loud by any means, but when it kicks on (only when it switches to battery), you can hear it.
__________________
iMac, MacBook Air, Mac mini, iPad, iPhone, 55-11
www.bighugenerd.com
WilliamG is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 23, 2013, 07:56 AM   #17
davidra
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
I already had a fairly new APC UPS unit and this question came up when I got my new iMac. In fact, I had ordered a pure sine wave unit which I canceled after reading this thread:
https://discussions.apple.com/thread...art=0&tstart=0

and also talked to a friend with a 2011 iMac who is using a standard APC unit.
I shut off my circuit breaker and the unit worked just fine, as it did with my PC. My friend has had his unit kick in numerous times and it worked fine for the purpose both he and I want to use it, which is to almost immediately shut down the computer and not continue to use it through the UPS. I got no noises or problems in several minutes of running off the APC unit. I figure that' probably good enough, especially after reading that link.
davidra is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 23, 2013, 11:00 AM   #18
Beaverman3001
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2010
This is what I use for my iMac

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

Has pure sine wave, easy to use buttons, USB shutdown works fine without installing any extra software. Can get a lot of run time out of it and it is well priced.
Beaverman3001 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 23, 2013, 03:47 PM   #19
virginblue4
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
virginblue4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Quote:
Originally Posted by WilliamG View Post
So many of these UPSs are overkill for an iMac, even with another display/multiple hard drives attached.

I have this one:

http://www.amazon.com/CyberPower-CP8...ine+wave+850va

Gives me more than enough time to shut my system down etc etc. Something like 30 minutes, even with the display on. I use the automatic software to shut down the iMac after a few minutes if the power doesn't come back on.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Beaverman3001 View Post
This is what I use for my iMac

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

Has pure sine wave, easy to use buttons, USB shutdown works fine without installing any extra software. Can get a lot of run time out of it and it is well priced.
I would have liked that one but I cannot find it in the UK.
__________________

iPhone 5S, gold, iOS 8b2
iPad mini with Retina display, silver, iOS 7.1.1
Late 2012 27" iMac - 3.4GHz i7, 1TB Fusion, 24GB RAM, 680MX 2GB
virginblue4 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ups milesc3 iMac 5 Jun 1, 2014 05:09 AM
Which UPS? BilbooToo Mac mini 4 Apr 22, 2013 04:39 AM
Is a UPS really necessary? sabester24 iMac 45 Mar 2, 2013 04:43 PM
UPS in transit: Hold at UPS facility? Eldiablojoe iPhone 4 Sep 23, 2012 12:38 PM
Hard drive got wipe & i ant got back ups or boot ups cyclone696 Mac Applications and Mac App Store 6 Aug 11, 2012 10:26 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:02 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC