Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Programming > Mac Programming

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 20, 2013, 11:27 AM   #1
gwelmarten
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: England!
Xcode doesn't make View Controllers by default anymore

Hi

I've had a couple of Mac Apps on the go for the last couple of years. Now I want to make a new one.

Problem is, when I make a new Cocoa app in Xcode for OS X, it only gives me the appDelegate.h/m and MainWindow.xib (which has as a sub file 'Window - [AppName]', with a view inside it.

When I've made my apps before, I've had View Controllers referring to each view on OSX. Why has this changed? How do I set Xcode up again to do this?

Thanks,

Sam
gwelmarten is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 2013, 12:07 PM   #2
xShane
macrumors 6502a
 
xShane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: United States
Quote:
Originally Posted by gwelmarten View Post
Hi

I've had a couple of Mac Apps on the go for the last couple of years. Now I want to make a new one.

Problem is, when I make a new Cocoa app in Xcode for OS X, it only gives me the appDelegate.h/m and MainWindow.xib (which has as a sub file 'Window - [AppName]', with a view inside it.

When I've made my apps before, I've had View Controllers referring to each view on OSX. Why has this changed? How do I set Xcode up again to do this?

Thanks,

Sam
File > New File > Objective-C Class > Subclass of NSWindowController (Check "XIB for user interface").
__________________
Macbook Pro 15" 2.6, 8GB, 750GB, 1GB VRAM
"Everything for the people, nothing by the people."

"Be the change that you wish to see in the world."
xShane is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 2013, 12:41 PM   #3
gwelmarten
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: England!
Quote:
Originally Posted by xShane View Post
File > New File > Objective-C Class > Subclass of NSWindowController (Check "XIB for user interface").
Yes, but then this XIB isn't automatically used when the application is built and run, like used to happen when it made them automatically.
gwelmarten is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 2013, 03:14 PM   #4
xShane
macrumors 6502a
 
xShane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: United States
Quote:
Originally Posted by gwelmarten View Post
Yes, but then this XIB isn't automatically used when the application is built and run, like used to happen when it made them automatically.
Make sure the window appears at start up (you can do so in the inspector panel to the right).
__________________
Macbook Pro 15" 2.6, 8GB, 750GB, 1GB VRAM
"Everything for the people, nothing by the people."

"Be the change that you wish to see in the world."
xShane is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Programming > Mac Programming

Tags
default, new app, setup, view controller, xcode

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:46 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC