Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Mac Peripherals

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 20, 2013, 09:14 AM   #1
silexxx
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
TimeCapsule: configure the number of backup/versions

Hi,
I have a timecapsule configured to work with my iMac and timemachine.
It's currently keeping 25 versions of backup and is nearly full.
How can I configure timecapsule (or timemachine) to keep only the last 5 versions of each file ?
silexxx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 2013, 09:16 AM   #2
Macman45
macrumors G5
 
Macman45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
You can't as such, but your Time Capsule will delete the oldest backup.tb files when it becomes full....The process is automatic and you will be warned prior to deletion. That way it will always keep a backup first in, first out.
__________________
..That's All Folks
Macman45 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 2013, 09:21 AM   #3
silexxx
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
would it be possible to change this parameter via a SSH connection ?
I have really no use of keeping 25 versions of my files, I'd prefer to be sure that the backup is working in background (ie:during the night) and not asking my confirmation (for a deletion) before starting...
silexxx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 2013, 09:22 AM   #4
blevins321
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Detroit Area
Have you considered CarbonCopyCloner? If you don't need versions of files, you can set that up to do a nightly bootable backup of anything/everything.
__________________
Late 2013 15" Retina MBP; iPhone 5S; iPad Air
blevins321 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 2013, 09:25 AM   #5
Macman45
macrumors G5
 
Macman45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
CarbonCopy as posted is the only way to gain more control over your backups...Time machine has a set way of doing things, and fussing with it isn't really a good idea...you can of course exclude large files, folders and drives. I have a Pegasus R4 which I use to copy mission critical data to...two RAID0 arrays, one for archival purposes and the other takes care of current work. My TC backs up my Imac and my MBA.
__________________
..That's All Folks
Macman45 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 2013, 10:21 AM   #6
silexxx
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
thanks for your feedback

what would happen if you loose one of your two "raid0 archival purpose" drive ?
raid0 is built for performance matter, not for resiliency (raid1 or raid10)
silexxx is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Mac Peripherals

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Free Immortal Files Backup And Versions - backup and view history to ftp,dav,sftp. macbackfiles Mac Applications and Mac App Store 0 May 4, 2014 12:43 AM
NAS vs TimeCapsule for backup and non-backup storage DutchguyJoost Mac Peripherals 6 Apr 20, 2014 07:38 AM
Best Way to Backup an upgraded Mavericks install with TimeCapsule nealh OS X Mavericks (10.9) 4 Oct 23, 2013 10:45 AM
Backup a HDD connected to a TimeCapsule Berti10 Mac Peripherals 3 Jul 1, 2013 12:21 PM
Convert TimeCapsule Backup From one Computer to Another BSQRT OS X 1 Oct 10, 2012 11:43 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:46 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC